Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    Dell 1855 blades - how configurable?

    Am thinking of taking the plunge and purchasing Dell 1855 blades. It is a 7u enclosure with 10 blades, each blade has 3.6ghz dual core, 1x36gb hard drive and 4gb RAM.

    Does anyone know how configurable blades in general are?

    Is it possible to use some or all of the blades to act as one server? Can I use all 10 blades (approx 72ghz cpu and 40gb RAM and 360gb drive) to act as one server?

    Is it possible to use 5 blades as an SQL server and the other 5 for the website application?

    I have been trying to look this up on search engines but cannot find anything that gives a clear answer. Any guidance would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Reston, VA
    Posts
    3,132
    Quote Originally Posted by JammyAlly View Post
    Am thinking of taking the plunge and purchasing Dell 1855 blades. It is a 7u enclosure with 10 blades, each blade has 3.6ghz dual core, 1x36gb hard drive and 4gb RAM.

    Does anyone know how configurable blades in general are?

    Is it possible to use some or all of the blades to act as one server? Can I use all 10 blades (approx 72ghz cpu and 40gb RAM and 360gb drive) to act as one server?

    Is it possible to use 5 blades as an SQL server and the other 5 for the website application?

    I have been trying to look this up on search engines but cannot find anything that gives a clear answer. Any guidance would be appreciated.
    a blade is nothing more than a single server turned on its side and cut in half in width on average. They don't work as a logical single server.
    Yellow Fiber Networks
    http://www.yellowfiber.net : Managed Solutions - Colocation - Network Services IPv4/IPv6
    Ashburn/Denver/NYC/Dallas/Chicago Markets Served zak@yellowfiber.net

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by JammyAlly View Post

    Is it possible to use 5 blades as an SQL server and the other 5 for the website application?
    you should do it.
    While it is "trivial" to do it for Sql Server, for a website it is not so trivial. If you have different domain and/or subdomain then may be you can runs in in a separated server but, usually 1 server is enough for a website application (since most of the work is done by the database). Also, it is possible to use a separated server for cache, for example memcached.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Dallas/FortWorth TX
    Posts
    1,642
    Blades are nothing more than CPU and Ram alone. You will need additional storage for use with that unless you are comfortable with low HDD. Another thing you would need to look out before you buy blades are the power consumption, they hook up on 208v circuit x 2 or for redundant its x 4.
    IPStrada When uptime counts.
    Warren Buffet: Honesty is very expensive gift do not expect it from cheap people.

  5. #5
    Thanks for the replies, I appreciate it.

    The key here is that I cannot combine the 10 blades to make one giant server running at 72ghz. Back to the drawing board for me!

    Darn

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Dallas/FortWorth TX
    Posts
    1,642
    u can make a could out of it i guess.
    IPStrada When uptime counts.
    Warren Buffet: Honesty is very expensive gift do not expect it from cheap people.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by IPStrada LLC View Post
    u can make a could out of it i guess.
    Sorry? I do not understand

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    876
    Quote Originally Posted by JammyAlly View Post
    Sorry? I do not understand
    Could = cloud I'm thinking.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Dallas/FortWorth TX
    Posts
    1,642
    Quote Originally Posted by IPStrada LLC View Post
    u can make a could out of it i guess.
    My bad, i meant CLOUD
    IPStrada When uptime counts.
    Warren Buffet: Honesty is very expensive gift do not expect it from cheap people.

  10. #10
    In your opinion what would be the best way to set up a cloud or cluster server set-up using blades? And what external hardware would be required to get a cloud or cluster going.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    20
    I wouldn't recommend using the older blade generation for webhosting of any kind, they suck up way to much energy, even with the higher efficiency PSU's.
    But, to answer your question: just external storage. iSCSI if you want it cheap, Fiber Channel if you want the high-end stuff.

  12. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Similar Threads

  1. New Dell PowerEdge 1855 Enclosure for sale
    By sct4a in forum Other Web Hosting Related Offers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-30-2006, 07:25 PM
  2. Dell 1855 Chassis Install Requirements In DC
    By iwallace_ems in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 03-23-2006, 01:10 AM
  3. ibm vs dell blades
    By gmanhoff in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-09-2005, 11:47 AM
  4. Dell makes server blades!
    By mpope in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-09-2002, 09:10 AM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •