Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 49
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    40

    Is it good or Not ?

    I just purchased a reseller account it's my first resell account . there no client yet on the account

    Here a screen of server statue
    http://img811.imageshack.us/img811/5228/cpuv.jpg


    The cpu is always 3-8 / 4 it seem to be badly oversold .

    Is this server able to take more website or i'll need to find a better environement for my websites
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails cpuv.jpg  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,123
    Seems high; did you setup a test site, how does it load? If it loads slowly then you'll have your answer.
    www.idologic.com - Reseller, VPS and dedicated hosting - Friendly Customer Service - DirectAdmin - cPanel - InterWorx

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,003
    It mostly comes down to server performance as each server is different. If your site loads quickly and you're not running into 500 errors or SQL connection failures and the like then you should be fine. However, if the service degrades or you notice some issues, then bring it up with your host first. If they care enough they will resolve the issue.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Maryville Tennessee
    Posts
    1,906
    It does appear to be high. Try running a ping and traceroute and see what type of connection you are getting. I would advice you to look elsewhere, but that is just me.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    10,039
    Quote Originally Posted by qwerty6666 View Post
    I just purchased a reseller account it's my first resell account . there no client yet on the account

    Here a screen of server statue
    http://img811.imageshack.us/img811/5228/cpuv.jpg


    The cpu is always 3-8 / 4 it seem to be badly oversold .

    Is this server able to take more website or i'll need to find a better environement for my websites
    You with rack0 by any chance?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by SLDHosting View Post
    You with rack0 by any chance?
    no
    but they are member here


    Also In the price there was a clientexec license . Is it a usual that host only provide file of billing script and user have to install it . I'm not sure i've install it the right way i didnt enter any key anywhere .. btw

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    10,039
    Quote Originally Posted by qwerty6666 View Post
    no
    but they are member here


    Also In the price there was a clientexec license . Is it a usual that host only provide file of billing script and user have to install it . I'm not sure i've install it the right way i didnt enter any key anywhere .. btw
    The load does seem high for a server with only 4CPU's

    Any chance you can look in server information and tell us what cpu its running?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    940
    Your not with a host that offeres "Unlimited Disk Space and Unlimited Bandwith" are you?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    10,039
    Quote Originally Posted by FirstNetServ View Post
    Your not with a host that offeres "Unlimited Disk Space and Unlimited Bandwith" are you?
    What would unlimited diskpace/bandwidth have to do with it?

    It could be another user putting a bad script on the server causing high server load for all we know...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    940
    Quote Originally Posted by SLDHosting View Post
    What would unlimited diskpace/bandwidth have to do with it?
    Most of these hosts offering Unlimited dont monitor there servers. and oversell like mad. which in turn causes high server load

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    10,039
    Quote Originally Posted by FirstNetServ View Post
    Most of these hosts offering Unlimited dont monitor there servers. and oversell like mad. which in turn causes high server load
    Overselling isnt a bad thing unless done right...

    However like i said it could be a number of things causing the load just assuming the host is at fault all the time isnt good...

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    940
    Quote Originally Posted by SLDHosting View Post
    Overselling isnt a bad thing unless done right...

    However like i said it could be a number of things causing the load just assuming the host is at fault all the time isnt good...
    agreed, but when the OP says "The cpu is always 3-8 / 4 it seem to be badly oversold"

    I would expect it would be down to mad overselling or rubbish server spec.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,003
    Quote Originally Posted by FirstNetServ View Post
    Most of these hosts offering Unlimited dont monitor there servers. and oversell like mad. which in turn causes high server load
    There's bad apples in every bunch. I'm not here to toot our horn or anything, but we do offer unlimited plans and we do employ several forms of monitoring. I would hope the OP has contacted his host for a resolution by now. In fact, he should have contacted them before coming to WHT.

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by SLDHosting View Post
    Overselling isnt a bad thing unless done right...

    However like i said it could be a number of things causing the load just assuming the host is at fault all the time isnt good...
    You are right, but the OP mentioned that it's always around 3-8 which does seem like the server is a bit overloaded at times. If this happens often it could very well be an oversold server. I don't think any host would allow an customer to overload the server more then a couple of times and not take actions against it since it affects the other customers.
    Host Mist - Helping People Say Hello World
    Shared | VPS | Dedicated

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    40
    Your not with a host that offeres "Unlimited Disk Space and Unlimited Bandwith" are you?
    no i stay away from those offer


    i guess id have to find something better and that will install all of is included in my package thank guys

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Preston, UK
    Posts
    176
    Im slightly more concerned that your client exec install didn't require a key? They always have on every install i've done for our clients?
    James Stevenson | ThisHosting
    Reliable UK & US Based Shared, Reseller, Master Reseller and VPS Hosting | Reseller Specialists
    24/7 Phone & Helpdesk Support | End User Support | Free Legal Documents | WHMCS
    www.thishosting.co.uk - 08005 20 03 02 | www.thishosting.us - 1888-795-45-40

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Lancs, UK
    Posts
    2,152
    Quote Originally Posted by thishosting View Post
    Im slightly more concerned that your client exec install didn't require a key? They always have on every install i've done for our clients?
    Yeh, that would ring alarm bells to me.

    Also, a high server load doesn't always mean oversold. Depending upon how power-full the actual server is.
    HeroBill - On-premises Enterprise billing software for hosting providers
    █ UK Based, 24/7 Support Phone Support, Migration Services, Inventory Management, etc...
    https://herobill.com

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    10,039
    Quote Originally Posted by FirstNetServ View Post
    agreed, but when the OP says "The cpu is always 3-8 / 4 it seem to be badly oversold"

    I would expect it would be down to mad overselling or rubbish server spec.
    It could be one person on the server running a dodgy script yet the host hasnt found whos causing it...

    I dont understand why people jump on the oversold/overloaded band wagon when they see abit of spike...

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    940
    Quote Originally Posted by SLDHosting View Post
    It could be one person on the server running a dodgy script yet the host hasnt found whos causing it...

    I dont understand why people jump on the oversold/overloaded band wagon when they see abit of spike...

    Its hardly abit of spike, OP SAYS:

    "The cpu is always 3-8 / 4 it seem to be badly oversold ."

    notice he uses the term always

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    10,039
    Quote Originally Posted by FirstNetServ View Post
    Its hardly abit of spike, OP SAYS:

    "The cpu is always 3-8 / 4 it seem to be badly oversold ."

    notice he uses the term always
    Yes and i like i said, How do you know their isnt someone running a bad script which is keeping the load that high?

    You dont...

    Yet you assume the server is oversold!

    How about i sign up with your hosting and place a poorly coded script within the account and watch the server load go well into the 20's - 40's and come here and say your server is oversold?

    Get what am saying?

    High server load doesnt allways mean that its overloaded or oversold, It could well be a simple clown playing hosting a poor script...!

    Theirs way to many thinks that comes to mind without jumping to the assumption of overloaded servers!

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    940
    "How about i sign up with your hosting and place a poorly coded script within the account and watch the server load go well into the 20's - 40's and come here and say your server is oversold?"

    That would not happen. there is restrictions in place to prevent this

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    10,039
    Quote Originally Posted by FirstNetServ View Post
    "How about i sign up with your hosting and place a poorly coded script within the account and watch the server load go well into the 20's - 40's and come here and say your server is oversold?"

    That would not happen. there is restrictions in place to prevent this
    And what restriction is that?

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    940
    Quote Originally Posted by SLDHosting View Post
    And what restriction is that?
    That isnt up for public discussion and none of your business either.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    10,039
    Quote Originally Posted by FirstNetServ View Post
    That isnt up for public discussion and none of your business either.
    How mature...

    Regardless that you actually mention no restrictions on your website, Wheres your terms located?

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    940
    Quote Originally Posted by SLDHosting View Post
    How mature...

    Regardless that you actually mention no restrictions on your website, Wheres your terms located?
    You are not a client and never will be so why should you be concerned with the terms?
    Last edited by Dan-CKS; 08-12-2010 at 09:17 AM. Reason: typo

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    10,039
    Quote Originally Posted by FirstNetServ View Post
    You are not a cleint and never will be so why should you be concerned with the terms?
    Now you proceed to breach distance selling regulations?

    you must give consumers clear information including details of the goods or services offered, delivery arrangements and payment, the supplier's details and the consumer's cancellation right before they buy (known as prior information)
    How did you become a registered company within the uk?

    I really did think you was a professional outfit daniel!

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    940
    Quote Originally Posted by SLDHosting View Post
    Now you proceed to breach distance selling regulations?



    How did you become a registered company within the uk?

    I really did think you was a professional outfit daniel!

    FirstNetServ can refuse to do business with whoever it wants and dont start with the law etc.

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    10,039
    Quote Originally Posted by FirstNetServ View Post
    FirstNetServ can refuse to do business with whoever it wants and dont start with the law etc.
    Really... And where is this outlined?

    Because i see no terms and conditions...

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    940
    Quote Originally Posted by SLDHosting View Post
    Really... And where is this outlined?

    Because i see no terms and conditions...

    This is more of a private discussion rather than public. lets get back to the OP's topic.

    p.s i will be blocking your IP in are firewall shortly.

    @OP

    Did you check the server specs?

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    10,039
    Quote Originally Posted by FirstNetServ View Post
    This is more of a private discussion rather than public. lets get back to the OP's topic.

    p.s i will be blocking your IP in are firewall shortly.
    Be my guest...

    However if you wish to trade in the public domain expect things to be in the public domain!

    I,ll be requesting information from companies house shortly!

    I,ll leave this be for now.

    regards,

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,320
    That screen shot and partitions look famaliar to me, I saw them like yesterday. You are with one of those very well known hosting companies? Site5? Hostgator? I remember they had server status for anyone to view and it was over 4.

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    940
    Quote Originally Posted by SLDHosting View Post
    Be my guest...

    However if you wish to trade in the public domain expect things to be in the public domain!

    I,ll be requesting information from companies house shortly!

    I,ll leave this be for now.

    regards,
    IP Blocked! (And Subnet)


    Companies house wont be able to provide anything. As i said SLDHOSTING (Sorry dont know your name) this is more of a private discussion and not related to the OP's Post.

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    10,039

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    940
    If you want to know any information simply ask me, no point wasting your money lol.

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    10,039
    Quote Originally Posted by FirstNetServ View Post
    FirstNetServ can refuse to do business with whoever it wants and dont start with the law etc.
    Quote Originally Posted by FirstNetServ View Post
    If you want to know any information simply ask me, no point wasting your money lol.
    You have just refused to give me information, You also told me companies house will not provide anything...

    However acouple of quid is nothing!

    You seriously have no idea do you!

    How old are you?

    ANYWAY BACK ON TOPIC!
    Last edited by Server Management; 08-12-2010 at 09:53 AM.

  36. #36
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    940
    Quote Originally Posted by SLDHosting View Post
    You have just refused to give me information, You also told me companies house will not provide anything...

    However acouple of quid is nothing!

    You seriously have no idea do you!

    How old are you?
    Like i said SLDHosting (You still hide your name) this is a private discussion and not related to the OP's topic. if you have any questions just simply ask me or pm me i am now going to un sub from this post.

    Take care.

    Edit: your name wouldnt be Terry robertson would it?

  37. #37
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    10,039
    Quote Originally Posted by FirstNetServ View Post

    Edit: your name wouldnt be Terry robertson would it?
    If you actually searched the forum you might find my name!

    I only give my name to people i actually know and i dont know you!

    Untill then you either call me Sir or SLD!

    Infact call me Sir SLD

    Back on topic for the second time!

  38. #38
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    940
    Sir SLD it is then...

    correct you dont know me (And personaly i would not like to meet you)

    anyways lets get back on to the OP's topic,

    who is your host? what is the server spec?

  39. #39
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    10,039
    Quote Originally Posted by FirstNetServ View Post
    what is the server spec?
    Judging by the screenshot its either a Quad Core or Dual Core with hyperthreading...

    Or a dual dual core...

    Quote Originally Posted by chasebug View Post
    That screen shot and partitions look famaliar to me, I saw them like yesterday. You are with one of those very well known hosting companies? Site5? Hostgator? I remember they had server status for anyone to view and it was over 4.
    I highly doubt the big firms will be running shared hosting from a 4cpu server!

  40. #40
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    940
    OP

    Who is this host? name and shame them...
    #

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Good servers, good network, good price, however...
    By clster in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-04-2004, 09:59 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-18-2004, 03:47 PM
  3. Is this a good video/graphic card to play good action games with??
    By lokodezine in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 09-27-2003, 11:15 PM
  4. Good hosting, Good price, Good budget...
    By mnemonic in forum Shared Hosting Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-15-2002, 05:30 PM
  5. Good Host with good support for good price
    By LordNicon in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-12-2002, 03:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •