Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: cage in europe

  1. #1

    Exclamation cage in europe

    Hi,

    I am looking for a cage/space for holding our 200 atx servers.

    the place should have interconnection with He.net or most bandwidth providers.

    - Germany
    - Netherlands
    - France
    - U.K.

    any recommendations appreciated

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    917
    Have you checked with the TeleCity Group?

  3. #3
    There are precious few places in Europe that have a direct connection to HE.net. They are only present in a few PoPs to begin with, and those that they are in are generally not the best choice for budget colo. The HE pop in NL, for example, is only allowable for colocating network equipment, not servers, so you have to pay a backhaul fee from another datacenter in order to get to the HE pop in NL.

    I'm not 100% sure about germany, uk, or france, but it's probably a similar challenge.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: funkywizard
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Nevada, US
    Posts
    5,293
    Quote Originally Posted by SayfaNet View Post
    Hi,

    I am looking for a cage/space for holding our 200 atx servers.

    the place should have interconnection with He.net or most bandwidth providers.

    - Germany
    - Netherlands
    - France
    - U.K.

    any recommendations appreciated

    Are these tower servers or 1U/2U rackmount cases?
    .
    .
    SmartHost, LLC - The Intelligent Hosting Solution! - Multiple Locations - US/EU!
    http://www.smarthost.net - sales@smarthost.net - Resale/Affiliate Programs
    Cloud Hosting - VPS Hosting - Dedicated Servers - Colocation - Flux Capacitors

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam, Europe
    Posts
    398
    Do you have specific power requirements? I would definitly investigate the number of carriers in the datacenter -to have options if you want to add more providers to the mix./
    i3D.net (Deals) - Mail: sales@i3d.net
    Specialized in on-demand infrastructure: Managed colocation & HP/Dell Intel Xeon E3, E5 servers
    Features: 36,000 sq ft datacenter, 10.000 servers, 370 Gb network, Amsterdam, Frankfurt, Washington DC, Los Angeles, Tokyo, Sydney
    Network Carriers: AMS-IX (Amsterdam), LINX (Juniper LAN), DE-CIX (Frankfurt), NL-ix PLIX, Any2 (California), Level3, Cogent, NTT, Deutsche Telekom (DTAG)

  6. #6
    single carrier would be enough.

    70% atx, 30% rack. atx servers can be converted to 2u rack, if needed.

    power: 100w per server as i measured

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam, Europe
    Posts
    398
    The conversion to 2u will definitly help you find datacenter space.
    i3D.net (Deals) - Mail: sales@i3d.net
    Specialized in on-demand infrastructure: Managed colocation & HP/Dell Intel Xeon E3, E5 servers
    Features: 36,000 sq ft datacenter, 10.000 servers, 370 Gb network, Amsterdam, Frankfurt, Washington DC, Los Angeles, Tokyo, Sydney
    Network Carriers: AMS-IX (Amsterdam), LINX (Juniper LAN), DE-CIX (Frankfurt), NL-ix PLIX, Any2 (California), Level3, Cogent, NTT, Deutsche Telekom (DTAG)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    3,327
    You should definately convert the ATX boxes to rackmounts. Else you will pay a much higher price for power, as ATX towers are not very efficient to cool. You will also find, that renting racks instead of a private cage is much cheaper. Expect a large setup fee for a private cage.
    Last edited by swiftnoc; 11-22-2010 at 07:57 AM.
    Swiftway.net Your Business deserves our Quality - Experts on Hand since 2005. Primary locations: Netherlands, Chicago, Bay Area, Miami and New York.
    Support response time within 15 minutes 24x7 low priced dedicated servers available on Swiftway Serverdeals

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,502
    Do you need a direct connection to HE.net, or would a provider that uses them be sufficient?

  10. #10
    interested in both. but we prefer direct contract with the carrier.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    18
    I would also suggest to convert the ATX boxes into rackservers.

    Possibly, another carrier could carry the HE traffic to your desired location. But that's just one thought...

    But what are you looking for? ATX boxes always seem to be low-budget hosting for me. Looking for high-quality hosting or low-budget hosting?

    Kind regards
    23media
    www.23media.de - sales@23media.de
    Professional Serverhousing / Hosting / IT-Services in Germany

  12. #12
    What are your final space and amp (per rack) requirements? I can check and see who has HE and re post.
    http://www.QuoteColo.com - colocation, dedicated and cloud quotes

  13. #13
    5 cabinets, 1gbit bandwidth, 100amp power.

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by SayfaNet View Post
    interested in both. but we prefer direct contract with the carrier.
    Your best bang for the dollar might be to find a provider that already has a cross connect to he.net that will let you ride that cross connect for a nominal fee. If you are really do a gig commit and can do it as a sub-commit, that might help them reach a higher level on their commit. Of course, that means they must have the spare capacity on their cross connect.
    edgedirector.com
    managed dns global failover and load balance (gslb)
    exactstate.com
    uptime report for webhostingtalk.com

  15. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Similar Threads

  1. cage space
    By jholen in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 09-24-2010, 12:03 AM
  2. NY, NJ or CT Cage Pricing
    By enotchnet in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-15-2010, 05:32 PM
  3. Cage Tech
    By pfontaine in forum Employment / Job Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-23-2007, 07:12 PM
  4. OneWilshire cage
    By Tom-P in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-21-2006, 02:03 PM
  5. What do i need to setup my own cage?
    By Kyra-emotion in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-05-2006, 11:19 AM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •