hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : VPS Hosting : [Ask] How many oversold that allowed for OpenVZ node?
Reply

Forum Jump

[Ask] How many oversold that allowed for OpenVZ node?

Reply Post New Thread In VPS Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2010, 11:38 AM
Echizen Echizen is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Java Island
Posts: 143
*

[Ask] How many oversold that allowed for OpenVZ node?


Hi all,

I have dedicated server with this spec's
Intel Quad core x3460, 16GB of RAM, 2TB (Raid-1) disk, 10TB monthly bandwidth on 1 gbps shared uplinks...

I create a VPS plan which have 512MB of guaranteed ram (may be with 768MB or 1GB busrtable ram) & 300GB monthly bandwidth.
How many vps can be created in terms of safely oversold for RAM, Bandwidth and CPU?
Thanks in advance

-sorry for my bad english-
regards,



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-12-2010, 11:42 AM
HostColor HostColor is online now
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,664
You should host 16 - 24 VPS, depending of the burstable RAM you offer. Do not oversell. You will run into troubles.

__________________
Host Color Colocation, Dedicated & Europe Dedicated Servers since 2000
U.S. Data center 90 miles from Chicago
Network ★ AS46873 Level 3, Cogent, Hurricane Electric, Retn.net, Midwest Peering
24/7 Support 1-574-367-2393; Skype: HostColor

  #3  
Old 11-12-2010, 11:46 AM
Fusa Fusa is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 35
When you have 30 VM's you will have this for every VM (without overselling):
* 512MB RAM
* 60GB HDD
* min. 30Mbit (when everybody max it!)
* 341GB traffic
* CPU: 0,25 So 1/4'the of a core

But leave some space for customers with more needs. (when they want to upgrade)

It all depends on what you want to do. Here every VM with a dedicated core, but the price will be different ... (Xen virtualisation)

__________________
Tim Bracquez
Web :: www.fusa.eu
Belgium dedicated servers and colocation
Happy to serve more then 4500 customers !

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 11-12-2010, 12:14 PM
Echizen Echizen is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Java Island
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by HostColor View Post
You should host 16 - 24 VPS, depending of the burstable RAM you offer. Do not oversell. You will run into troubles.
thanks for your advice, what's the troubles that usually happen with overselling? could you share it there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fusa View Post
When you have 30 VM's you will have this for every VM (without overselling):
* 512MB RAM
* 60GB HDD
* min. 30Mbit (when everybody max it!)
* 341GB traffic
* CPU: 0,25 So 1/4'the of a core

But leave some space for customers with more needs. (when they want to upgrade)

It all depends on what you want to do. Here every VM with a dedicated core, but the price will be different ... (Xen virtualisation)
Thanks for the suggestion
I'll consider to use xen virtualization for my next step

  #5  
Old 11-12-2010, 12:43 PM
NoSupportLinuxHostin NoSupportLinuxHostin is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Echizen View Post
thanks for your advice, what's the troubles that usually happen with overselling? could you share it there.
When you oversell memory with OpenVZ, you will eventually end up providing poor performance for all of the VMs.

__________________
No Support Linux Hosting Bargain cPanel Hosting Experts Only
We IGNORE the support questions, and pass the SAVINGS on to YOU!
We also ignore questions about VPS Hosting

  #6  
Old 11-12-2010, 01:18 PM
turbovps turbovps is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: EU
Posts: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoSupportLinuxHostin View Post
When you oversell memory with OpenVZ, you will eventually end up providing poor performance for all of the VMs.
True. Plus need to limit the CPU limit per VPS like core and %.

__________________
[ Openvz VPS | Xen XEN VPS & Xen PV| RIPE LIR |SolusVM| Presence in |USA|Sweden IP..Virtualizing since 2001.]
Hosting service from USA and Sweden. Load your own ISO. Unmetered vps. Offshore Servers. Servers on 1GBit. Raid Enabled servers.
Cheap and reliable vps deals at www.turbovps.com Since 2006
.
USA|EUROPE|Offshore Hosting services |VPS|VPN|Openvpn|Squids|Dedicated servers.


  #7  
Old 11-12-2010, 02:38 PM
Echizen Echizen is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Java Island
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbovps View Post
True. Plus need to limit the CPU limit per VPS like core and %.
thanks for the sugetsion. Do you have recommendation limiting CPU unit, CPU cores & CPU % for this plan?

