hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Specialty Hosting and Markets : Game Servers : How many game servers can I run on this?
Reply

Forum Jump

How many game servers can I run on this?

Reply Post New Thread In Game Servers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2010, 06:07 AM
Soulwatcher1974 Soulwatcher1974 is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 523

How many game servers can I run on this?


I hope you guys can help me because I havent been able to get a stright answer posting on the different game forums. How many Game servers can I run on this server?

Dell PowerEdge T110
Intel® Xeon® X3450, 2.66 GHz, 8M Cache, Turbo, HT
8GB of ram
250GB Sata 3.0 hard drive

I would like to try and get a gaming couminity going and offer different games on the server. What I dont want is lag, so I dont want to even come close to overloading the server.

Here is the list of games I would like to run. UT3, COD4, COD WAW, Counterstrike. The two most important games I want to run are COD4 and COD WAW.

P.S. I have checked into renting a game server from a company and they want too much money for my budget. For 1 48slot COD4 server they want $59.99. I am getting a 100mbps connection and 3,300GB transfer for $70 a month. I also did a tracert and I am 16hopps and a 38ms ping from the colocation provider and I am 15hops and 31ms from the game server provider. So I shouldnt have any lag!



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-20-2010, 11:19 AM
XFactorServers XFactorServers is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,333
I would say 150-200 users on at a single time on that machine. I highly suggest looking at renting an x3450 which will be much better for a single server.

Good Luck!

  #3  
Old 04-20-2010, 01:09 PM
SSD-Greg SSD-Greg is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New York City
Posts: 4,023
I would go about 200 max servers that can run on there. When getting close to 200 it might become a little laggy.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 04-20-2010, 01:54 PM
Soulwatcher1974 Soulwatcher1974 is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by XFactorServers View Post
I would say 150-200 users on at a single time on that machine. I highly suggest looking at renting an x3450 which will be much better for a single server.

Good Luck!
I did look into renting and the cheapest I found was almost $200 a month. I am paying $70 a month for colocation and $780 for the server. So If I colocate the server for 7 months it more then payed for its self. If by some chance after 7 months I didnt want to do it anymore I could have the data ceneter ship the server back and throw some 2tb hard drives in it and use it as a filesharing server at home.


Last edited by Soulwatcher1974; 04-20-2010 at 01:59 PM.
  #5  
Old 04-20-2010, 02:55 PM
XFactorServers XFactorServers is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulwatcher1974 View Post
I did look into renting and the cheapest I found was almost $200 a month. I am paying $70 a month for colocation and $780 for the server. So If I colocate the server for 7 months it more then payed for its self. If by some chance after 7 months I didnt want to do it anymore I could have the data ceneter ship the server back and throw some 2tb hard drives in it and use it as a filesharing server at home.
How experienced are you with running game servers ? As if you are co-locating with a non-game server provider you will need to do all the leg work yourself. Do you plan to run windows ?

  #6  
Old 04-20-2010, 03:20 PM
Jessay Jessay is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 73
I would say 150~active slots it really depends on the overall activity of the users gameserver and so on. As an average comfortably I would say 150. I would say though if you are planning on becoming a gameserver provider that ya take into consideration your first six months are easily going to be you eating the monthly bill. As for having to do all the leg work if you go TCAdmin you pretty much could wear a helmet and get that installed. However it does take some understanding to really get all the features working.


Last edited by Jessay; 04-20-2010 at 03:23 PM.
  #7  
Old 04-26-2010, 12:41 PM
cr4ckz cr4ckz is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 19
150 - 200 ..

  #8  
Old 04-26-2010, 05:17 PM
Soulwatcher1974 Soulwatcher1974 is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 523
Thanks for all the replies guys. Some one PMed me on another forum and rented me a game server for a price that I couldn't resist.

  #9  
Old 04-27-2010, 09:53 PM
xslice xslice is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 12
210 Max.

Also depends on the game.
If your looking at high intense valve games, id say 180 - 200

  #10  
Old 05-08-2010, 04:00 PM
Fallen angel Fallen angel is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 11
I suggest to you use RAID, Software Raid1 (for start) but better HW Raid 5 / 10. Because, if you not have a 24/7 instant HDD monitoring, you can loose all your and client data.

  #11  
Old 05-08-2010, 11:14 PM
Defcon|Rich Defcon|Rich is offline
Carpe Diem
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulwatcher1974 View Post
I also did a tracert and I am 16hopps and a 38ms ping from the colocation provider and I am 15hops and 31ms from the game server provider. So I shouldnt have any lag!
Ping has nothing to do with lag. Please understand basic networking before referring to terms you don't fully understand.

  #12  
Old 05-10-2010, 03:05 PM
Abaddon Abaddon is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 183
Why wouldn't the ping have anything to do with lag. Lag is latency and latency can indeed be measured using ping.

If you have 1000ms latency then you will be lagging. I don't understand why you think that a shorter network path to the server is not going to improve your lag.

  #13  
Old 05-10-2010, 04:09 PM
Defcon|Rich Defcon|Rich is offline
Carpe Diem
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaddon View Post
Why wouldn't the ping have anything to do with lag. Lag is latency and latency can indeed be measured using ping.

If you have 1000ms latency then you will be lagging. I don't understand why you think that a shorter network path to the server is not going to improve your lag.
Lag can be attributed to several factors including how far away from the server you are (ping) however if the quality of that connection isn't up to par you could be in the same room playing and still experience the exact problem as if you were across the country. Given your pinging very low I would investigate the quality of the connection your connecting to and if the hardware is being taxed.

There's literally dozens of scenarios that can cause lag type conditions but I'm afraid a book isn't what I'm up to writing at the moment

Hope this helps!

  #14  
Old 05-11-2010, 12:44 PM
Abaddon Abaddon is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Defcon|Rich View Post
Lag can be attributed to several factors including how far away from the server you are (ping) however if the quality of that connection isn't up to par you could be in the same room playing and still experience the exact problem as if you were across the country. Given your pinging very low I would investigate the quality of the connection your connecting to and if the hardware is being taxed.

There's literally dozens of scenarios that can cause lag type conditions but I'm afraid a book isn't what I'm up to writing at the moment

Hope this helps!
So what you meant to say, in your original post, is that ping(Latency) is only one factor in lag.

And if you have higher than a 10ms ping on you lan you have more problems than your game server

  #15  
Old 06-11-2010, 05:32 PM
nemore nemore is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 54
they say that a 8gb ram exeon ht 2.33ghz quad core can run around 36 20 slot cod4 gameservers(lag free)

Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Way to run CS Game Servers sikkhost Dedicated Server 1 09-20-2004 01:58 AM
what if your game does not run on your OS anymore lokodezine Web Hosting Lounge 6 06-30-2004 01:55 AM
How many CS game servers can this box run? VapoRub Dedicated Server 34 10-31-2003 12:23 AM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
SoftLayer Powers Global Expansion of DataHotel’s Japanese App Hosting Service Web Hosting News 2014-02-06 11:37:21
Chinese Game Market Revenue Grows 40 Percent in 2013 to Approximately $13B: Report Web Hosting News 2013-12-30 17:15:26
Square Enix to Create On-Demand Cloud Gaming Platform Web Hosting News 2013-11-06 10:00:55
SOE, UOL BoaCompra, Gamerica Partner to Bring Online Game PlanetSide 2 to Brazil Web Hosting News 2014-05-01 08:21:55
Who Wants to be a Hosting Millionaire? with Jack Zubarev Web Hosting News 2013-02-06 20:01:39


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?