Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Colo Power

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    59

    Colo Power

    I don't understand colo power allocation. A lot of colocation provders offer 0.5 amps power allocation with 1U plans. What can you do with 0.5amps? Isn't that the same as 110 watts?

  2. #2
    Which ones are those? I don't know who offers less than 1 AMP/110V per 1U.
    Professional Streaming services - http://www.tulix.com - info at tulix.com
    Double optimized - AS36820) network, best for live streaming/VoIP/gaming
    The best quality network - AS7219

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    59
    I am basing this on 230V, and there are loads in the UK who offer 0.5A

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,627
    @ 230v that is more than enough to run say a Q9550 or Xeon equivalent, 8gb ram, 2 x SATA disks.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Etherwood View Post
    I am basing this on 230V, and there are loads in the UK who offer 0.5A
    Then you should be OK for smaller servers (power wise).
    Professional Streaming services - http://www.tulix.com - info at tulix.com
    Double optimized - AS36820) network, best for live streaming/VoIP/gaming
    The best quality network - AS7219

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    59
    The smallest server PSU I can find is 200W.

    So I was just wondering why bother offering 1U with 0.5A. The only reason I can think of is it could be used for a switch. But then again, thats no use without a server.

    Pass

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,627
    Quote Originally Posted by Etherwood View Post
    The smallest server PSU I can find is 200W.

    So I was just wondering why bother offering 1U with 0.5A. The only reason I can think of is it could be used for a switch. But then again, thats no use without a server.

    Pass
    Just because a PSU is rated at 200W doesn't mean it'll draw 200W that is a maximum.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    59
    Ah, that explains it better

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by WireSix View Post
    Just because a PSU is rated at 200W doesn't mean it'll draw 200W that is a maximum.
    Yep, and even bigger power supplies, unless you will load the server with a power hungry parts will not use that much energy (assuming that servers are new - not sure about old type power supplies).
    Professional Streaming services - http://www.tulix.com - info at tulix.com
    Double optimized - AS36820) network, best for live streaming/VoIP/gaming
    The best quality network - AS7219

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    59
    Am I right in saying then that servers don't use special low-powered parts like laptops do? Its just the standard stuff you'd expect to see in desktop machines?

  11. #11
    That could be a god guess. There are CPU's like Atom - suppose to be low power ones, they were some from AMD - the same, but a good guess - desktop type of gear or more powerful, although nothing prevents you from running your server off the laptop
    Professional Streaming services - http://www.tulix.com - info at tulix.com
    Double optimized - AS36820) network, best for live streaming/VoIP/gaming
    The best quality network - AS7219

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    59
    LOL, my laptop is poo, but I see your point

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,612
    Quote Originally Posted by Etherwood View Post
    Am I right in saying then that servers don't use special low-powered parts like laptops do? Its just the standard stuff you'd expect to see in desktop machines?
    Servers can use low-power parts. We use low-voltage CPUs in our servers to save power. You can also save power with 2.5" hard drives.
    Scott Burns, President
    BQ Internet Corporation
    Remote Rsync and FTP backup solutions
    *** http://www.bqbackup.com/ ***

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,513
    You can get something like a Killawatt or a cl-amp to measure the amount of power used.
    - Buying up websites, side-projects and companies - PM Me! -

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    808
    Volts x Amps = Watts (its actually KVA not watts, but this is rough, multiply by the power factor and you have true KW)

    So .5 * 230 = ~115 watts
    Jordan Jacobs | VP, Products|SingleHop| JJ @SingleHop.com
    Managed Dedicated Servers | Bare-Metal Servers | Cloud Services

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Ashburn
    Posts
    210
    Quote Originally Posted by JordanJ View Post
    Volts x Amps = Watts (its actually KVA not watts, but this is rough, multiply by the power factor and you have true KW)

    So .5 * 230 = ~115 watts
    Very true, so to put that into comparison - .5A of 230V power = 115 watts, and 1Amp of 120V power = 120 watts which is similar to many offers that include 1amp and 1u of space.

Similar Threads

  1. Single server colo w/ A+B power and HSRP
    By koii in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-29-2009, 05:52 AM
  2. Saving Power - HE.NET Colo
    By mperkel in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-31-2008, 09:06 PM
  3. how would you know how much power your colo takes?
    By peruviantalk in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-10-2007, 01:44 AM
  4. Power consumption in Colo racks
    By tamouh in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-11-2005, 08:23 AM
  5. colo power specifics -- How much power is needed for servers
    By plasticquart in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 06-29-2003, 01:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •