Non-programmer looking to build some websites

Hi everyone,

I am looking to build a few blogs and e-commerce websites using Wordpress.org and Hostgator. I am not a programmer, but I know the basics of HTML, configuration of name server, setting up new email accounts with my domain using Google App, etc. I am wondering is it possible for me to set up new websites without hiring a programmer? Is there any kind of step by step instruction I can follow? I want do to this myself because I might need to change and tweak the sites from time to time, and I'd like to have the flexibility of doing all that myself. Thanks

Andrew

Sounds like you have a workable plan. Check into programs that allow you to customize your WordPress themes like Artisteer. Good luck, Andrew.
    ProlimeHost - Dedicated Server Hosting & KVM SSD VPS
    Three Datacenter Locations: Los Angeles, Denver & Singapore
    SuperMicro Hardware | Multiple Bandwidth Providers | 24/7 On-site Engineers

Creating a Wordpress blog is very easy, use Fantastico from your cPanel (this you will need) to create your website blog and just change the theme from your wp-admin area.

Use google to look for tutorials.

Same with an e-Commerce website, create Joomla! website from your cPanel and google for tutorials also.

You can also download Wordpress/Joomla! file then upload to your website, more complicated if you don't have Fantastico from cPanel.

I am wondering is it possible for me to set up new websites without hiring a programmer?
    I really don't see why not. There are lots of ready-made Wordpress plugins/widgets that do a lot of things, there are lots of templates, free and paid out there.

What you need to do is focus on building content, and marketing your site, and you can definitely do that. Make sure you upgrade your Wordpress installations as new versions come out so that you don't keep your sites unnecessarily vulnerable to attacks, and regularly do backups of your databases (website files too).