Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    2,122

    Reload OS without CP?

    Hello,

    I seem to have an OLD VPS in a provider, but they removed my OS, cPanel is still active, so it's the server.

    They don't have the CP for it though. How can I reload the OS or be able to remove cPanel and reinstall it?

    Thank you
    Diego Rodríguez B. - http://diegorbaquero.com
    Hosting Industry Consultant

  2. #2
    If they don't have an control panel and if you don't have access to the host node then you pretty much can't do an OS reload.

    Did you try to submit an ticket with your provider?
    Host Mist - Helping People Say Hello World
    Shared | VPS | Dedicated

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana USA
    Posts
    15,337
    The OS is the Operating System, the VPS won't function without one so it would be impossible for them to remove the OS and the server still have cPanel (or even run).
    Michael Denney - MDDHosting, LLC - Professional Hosting Solutions
    LiteSpeed Powered - Shared, Premium, Reseller, and VPS
    For high-end shared accounts ideal for business, check out our Premium offerings!
    http://www.mddhosting.com/ - Providing Quality Services since 2007

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    2,122
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeDVB View Post
    The OS is the Operating System, the VPS won't function without one so it would be impossible for them to remove the OS and the server still have cPanel (or even run).
    I know what OS is :p.

    I meant that they removed the VPS link from the CP.

    I can't make a ticket because basically the server doesn't exist. Nor they are charging me. Nor I exist as a client.

    I realized server was up because one site it has is still active.
    Diego Rodríguez B. - http://diegorbaquero.com
    Hosting Industry Consultant

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    US
    Posts
    2,502
    No, you cannot reload the OS of a container without host node or VPS control panel access.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,320
    i suggest SSH to the server and copy your files immediately offsite.
    QuickWeb™ -We Host Servers Like a Boss!
    New Zealand - USA - UK - Germany Virtual Servers
    Worldwide hosting provider with proven 24x7 and 25-Minute Support!
    www.quickweb.co.nz and GETVZ - Complete VPS Package with SSD Drive

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Vaduz/LI
    Posts
    2,528
    No, you cannot reload the OS of a container without host node or VPS control panel access.
    This is not COMPLETELY correct, if your target OS runs the same kernel as actual, you can bootscript it to remove anything of the old OS - install the new OS, setup Network and boot again - you then can change the kernel once the new OS runs.

    Works only on Xen however.

    Did that more than once on Dedicated Servers (Ubuntu to Debian mostly), works well.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    80
    I would just get them files moved, before your cheeky self gets caught haha

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    2,122
    I don't really care about the files. I never actually counted with the server being offline. But hey! It's a free cPanel server for me! So I need to reload it somehow
    Diego Rodríguez B. - http://diegorbaquero.com
    Hosting Industry Consultant

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana USA
    Posts
    15,337
    Quote Originally Posted by Deroba View Post
    I know what OS is :p.

    I meant that they removed the VPS link from the CP.

    I can't make a ticket because basically the server doesn't exist. Nor they are charging me. Nor I exist as a client.

    I realized server was up because one site it has is still active.
    It would be very dishonest and unethical to use a service that you know you're not supposed to have access to.
    Michael Denney - MDDHosting, LLC - Professional Hosting Solutions
    LiteSpeed Powered - Shared, Premium, Reseller, and VPS
    For high-end shared accounts ideal for business, check out our Premium offerings!
    http://www.mddhosting.com/ - Providing Quality Services since 2007

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    2,122
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeDVB View Post
    It would be very dishonest and unethical to use a service that you know you're not supposed to have access to.
    I am supposed to have, because I had account funds/credit. And I'm still getting billed. Though it's a case were the money came from referrals and I never really counted with the money.

    I've tried contacting them, but they have not responded .

    It's a local company by the way.
    Diego Rodríguez B. - http://diegorbaquero.com
    Hosting Industry Consultant

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana USA
    Posts
    15,337
    Quote Originally Posted by Deroba View Post
    I am supposed to have, because I had account funds/credit. And I'm still getting billed. Though it's a case were the money came from referrals and I never really counted with the money.

    I've tried contacting them, but they have not responded .

    It's a local company by the way.
    I see... Why not pay them a personal visit?
    Michael Denney - MDDHosting, LLC - Professional Hosting Solutions
    LiteSpeed Powered - Shared, Premium, Reseller, and VPS
    For high-end shared accounts ideal for business, check out our Premium offerings!
    http://www.mddhosting.com/ - Providing Quality Services since 2007

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    2,122
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeDVB View Post
    I see... Why not pay them a personal visit?
    Because they would cancel my server, knowing that I'm under age.
    Diego Rodríguez B. - http://diegorbaquero.com
    Hosting Industry Consultant

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana USA
    Posts
    15,337
    Quote Originally Posted by Deroba View Post
    Because they would cancel my server, knowing that I'm under age.
    Ah, so perhaps you should have your parent or legal guardian pay them a visit then.
    Michael Denney - MDDHosting, LLC - Professional Hosting Solutions
    LiteSpeed Powered - Shared, Premium, Reseller, and VPS
    For high-end shared accounts ideal for business, check out our Premium offerings!
    http://www.mddhosting.com/ - Providing Quality Services since 2007

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    2,122
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeDVB View Post
    Ah, so perhaps you should have your parent or legal guardian pay them a visit then.
    Server's under my name however, but I'll try that.
    Diego Rodríguez B. - http://diegorbaquero.com
    Hosting Industry Consultant

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by srvWire View Post
    I would just get them files moved, before your cheeky self gets caught haha
    yeah i agree

  17. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Similar Threads

  1. Remote OS reload
    By Gregorya in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 06-08-2009, 03:39 PM
  2. Reload OS ?
    By VpsHosting in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-20-2008, 07:27 AM
  3. do i need to reload OS,please?
    By skyaus in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-01-2007, 08:10 AM
  4. Os Reload
    By Jimerson in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-02-2006, 01:00 AM
  5. After OS reload
    By mad_4u in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-22-2005, 11:04 AM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •