Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    346

    Voip? Im confused.

    Okay, so you make a call and it sends it to a server. Now how does that server connect to land lines and call people? How do i get like 64 lines to my server?

    Please and thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    367
    REMOVED by Author

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    346
    ? What happened?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Posts
    553
    A server can connect directly to the regular telephone network (PSTN) if you install a telephony interface card, but if you're looking at VOIP then you can just use one of the many VOIP providers that will originate and terminate calls.

    Terminating calls is placing calls to the regular telephone network and originating is incoming calls that are made to reglar phone number and then sent to you VOIP server.

    Incoming/Outgoing 'lines' will normally be described as the number of concurrent 'channels' that you can have.
    SysAdminMan - Asterisk PBX hosting - FreePBX, A2Billing and Elastix

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    167
    You need a SIP to PSTN VoIP Termination. Google 'SIP account'

  6. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Similar Threads

  1. Hosted Voip Applications. Start Voip Biz
    By worphco in forum Other Hosting Offers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-28-2007, 11:32 AM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •