Testing out a colo provider - do you colo a low end machine first?

I'm wondering about colocation but weary of sending a server that's valued at $2k+ to a facility I've never used before.

What do you do to "test" out a colo facility? Do you send them a less expensive machine to test them out?

Do you buy insurance for the system you're colocating?

Or do you just send them the server and hope all works out?
    Upload Guardian 2 - Malicious Upload Scanner - Windows and Linux!
    Instantly scan uploaded files
    Get notified when released

I never colo at a place without visiting it. Talk to the staff and owners. If they want your business, they have to show you they are a solid operation.

Agreed 100%

Its very hard to verify that the colo operation is doing what they are supposed to do. All they can give you is a comfort level that they know what they are doing. Does it look like a professional operation? Does they look like they are hurting for money? Does it look like their staff run around "willy nilly" or are they following procedures?
    Jordan Jacobs | VP, Products|SingleHop| JJ @SingleHop.com
    Managed Dedicated Servers | Bare-Metal Servers | Cloud Services

2k system ?? whats the specs.

I dont think you have to worry about it. Just make sure you visit the center and see how they operate first. If anything happens to the system you are protected by law.(Well if you reside in the USA). Also it might be cheaper for you to rent a server because servers of that price deappreciate very quickly.

Try getting a small monthly basic plan like a VPS or low end dedicated. The problems with shipping a low end server are A) you have to own two servers, risking one anyway and B) The shipping starts to add up.
    BudgetVM - The Virtualization Experts
    Mike Gazzerro, Account Manager
    Chicago, Miami, Dallas, Los Angeles
    Wholly owned by Enzu Inc., an Inc500 Company.