hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Specialty Hosting and Markets : Game Servers : Questions

Forum Jump

Questions

Reply Post New Thread In Game Servers Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2009, 02:51 PM
Web Hosting Master

Questions

Hi,

Im new to game servers I have never used one but have played on one there pretty cool and I would love to get into selling them. I have a few questions.

Is there some type of company or thing that you can sell game servers but off a cheap reseller? More like reseller web hosting is what I mean.

Also how dose it work do you need a shared hosting account or do you need a server just to have one game server up? What's needed how dose it work out files etc...

Also if I where to reseller game servers what would I need to look into doing befor I start do I need to get a dedi server or could I get a vps and sell off theom..

Please do not post in this thread just 1 or 2 line sentence answer my questions and don't get off topic...

Thanks, Greg

Sponsored Links
Old 11-15-2009, 02:59 PM
Uptime Aficionado

You can't host a game server on a shared hosting account, but you can certainly host one on a VPS or Dedicated Server.

Look for a managed VPS or Dedi provider and ask their support team if they'll configure everything for you; be sure to tell them exactly what game you want to host to ensure that they'll be able/willing to do it.

I don't know of any reseller scheme that offers what you've described.

Old 11-15-2009, 03:19 PM
Web Hosting Master

I know I can easly ask the support team, but I want to learn how to set it up my self.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-15-2009, 03:26 PM
Uptime Aficionado

What game are you wanting to host? There isn't a universal game server that works with all games like, say, apache does with all web-pages. Most games have their own proprietary servers/tools.