Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    346

    Buying Ip Addresses?

    Hello,

    I am wanting to buy ip addresses, over at arin. Can you guide me thou, how to and any info. I am wanting to use them for a colocation. Thanks
      0 Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,189
    go through your isp it is best way
    PraHost - 7th Year of Excellence with Stability
    100Mbit, 100Tb & 1Gbps Unmetered Dedicated Servers In NL, DE @ Leaseweb
    Pay via
    Paypal, Skrill, Payza, Webmoney, PerfectMoney and BitCoins
      0 Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    346
    No, i want it to be under our comapany name. they said to buy from arin, and they can route it for free.
      0 Not allowed!

  4. #4
    You can buy IP addresses from your datacenter and request from them to set the proper whois info of the IP block to be under your company's info.
      0 Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    346
    No, thats not how they do it lol.
      0 Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,552
    Quote Originally Posted by notmove View Post
    Hello,

    I am wanting to buy ip addresses, over at arin. Can you guide me thou, how to and any info. I am wanting to use them for a colocation. Thanks
    While this may look like a huge cost savings considering that when buying in bulk IPs only cost roughly 25 cents per IP per year, then there is the extra work involved with routing, etc. Unless your purchasing thousands of IPs a month, you should just go with your colocation provider for the IPs.
    Jacob Wall - GetCloak.com
      0 Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    346
    Okay, im gona say this again. They will route it for free. Now, can you tell me where i can get more info from.
      0 Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,552
    Quote Originally Posted by notmove View Post
    Okay, im gona say this again. They will route it for free. Now, can you tell me where i can get more info from.
    https://www.arin.net/resources/request/index.html
    Jacob Wall - GetCloak.com
      0 Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    5,954
      0 Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    2,131
    You have to be qualified for this AND you must be _already_ using at least X IPs already from your upstream carrier/ISP/datacenter where X = half of the quantity you are requesting. Also, you must prove you use those efficiently, and that you will be using 80% of your allocation in one year from the allocation.

    ARIN's current rules for minimum allocations they will do directly are:
    1. If you yourself are an ISP
    a) If you are multihomed (have more than one upstream carrier): 1024 IPs
    b) If you are NOT multihomed (you have only one single upstream): 4096 IPs
    2. If you are an end-user that is not an ISP:
    c) Multihomed: 1024 IPs
    d) Single-homed: 4096 IPs

    If you need anything less than the minimum allocation for your minimum category, you are forced to go through your upstreams.
      0 Not allowed!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    346
      0 Not allowed!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    2,965
    Trust me when I say its a pain in the ass to get direct allocation from ARIN, they make you jump through fiery hoops with your hands tied to your back....you get the idea...unless you have all the documentation straight its tough...

    But I dont understand, you can saying your provider will route the IPs for free from ARIN but wont give you new IPs??? can you explain?
    Email: info ///at/// honelive.com
      0 Not allowed!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    346
    Yes i want the company ips under our name. No our Datacenters,
      0 Not allowed!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    WebHostingTalk
    Posts
    8,878
    Quote Originally Posted by notmove View Post
    Yes i want the company ips under our name. No our Datacenters,
    ARIN doesn't route IP's... your data center would have to do that. You've been given the information on how to apply, but given what I've seen so far, there's no chance you're going to qualify for your own IP space. If you think you can, great, you'll likely want to hire someone who's a bit more knowledgeable to review your network and fill out the appropriate forms and then submit them.

    Otherwise, your option is to get an IP range from your datacenter and have them SWIP the space to you.

    Sirius
    Last edited by sirius; 11-20-2009 at 12:23 PM.
    I support the Human Rights Campaign!
    Moving to the Tampa, Florida area? Check out life in the suburbs in Trinity, Florida.
      0 Not allowed!

Similar Threads

  1. Buying Additional IP Addresses For My Server
    By SmileServe in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-01-2006, 10:28 PM
  2. Buying IP addresses....
    By HuckFinn in forum Other Offers & Requests
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-22-2005, 04:39 PM
  3. Buying Static IP Addresses
    By yomamaii in forum Reseller Hosting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-19-2005, 06:37 PM
  4. Buying/building servers vs buying Pre-made servers vs hiring
    By Blueheaven in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-11-2004, 01:52 PM
  5. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-19-2004, 03:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •