Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1

    Thumbs down o2 broadband is a joke

    Having serious latency issues and disconnects with o2, I opened a support case with them and this went on for a month.

    I heard nothing back from them, so I rang them up to find they had closed my case as fixed!

    I am now waiting on their support line right now, been nearly 1hr.

    The quality is so bad that the backing track can’t play properly... keeps breaking up.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    529
    Quote Originally Posted by jardin View Post
    Having serious latency issues and disconnects with o2, I opened a support case with them and this went on for a month.

    I heard nothing back from them, so I rang them up to find they had closed my case as fixed!

    I am now waiting on their support line right now, been nearly 1hr.

    The quality is so bad that the backing track can’t play properly... keeps breaking up.
    What's your closest router/gateway IP? I wanna see if it's slow to my location also.

  3. #3
    Gateway IP Address 87.194.255.254
    IP Address 78.105.245.190

    I am using a Netgear DG834G with the latest UK Firmware.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    3,878
    I'm with o2 but use open dns because o2 seem to have problems with theirs from time to time.

    OpenDNS nameservers
    (208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220)

    problem solved

    owm
    ‹(¿)›
    Life's what you make it.

  5. #5
    Hi,

    You’re from Edinburgh, are you on o2's LLU Network.

    My exchange doesn’t have O2 LLU, so I am on the o2 Active package (BT package branded by o2)

  6. #6
    My latency hasnt really moved at all, ping google or bbc or anything in the UK.

    I get 134ms :/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    529
    Quote Originally Posted by jardin View Post
    My latency hasnt really moved at all, ping google or bbc or anything in the UK.

    I get 134ms :/
    Try a trace route to final.no-ip.net
    Post the results cause when I traced to your IP it was blocked.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Posts
    1,307
    I haven't been having any problems with O2 Broadband, just changed from BT and there's been a great difference. Better uptime, faster connection and it's cheaper .

    For the pings, I'm getting around 23-25ms to bbc and around 28-30ms to Google.co.uk (105ish to Google.com).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    529
    Quote Originally Posted by FS - Mike View Post
    I haven't been having any problems with O2 Broadband, just changed from BT and there's been a great difference. Better uptime, faster connection and it's cheaper .

    For the pings, I'm getting around 23-25ms to bbc and around 28-30ms to Google.co.uk (105ish to Google.com).
    Your lucky.
    30ms to the ISP's router.
    60ms+ Any where else on the web.

    Tracing route to final.no-ip.net [174.37.243.170]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.254.254
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 31 ms 32 ms 31 ms alma-gw-rtr1.accessatc.net [216.81.96.1]
    4 66 ms 70 ms 63 ms 209.221.47.41 (USCarrier)
    5 66 ms 64 ms 65 ms 209.221.47.130 (USCarrier)
    6 66 ms 65 ms 63 ms 198.32.132.75 (USCarrier)
    7 90 ms 83 ms 91 ms 10gigabitethernet6-4.core1.ash1.he.net [72.52.92.157]
    8 86 ms 85 ms 85 ms te1-2.cer01.wdc01.washingtondc-datacenter.com [206.223.115.185]
    9 86 ms 85 ms 85 ms po1.fcr01.wdc01.washingtondc-datacenter.com [208.43.118.134]
    10 86 ms 84 ms 85 ms 174.37.243.170-static.reverse.softlayer.com [174.37.243.170]

    Trace complete.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by hotpass105 View Post
    Try a trace route to final.no-ip.net
    Post the results cause when I traced to your IP it was blocked.
    Tracing route to final.no-ip.net [174.37.243.170]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1
    2 128 ms 129 ms 129 ms 87-194-255-254.bethere.co.uk [87.194.255.254]
    3 129 ms 128 ms 130 ms 10.1.1.106
    4 * * * Request timed out.
    5 * * * Request timed out.
    6 128 ms 128 ms 124 ms xe-9-1-0.edge3.London1.Level3.net [212.113.15.65
    7 127 ms 130 ms 128 ms ae-34-52.ebr2.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.97]
    8 198 ms 199 ms 197 ms ae-44-44.ebr1.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.69.137.78]
    9 210 ms 203 ms 212 ms ae-3-3.ebr4.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.132.93]
    10 199 ms 203 ms 205 ms ae-64-64.csw1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.134.1
    78]
    11 206 ms * 204 ms ae-14-69.car4.Washington1.Level3.net [4.68.17.6]
    12 211 ms 207 ms 209 ms SOFTLAYER-T.car4.Washington1.Level3.net [4.79.17
    0.174]
    13 208 ms 210 ms 210 ms po1.fcr01.wdc01.washingtondc-datacenter.com [208
    .43.118.134]
    14 210 ms 210 ms 210 ms 174.37.243.170-static.reverse.softlayer.com [174
    .37.243.170]

    Trace complete.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    529
    Quote Originally Posted by jardin View Post
    Tracing route to final.no-ip.net [174.37.243.170]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1
    2 128 ms 129 ms 129 ms 87-194-255-254.bethere.co.uk [87.194.255.254]
    3 129 ms 128 ms 130 ms 10.1.1.106
    4 * * * Request timed out.
    5 * * * Request timed out.
    6 128 ms 128 ms 124 ms xe-9-1-0.edge3.London1.Level3.net [212.113.15.65
    7 127 ms 130 ms 128 ms ae-34-52.ebr2.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.97]
    8 198 ms 199 ms 197 ms ae-44-44.ebr1.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.69.137.78]
    9 210 ms 203 ms 212 ms ae-3-3.ebr4.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.132.93]
    10 199 ms 203 ms 205 ms ae-64-64.csw1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.134.1
    78]
    11 206 ms * 204 ms ae-14-69.car4.Washington1.Level3.net [4.68.17.6]
    12 211 ms 207 ms 209 ms SOFTLAYER-T.car4.Washington1.Level3.net [4.79.17
    0.174]
    13 208 ms 210 ms 210 ms po1.fcr01.wdc01.washingtondc-datacenter.com [208
    .43.118.134]
    14 210 ms 210 ms 210 ms 174.37.243.170-static.reverse.softlayer.com [174
    .37.243.170]

    Trace complete.
    Looks like an issue with your line to the phone company. You should call someone out and have them examine your line.

  12. #12
    When I did, they dismissed the matter and blamed BT.

    What they said was they were updating something and I had to wait and see how things went.

    I had these problems well before any updates happened so when I phoned, the ticket was automatically dismissed.


    The support line is a laugh, I was asked these questions.

    What version of windows do I use?
    Am I using Micro Filters?
    Can I browse the Internet?

    Just basic questions that drive you crazy when you know the problem lies with the exchange!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    529
    Quote Originally Posted by jardin View Post
    When I did, they dismissed the matter and blamed BT.

    What they said was they were updating something and I had to wait and see how things went.

    I had these problems well before any updates happened so when I phoned, the ticket was automatically dismissed.


    The support line is a laugh, I was asked these questions.

    What version of windows do I use?
    Am I using Micro Filters?
    Can I browse the Internet?

    Just basic questions that drive you crazy when you know the problem lies with the exchange!
    Is there like a cable provider close to you? If so switch to them. That's pretty bad.

  14. #14
    Yeah BT is the UK Provider

    Having trouble getting a Mac code from o2

  15. #15
    Just off the phone, 30 mins it took this time.

    I requested my MAC code, going to switch to BT.

    Price difference

    o2 active package - £22.07
    BT option 2 unlimited - £24

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    1,323
    Quote Originally Posted by FS - Mike View Post
    I haven't been having any problems with O2 Broadband, just changed from BT and there's been a great difference. Better uptime, faster connection and it's cheaper .

    For the pings, I'm getting around 23-25ms to bbc and around 28-30ms to Google.co.uk (105ish to Google.com).
    Just wanted to say I also get about the same as this, as of right now - 22ms to bbc.co.uk, 33ms to google.co.uk.

    Been with o2 Home Broadband a couple of months now, connection speed has doubled since moving from our previous ISP (Sky).
    Fast download speeds, as of yet no noticeable downtime.

    jardin, sorry to hear you've had a bad experience with them - they've been nothing but perfect for me, far better than Sky ever were.
    Plus, I get the first 3 months free, it's £7.34/month thereafter (as i'm an o2 customer) and I will be receiving £50 cash-back via Quidco.

  17. #17
    Thanks,

    I hope when I move to BT, I get no problems, fingers crossed.

Similar Threads

  1. Blonde Joke (JOKE) :S
    By a-m in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-18-2004, 12:45 PM
  2. broadband ( mainly UK )
    By Bully in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 63
    Last Post: 04-27-2004, 03:47 PM
  3. JOKE: Possibly the funnyiest joke!
    By Stephen in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-05-2003, 04:36 PM
  4. I need this broadband
    By ned patter in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 08-12-2002, 10:42 AM
  5. Broadband
    By Darth in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-27-2002, 04:02 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •