hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Specialty Hosting and Markets : Game Servers : How many game-servers can this server run?
Reply

Forum Jump

How many game-servers can this server run?

Reply Post New Thread In Game Servers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2010, 05:01 AM
BLUEPEPSi BLUEPEPSi is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 144

How many game-servers can this server run?


Hello everybody,

I am about to buy this server box:
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200(Quad core)
8 GB DDR2 800 Memory
250 GB SATA Hard Drive
5 IP Addresses (will buy more, since I will be selling the game-servers)
100 MBPS / 6,000 GB (3,000 IN and 3,000 OUT)

I want to know how many 32 slot (if possible, 500fps) Counter-Strike 1.6 servers can I run without lag?

I of course do not want to oversell, but do not want to buy another box when I have a lot of free space.

Tell me what you think.

Oh and by the way, my OS will be: centos 5.4


Last edited by BLUEPEPSi; 06-15-2010 at 05:15 AM.


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-15-2010, 05:13 AM
NetHosted - Bret NetHosted - Bret is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Suffolk, England.
Posts: 646
I'd say 9-10 would be a safe number

__________________
NetHosted Ltd. - UK Based Web Hosting
Like us on Facebook!


  #3  
Old 06-15-2010, 05:17 AM
BLUEPEPSi BLUEPEPSi is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bret - dediShack View Post
I'd say 9-10 would be a safe number
And that is 500fps, correct?

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 06-15-2010, 05:19 AM
NetHosted - Bret NetHosted - Bret is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Suffolk, England.
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLUEPEPSi View Post
And that is 500fps, correct?
Sorry, I'd overlooked that. The best way to find out is to test and monitor, it's not always the same for everyone as different configurations etc can behave differently. So just start placing the servers on and keep an eye on server usage :-)

__________________
NetHosted Ltd. - UK Based Web Hosting
Like us on Facebook!


  #5  
Old 06-15-2010, 05:22 AM
BLUEPEPSi BLUEPEPSi is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bret - dediShack View Post
Sorry, I'd overlooked that. The best way to find out is to test and monitor, it's not always the same for everyone as different configurations etc can behave differently. So just start placing the servers on and keep an eye on server usage :-)
Well, at least I have an approximated number.

  #6  
Old 06-15-2010, 06:16 AM
BH-Rob BH-Rob is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 129
I beleive you are looking at about 250/300 slots for a server like that server, but remember if you have server with lots of mods that will be reduced due to RAM usage,

Its down to how many slots the server can serve, not how many servers it can run, you can run 100 32 man servers at 500fps but the problem is when they start to get full.
I suggest some testing when you get the server with as many people as possible to test it out.

You also do not need lots of IP's unless you want each customer to have a seperate IP, you can just specify a different port for each server, you could then sell a dedicated IP for their server at an additional cost.

Hope that helps

Regards

Rob

__________________
BoltHosting.co.uk
Quality UK Hosting at Affordable Prices
30 Day Money Back Guarantee | Auto Installer | Site Moving Service
Linux Shared Hosting | Dedicated Servers | Colocation | Domain Registration

  #7  
Old 06-15-2010, 05:04 PM
BLUEPEPSi BLUEPEPSi is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by BH-Rob View Post
I beleive you are looking at about 250/300 slots for a server like that server, but remember if you have server with lots of mods that will be reduced due to RAM usage,

Its down to how many slots the server can serve, not how many servers it can run, you can run 100 32 man servers at 500fps but the problem is when they start to get full.
I suggest some testing when you get the server with as many people as possible to test it out.

You also do not need lots of IP's unless you want each customer to have a seperate IP, you can just specify a different port for each server, you could then sell a dedicated IP for their server at an additional cost.

Hope that helps

Regards

Rob
Thanks for the IP advice, but I like my customers to have their own IPs for their own servers. And did you mean 10 32 man servers at 500fps?

  #8  
Old 06-15-2010, 05:13 PM
DigitalLinx DigitalLinx is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: /usr/src/linux/
Posts: 699
I believe you can configure the cs-server to bind on a different port, so multiple servers can run on a single IP using different port numbers.
Be reasonable and save ipv4 addresses, they are running low.