  #8  
Old 11-12-2010, 05:31 PM
funkywizard funkywizard is offline
unghhh... Baaandwidth....
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9,040
The only other issue I see here, is that you're only using 2x2tb drives in raid 1. A 4 drive raid 10 of 1tb drives will offer at least double the performance with the same amount of disk space. This will allow you to fit more users on there before everything starts to run slowly.

__________________
IOFLOOD.com -- We Love Servers
Watch this space...

  #9  
Old 11-13-2010, 12:24 AM
JMX Networks JMX Networks is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 102
As others have said, limiting is important. We have had many customers switch over to us because their old provider kept going out. Probably because they were overselling.

  #10  
Old 11-15-2010, 03:07 AM
Echizen Echizen is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Java Island
Posts: 143
Hi all,
thanks for your input

  #11  
Old 11-15-2010, 04:52 AM
Cristi4n Cristi4n is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cluj Napoca
Posts: 468
Yeah, you will reach the I/O limit of those hdds pretty soon. Raid10 may help you a little bit but far from double the IO.
Everything else looks ok, your first bottleneck will be the hdds. Keep in mind that there is no option to limit IO for a VM (ioprio is overrated) so any VM can bring your node to an unusable state and it will be pretty hard to figure out which of the VMs is responsible.

__________________
IntoDNS - Check your DNS health and configuration
IntoVPS - US Fremont and Dallas;EU - Netherlands and Romania VPS hosting

  #12  
Old 11-15-2010, 05:24 AM
atlasnetworkseric atlasnetworkseric is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fusa View Post
Here every VM with a dedicated core, but the price will be different ... (Xen virtualisation)
Xen only does this if you use CPU pinning. Otherwise, the virtual CPUs float across the physical CPUs dynamically.

__________________
Cloud Computing | Dedicated Servers w/ KVMoIP | Hosted Exchange
Westin Carrier Hotel | Seattle, WA || Starbucks Center | Seattle, WA
IPv6 Enabled
Uptime | Atlas Networks


  #13  
Old 11-15-2010, 06:45 AM
VTChris VTChris is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 22
When we built out our first node, we had an Intel C2Q Q9550 with 8GB of RAM and 2x1TB RAID 1. We fit about 20 VMs on that box before things started falling down around us. Not sure with your CPU/RAM though.

__________________
Chris C
VeriaTel Systems - Shared WebHosting, VPS Hosting

  #14  
Old 11-15-2010, 06:54 AM
Bernardoo Bernardoo is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 1,164
I think with time you will see how much VPS's you can add, how much VPS's you can delete.

There will be costumers that use less resources then the allocated ones, and there will be costumers that use more then the allocated resources.

So, my sugesttion is actually when you think that you reached the max, you just stop adding and buy another machine to host more Virtual Private Servers.

__________________
Looking for a system administrator? One time install/ hiring a system administrator?

PM me or email me at bernardooan@gmail.com for more details.

  #15  
Old 11-15-2010, 08:32 AM
Activeroot Activeroot is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 27
Be careful with overselling. Because most sites will grow over time, you`ll run into troubles sooner or later if you oversell to much.

Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VPS Node(OpenVZ) is getting DDoSed Markovic Hosting Security and Technology 11 08-16-2013 11:46 AM
VPS node configuration issue [hyperVM - Openvz] mello21century Dedicated Server 8 10-27-2010 04:56 PM
Grand opening of our new XEN node! Still have good deals on openvz! Must see! :) nixcom VPS Hosting Offers 3 08-13-2010 12:03 PM
Installing CSF in openvz hardware node kselva Hosting Security and Technology 7 03-10-2010 06:40 AM
How to secure /tmp,/dev/shm without access to OpenVZ Hardware node? balaji_dutt Hosting Security and Technology 0 08-25-2008 07:07 AM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Jetfire Networks L.L.C. Listing 2014-01-06 19:07:15
Jetfire Networks L.L.C. Listing 2014-01-06 19:07:15
Mega Opens New Zealand Cloud Storage Node Web Hosting News 2013-09-03 11:11:13
cPanel Conference 2012: Virtualize All the Things with Nate Custer Web Hosting News 2012-11-12 13:54:36
Phoenix NAP Opens Secured Cloud Hosting Node in Ashburn, Virginia Web Hosting News 2012-09-25 11:19:16


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?