hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : VPS Hosting : Mails going to Spam in Gmail & Yahoo
Reply

VPS Hosting Virtual private server discussion and vps hosting solutions. Review VPS hosting providers and offer advice on virtual web hosting solutions. If your service is unavailable, please click here.
Forum Jump

Mails going to Spam in Gmail & Yahoo

Reply Post New Thread In VPS Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-19-2010, 04:38 AM
hzzg6y hzzg6y is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 52

Mails going to Spam in Gmail & Yahoo


Help.. I need help.

I have a cloud server with Rackspace with cpanel successfully installed. Its' IP is 204.232.208.32 having domain investorfloor.com with dns named server ns1.investorfloor.com & ns2.investorfloor.com pointing to same IP. I have created one account on cpanel with jobbuzzle.org. Any mails which I send from xxxxx@jobbuzzle.org are going in spam folder of gmail & yahoo however it is going to inbox in Hotmail account. I have checked SPF, rDNS however no success. Please can some help me to fix this. Also this is showing as blacklist in Tiopan. I have sent three mails from different mail account / IP to info@tiopan.com however all have been rejected. Please help.

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-19-2010, 04:49 AM
hzzg6y hzzg6y is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 52
Sorry the IP is 204.232.208.197 & when I say xxxx it means some name like john or robert@jobbuzzle.org

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-19-2010, 04:59 AM
InstaCarma_Rob InstaCarma_Rob is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 25
I have checked the rDNs for the IP and could see that it is pointing to investorfloor.com and not to the domain name on which the email account is created.

Also check whether the IP is blocked at any other ISPs. You can check the mail logs of the server, to see if there is any relevant informations.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 08-19-2010, 05:05 AM
hzzg6y hzzg6y is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 52
But if you rDNS can point only to one domain for one IP.
IP for jobbuzzle.org is also same as investorfloor.com.

My Mail server is investorfloor.com & jobbuzzule.org is one of the domain. I don't know how can I have rDNS for every domain I add to mail server. I could be incorrect

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-19-2010, 05:12 AM
InstaCarma_Support InstaCarma_Support is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 257
Ok, If the mail server for your domains is investorfloor.com, then the rDNS should also be pointing to the same, Its fine. Please make sure that the MX record for jobbuzzule.org is pointing to investorfloor.com and not domain name itself. Since, while adding a domain from cPanel, MX by default MX record points to the domain name itself.

You would need to check the status of the IP in certain spam checking URLs. Also, anything in the mail logs ?

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2010, 05:42 AM
Dan Madiou Dan Madiou is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 350
Your web host has blacklisted IPs. Ask your host for new IP for your mail servers or ask them to exude your IPs from the list.

__________________
family-site.info

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-19-2010, 06:20 AM
HostColor HostColor is online now
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,972
Someone has probably used those IPs for SPAM. Contact Rackspace so they can them our of black lists.

__________________
Host Color Dedicated & Colocation & Europe Dedicated Servers since 2000
U.S. Data center 90 miles from Chicago
Network Level 3, Cogent, Internap
24/7 Support 1-888-222-1495; Skype: HostColor

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-19-2010, 07:50 AM
hzzg6y hzzg6y is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 52
Please can you provide me inputs on my SPF record. Is it fine. Do I need to have domainkeys, DKIM record as well. Will it help.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-19-2010, 08:52 AM
ImageLeet ImageLeet is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 898
Yes you should have domainkeys records setup, as you are running cPanel it can be setup with this command
/usr/local/cpanel/bin/domain_keys_installer username

You should also check the full header of the mails received at google, It will provide further details if something is wrong with records.

__________________
Imageleet.com - Premium Hosting Solutions Since 2006
Shared Hosting, FFmpeg Hosting, Linux VPS and Dedicated Solutions.
SSD, Litespeed powered, R1soft, cPanel | Softaculous | Rvsitebuilder + FFmpeg, Mencoder, Mplayer, Flvtool2, x264
http://www.imageleet.com

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-19-2010, 09:51 AM
Ankheg Ankheg is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 817
<Sigh.> So many probably well-meaning people...