__________________
VPSnoc.com offers high quality Xen® OpenVZ & Windows® Virtual Private Servers at affordable prices.
99.95% Uptime | 24/7/365 Support | Unmetered bandwidth.
Follow us: twitter.com/VPSnoc


  #9  
Old 06-15-2010, 05:16 PM
BH-Rob BH-Rob is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalLinx View Post
I believe you can configure the cs-server to bind on a different port, so multiple servers can run on a single IP using different port numbers.
Be reasonable and save ipv4 addresses, they are running low.
Yes your right, you can configure each server to use a different port, meaning you can host as many servers as you like per IP, I personally think giving each customer a different IP is a waste of money as the OP will be paying for each IP, so increasing costs and decreasing profits. (just my opinion)

__________________
BoltHosting.co.uk
Quality UK Hosting at Affordable Prices
30 Day Money Back Guarantee | Auto Installer | Site Moving Service
Linux Shared Hosting | Dedicated Servers | Colocation | Domain Registration

  #10  
Old 06-15-2010, 06:11 PM
BLUEPEPSi BLUEPEPSi is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalLinx View Post
I believe you can configure the cs-server to bind on a different port, so multiple servers can run on a single IP using different port numbers.
Be reasonable and save ipv4 addresses, they are running low.
I don't know of one company that doesn't offer an unique IP for each game-server.

  #11  
Old 06-15-2010, 08:33 PM
dhawton dhawton is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLUEPEPSi View Post
Thanks for the IP advice, but I like my customers to have their own IPs for their own servers. And did you mean 10 32 man servers at 500fps?
No.. what he means is 100 32 man servers. If they're empty, they're not going to consume the same resources as if they were full. So you could run 100 32 man servers empty, but when they fill you'll find how many total slots (players) can be on at once with your setup.

  #12  
Old 06-15-2010, 09:35 PM
BLUEPEPSi BLUEPEPSi is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhawton View Post
No.. what he means is 100 32 man servers. If they're empty, they're not going to consume the same resources as if they were full. So you could run 100 32 man servers empty, but when they fill you'll find how many total slots (players) can be on at once with your setup.
Oh okay, I see now. Thanks for replying on topic.

  #13  
Old 06-16-2010, 10:18 PM
Ryanhz Ryanhz is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 156
What do you mean you dont know one company that doesnt offer an ip address for each server. Thats a waste of ip blocks. Most companys just change the port number on each server i have to idea where you got the idea everyone gives out a unique ip to each customer.

  #14  
Old 06-17-2010, 03:35 AM
izanuff izanuff is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 14
Personally I wouldnt run more than about 250 slots. I would also use Debian and not CentOS. Will you be hosting a cpanel or anything from this box as well? I recommend not installing any apache/lighttpd/mysql stuff on it and ensure that the OS doesnt have it preloaded as well

  #15  
Old 06-17-2010, 03:42 AM
BH-Rob BH-Rob is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryanhz View Post
What do you mean you dont know one company that doesnt offer an ip address for each server. Thats a waste of ip blocks. Most companys just change the port number on each server i have to idea where you got the idea everyone gives out a unique ip to each customer.
I agree, not many GSP companies provide an IP per customer, I just searched through a few companies I know and not one of them provides an IP each. I am sure some of the smaller companies do but it will reduce your profits, the only reason I see to provide a personal IP per customer is if they are reselling the service.

Rob

__________________
BoltHosting.co.uk
Quality UK Hosting at Affordable Prices
30 Day Money Back Guarantee | Auto Installer | Site Moving Service
Linux Shared Hosting | Dedicated Servers | Colocation | Domain Registration

Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many game servers can I run on this? Soulwatcher1974 Game Servers 17 06-12-2010 04:05 AM
Way to run CS Game Servers sikkhost Dedicated Server 1 09-20-2004 01:58 AM
How many CS game servers can this box run? VapoRub Dedicated Server 34 10-31-2003 12:23 AM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
SoftLayer Powers Global Expansion of DataHotel’s Japanese App Hosting Service Web Hosting News 2014-02-06 11:37:21
Square Enix to Create On-Demand Cloud Gaming Platform Web Hosting News 2013-11-06 10:00:55
SOE, UOL BoaCompra, Gamerica Partner to Bring Online Game PlanetSide 2 to Brazil Web Hosting News 2013-10-21 15:38:28
Most Online Gamers Experience Unplanned Server Outages During Play: LeaseWeb Study Web Hosting News 2013-05-01 15:16:03
What Online Game Hosting Customers Want Web Hosting News 2012-11-21 15:31:49


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?