cPanel replacement, with more control over software?

Well, I have already made a post here somewhat related to this subject, however my needs and the purpose of this thread have changed quite a bit.

I'm moving over to Limestone, and I'd like to start with a fresh slate... I've been using cPanel for well over 3 years, and while it's good, I have a few issues that I want to resolve and features I need:
    • I want to be able to control what versions of Apache, PHP, and MySQL are being used. PHP 5.3 has been out for what, 4 months? And cPanel has yet to support it... This is not acceptable given my needs.
    • I'd like to be able to install subversion, trac, bugzilla, and other things along those lines, without it being a pain like it is on cPanel... I spent well over 6 hours trying to install them, only to find out that there's a cPanel addon that installs it (SVN and Trac at least) per-account for you... With a year+ out of date version of Trac.
    • Easy account setup.
    • Easy account control... Without exposing the server. This is the one thing cPanel does extremely well that I hate to give up.
    • No feature bloat - cPanel has a huge amount of features... That's nice, but I honestly have only ever needed to use a small percentage of them.

I'm not really sure what else to say - I really just need something that is cPanel in terms of allowing people to control their own account (Domain(s), mail, mysql, stats, etc.), but still lets me control what software I'm running.

Right now I'm looking at DirectAdmin and ISPConfig, but I'm not sure if either lets me control the software, or would be possible to install SVN, Trac, bugzilla, and other software easily (And properly).

Is there anyone out there with similar needs as me, who has used something other than cPanel to allow users to manage their own accounts? Any control panel suggestions, or your mileage with the two I listed would help me out a lot.

Direct Admin is powerful control panel and its cheap