Anyway. Fundamental problem, your mailserver FQDN - what it identifies itself as - is "server1.investfloor.com":

Code:
[root@mail ~]# telnet 204.232.208.197 25
Trying 204.232.208.197...
Connected to 204.232.208.197.
Escape character is '^]'.
220-server1.investorfloor.com ESMTP Exim 4.69 #1 Thu, 19 Aug 2010 19:13:06 +0530 
220-We do not authorize the use of this system to transport unsolicited, 
220 and/or bulk e-mail.
quit
221 server1.investorfloor.com closing connection
Connection closed by foreign host.
Regrettably, your PTR record is just "investfloor.com":

Code:
;; ANSWER SECTION:
197.208.232.204.in-addr.arpa. 3365 IN	PTR	investorfloor.com.
...and "server1.investfloor.com" doesn't exist:

Code:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 26353
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;server1.investfloor.com.	IN	A
The FQDN your mailserver uses should == your PTR record, and map back to the same IP address.

Fix that, learn to use the search function (this comes up about three times a week...), and you should be good.

__________________
redpin.com - offering amazingly competent email, dns, and web hosting since 2002... because someone has to!
Because Simple Things Should Be Simple - YouCANHasDNS


Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-20-2010, 01:21 PM
hzzg6y hzzg6y is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 52
Hi Instacarma,

I did what you told "Please make sure that the MX record for jobbuzzule.org is pointing to investorfloor.com and not domain name itself"
Hi Ankheg,

I have removed the reference for server1.investorfloor.com. Hope it is rectified.

Any further suggestions, please let me know.

Rgds,

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-20-2010, 01:44 PM
Ankheg Ankheg is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by hzzg6y View Post
Hi Ankheg,

I have removed the reference for server1.investorfloor.com. Hope it is rectified.
Code:
mike@tiny:~$ telnet 204.232.208.197 25
Trying 204.232.208.197...
Connected to 204.232.208.197.
Escape character is '^]'.
220-server1.investorfloor.com ESMTP Exim 4.69 #1 Fri, 20 Aug 2010 23:09:35 +0530 
220-We do not authorize the use of this system to transport unsolicited, 
220 and/or bulk e-mail.
Either you didn't change the server hostname, or you forgot to restart Exim afterwards, or your version of Exim has "primary_hostname" hard-coded in the configuration file (usually /etc/exim.conf) and it needs to be changed.

__________________
redpin.com - offering amazingly competent email, dns, and web hosting since 2002... because someone has to!
Because Simple Things Should Be Simple - YouCANHasDNS


Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-23-2010, 10:14 AM
hzzg6y hzzg6y is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 52
Done.. I have removed the entry in /etc/hosts having server1 in it... Rectified. Got working. Thank you very much

Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New server IP (new datacenter) makes yahoo and gmail add mail to Spam ovisopa Hosting Security and Technology 7 02-25-2010 05:03 AM
Gmail, Yahoo & Hotmail Issues p1Wimax Hosting Security and Technology 8 01-14-2010 04:15 AM
mails getting delivered to spam folder in yahoo prashant1979 Hosting Security and Technology 9 11-11-2008 08:46 PM
Mails delivered to Spam Folder in GMail MikeDVB Hosting Security and Technology 8 05-21-2008 04:55 PM
Why can I relay mails to Yahoo but not to Gmail? bretth Hosting Security and Technology 3 09-20-2005 02:42 PM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Yahoo Integrates Email Client with Dropbox Cloud Storage Web Hosting News 2013-04-04 14:31:40
Security Firm eleven Reports Spam Trends a Year Following Rustock Botnet Takedown Web Hosting News 2012-03-14 14:08:39
eleven Report Finds Online Casinos Most Popular Spam Topic in November Web Hosting News 2011-12-12 21:58:22
Security Firm eleven Report Finds 89 Percent Spam Increase Since July Web Hosting News 2011-10-12 19:04:26
Email Security Firm eleven Expects Obselecense of Blacklist Anti-Spam Solutions Web Hosting News 2011-09-15 17:03:15


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?