Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Hamburg - Germany
    Posts
    161

    Vmware server problem with OS 64bit and some cpus

    Hi to WHTers and ...

    Many people have some problems with vmware server on some 64bit operation systems.
    If your server's ram is more than 6GB, you have to have a 64bit OS but I have tried to install vmware server on a 64bit server, it seems to be crashing my vmware server every 5 min and I cant use it more until I reset this service.

    CPU : Intel Xeon Nehalem 3440 2.53Ghz Quad Core w/ HyperThreading (8 virtual cores)
    Ram : 4 GB DDR2
    Os : CentOS 64bit

    I have had an another server and i have solved this problem whit Debian. but on CentOS I usually have problem, and I cant use vmware server.

    Have you any idea how i solve this problem on CentOS 64bit ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    North Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    2,554
    its just crashing?

    bad ram?
    Remote Hands and Your Local Tech for the Los Angeles area.

    (310) 573-8050 - LinkedIn

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Hamburg - Germany
    Posts
    161
    No its not bad RAM , i have used VMware on a same server with debian, but i want to use it on centos

    Any idea?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    512
    How about using esx? It's free and a much better product than server. It's very simple to learn. You would probably need to colocate rather than renting a dedicated server

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Hamburg - Germany
    Posts
    161
    Quote Originally Posted by VMhosts View Post
    How about using esx? It's free and a much better product than server. It's very simple to learn. You would probably need to colocate rather than renting a dedicated server
    Yes I know, it is better.
    But I want to have CentOS, I am using vmware server on a quad server with 64bit centos. i have tried to use it on I7 cpu. It likes to be crash every times ( I am using vmware server on a I7 server with debian 64bit, and there is not problem )


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    512
    You could always run centos as a virtual machine on esx?

    If you cant run esx of cource this isnt an option. I would recommened trying the vmware community forums, there will be a lot of people who can help there.

    If not let me know, I have access to VMware support, maybe able to log a call for you if I can replicate the issues

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Hamburg - Germany
    Posts
    161
    Quote Originally Posted by VMhosts View Post
    You could always run centos as a virtual machine on esx?

    If you cant run esx of cource this isnt an option. I would recommened trying the vmware community forums, there will be a lot of people who can help there.

    If not let me know, I have access to VMware support, maybe able to log a call for you if I can replicate the issues
    I have tried to contact to their support, and i sent the log files to them, but no response from their support

    My friends have tried it too, but ...
    It is one way for us, using Debian or 32bit ( Debian is not goot for hosting and ... , 32bit os is not good for rams less 6GB )


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    512
    worth putting a post on the vmware community forums, some very helpful people on there

    VMware support is usually first class, surprised you havent had anything back from them

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    North Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    2,554
    what kernel are you running?

    i have a centos 5.2 64bit with vmware server (HP DL380's) not having any problems with him besides the resource constraints on the VM's its self.
    Remote Hands and Your Local Tech for the Los Angeles area.

    (310) 573-8050 - LinkedIn

Similar Threads

  1. vmware 32bit to 64bit
    By hichkas in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-08-2009, 09:37 AM
  2. Intel Core 2 Quad C2Q Q6700 CPUs and Q9300 CPUs for sale. Toronto
    By vpsfusion in forum Other Web Hosting Related Offers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-04-2009, 12:52 PM
  3. FreeBSD 32bit or 64bit with these cpus?
    By mlankton in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-03-2008, 05:39 PM
  4. Problem with GD in Centos 64bit
    By goolex in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-12-2006, 05:02 AM
  5. Problem with server: Missing Microcode update for installed cpus
    By LinuxCubs in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-12-2004, 04:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •