hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : VPS Hosting : How to install VPS ?
Reply

Forum Jump

How to install VPS ?

Reply Post New Thread In VPS Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2009, 02:53 PM
Pamir Rocker Pamir Rocker is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 30

How to install VPS ?


Dear All, Kind Regards


I have bought Dell Optiplex 760 and i would like to in stall Virtual Private Server (VPS) on it.. can anybody please tell me step by step tutorial to install VPS in my computer and have my own webserver?

thx in advance



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-04-2009, 03:33 PM
linuxissues linuxissues is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /bin/sh
Posts: 814
Any reason you need to make a vps on the box? Why not just use the whole box as a webserver?

Anyways, you can use vmware, virtualbox, proxmox, xenserver, etc etc, depending on what you have and what you need..

Google for each of those terms and you'll find tons of information.

  #3  
Old 11-04-2009, 03:39 PM
Pamir Rocker Pamir Rocker is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 30
to be honest i want to have/run my own cpanel+whm in server. and how could i install it via these mentioned software? are they manually install VPS for me? please more exploitation for me..!!!

thx

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 11-04-2009, 03:48 PM
Jacob Wall Jacob Wall is offline
Think big, and discover! :)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pamir Rocker View Post
to be honest i want to have/run my own cpanel+whm in server. and how could i install it via these mentioned software? are they manually install VPS for me? please more exploitation for me..!!!

thx
You can just install cPanel by yourself without setting up your box as a vps node.


# wget http://layer1.cpanel.net/latest
# sh latest


ip:2086
login
follow directions
PROFIT!

__________________
Jacob Wall - Steadfast: Dedicated Servers and Premium Colocation
jacob @ steadfast.net - AIM: steadfastjacob - Sales/Support: 312-602-2689
2 Data Centers and 20,000+ sqft. in Chicago (350 E Cermak) + New Jersey Data Center
Cloud Hosting, Managed Dedicated Servers, Chicago Colocation, and New York Colocation

  #5  
Old 11-04-2009, 04:00 PM
Pamir Rocker Pamir Rocker is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 30
well.. i have windows 2003 Enterprise Edition installed on my box.. so from which source i can install Cpanel and WHM in my box? please some more details on it


thanks

  #6  
Old 11-04-2009, 04:04 PM
kdmitchell kdmitchell is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 135
Installing Cpanel on the server does not make it a virtual hosting environment. T do this, you need to install virtual server application. You can try VMware's Server 2;

http://www.vmware.com/beta/server/

Install that, then all you need to do is either create a VM server using your favor of Linux or download one that is already created images;

http://www.thoughtpolice.co.uk/vmware/

  #7  
Old 11-04-2009, 04:06 PM
Jacob Wall Jacob Wall is offline
Think big, and discover! :)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pamir Rocker View Post
well.. i have windows 2003 Enterprise Edition installed on my box.. so from which source i can install Cpanel and WHM in my box? please some more details on it


thanks
You would need to get either Windows Server 2008 *or* use VMWAre or another alternative.


Only linux & windows 2k8 is supported by cPanel. cPanel for 2k8 just came out so be careful using it.

__________________
Jacob Wall - Steadfast: Dedicated Servers and Premium Colocation
jacob @ steadfast.net - AIM: steadfastjacob - Sales/Support: 312-602-2689
2 Data Centers and 20,000+ sqft. in Chicago (350 E Cermak) + New Jersey Data Center
Cloud Hosting, Managed Dedicated Servers, Chicago Colocation, and New York Colocation

  #8  
Old 11-04-2009, 04:10 PM
kdmitchell kdmitchell is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pamir Rocker View Post
well.. i have windows 2003 Enterprise Edition installed on my box.. so from which source i can install Cpanel and WHM in my box? please some more details on it


thanks
Follow the linux's i've posted in my reply above this one. Download VMware server and install it and then download one of the Linux images and apply it in Vmware Server. Then you just SSH into the Linux server (Virtual Server that you've made) and install CPanel in there.

Once you do that, you've made your very first Cpanel hosted VM server.

Good Luck!

  #9  
Old 11-04-2009, 04:17 PM
Pamir Rocker Pamir Rocker is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 30
thank you so much guys for reply.

i am downloading them and will install.. and i will let you guys know about it
I am downloading VMware Server 2 with CentOS 5.3. is it good for my dell system??? and is it call VPS server after i install them?

thx once agian and sorry for taking your time

  #10  
Old 11-10-2009, 04:32 PM
kdmitchell kdmitchell is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 135
Hello Pamir,

How did you make out with your VPS? Curious to see what you went with and how you made out.

Later.

__________________
Keith Mitchell,Dedicated & Virtual Server Engineer,Hosting.com
Check out my Technical Blog - Keithdmitchell.com

  #11  
Old 11-11-2009, 12:12 AM
FCservers FCservers is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Turkey / Izmir
Posts: 10
Recommend you to install proxmox on debian.

  #12  
Old 11-11-2009, 12:45 AM
Pamir Rocker Pamir Rocker is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 30
Dear KDMITCHELL

I have exams but i will install it this weekend for you.. thx you guys for help and support

i will update all once i done installations


Thx

  #13  
Old 11-17-2009, 10:50 PM
Pamir Rocker Pamir Rocker is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 30
hey guys, finally after 2 weeks i get time and install it.. now i am trying to install the cpanel but it give me the following error: resolving layer1.cpanel.net... failed: Name or service not known

can any body tell me how to solve this issue?

thanks in advance

  #14  
Old 11-17-2009, 10:52 PM
Jacob Wall Jacob Wall is offline
Think big, and discover! :)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pamir Rocker View Post
hey guys, finally after 2 weeks i get time and install it.. now i am trying to install the cpanel but it give me the following error: resolving layer1.cpanel.net... failed: Name or service not known

can any body tell me how to solve this issue?

thanks in advance
# nano /etc/resolv.conf

(If that doesn't work do yum -y install nano)


Then make it say
Quote:
nameserver 4.2.2.2
nameserver 4.2.2.3

__________________
Jacob Wall - Steadfast: Dedicated Servers and Premium Colocation
jacob @ steadfast.net - AIM: steadfastjacob - Sales/Support: 312-602-2689
2 Data Centers and 20,000+ sqft. in Chicago (350 E Cermak) + New Jersey Data Center
Cloud Hosting, Managed Dedicated Servers, Chicago Colocation, and New York Colocation

  #15  
Old 11-17-2009, 11:13 PM
ControlVM ControlVM is offline
We Love XenŽ Hypervisor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pamir Rocker View Post
hey guys, finally after 2 weeks i get time and install it.. now i am trying to install the cpanel but it give me the following error: resolving layer1.cpanel.net... failed: Name or service not known

can any body tell me how to solve this issue?

thanks in advance
You can set your resolver in cpanel/whm. the ips should come from your provider or datacenter.

__________________
ControlVM Technology
SSD KVM VPSForex VPSXen VPS Hosted PBX ● Hosted VoIP VPS
6 Data Centers: USA (Los Angeles - - Kansas City - - Phoenix) ● Germany Malaysia Singapore


Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
centos:apache,php, yum install or source install? cchere Hosting Security and Technology 2 08-29-2006 05:14 PM
Server Tech / Support /Hlds Install / mod install seeknstrike Employment / Job Offers 0 05-05-2005 10:46 PM
Quick Job:Fix new install of Qmail and SquirrelMail or install new Mail Server - $10 LucasVN Employment / Job Offers 6 03-08-2005 04:17 AM
trying to install plesk.. psa version check install aborted kalistor Hosting Software and Control Panels 0 01-21-2005 11:39 AM
Install request. Install TomCat on my Plesk server for $$! universal2001 Employment / Job Offers 6 09-04-2002 11:46 PM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Tweet that Claims the US Government Wants to Ban Bitcoin Actually Spreading Malware Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 13:57:57
Veterans Website, IE 10 Users Targeted in Possible Attempt to Steal Military Secrets Web Hosting News 2014-02-14 13:36:54
Arvixe Partners with SiteApps for SMB App Marketplace Web Hosting News 2014-05-01 08:22:20
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup - November 8, 2013 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:42:41
Verio Europe Replaces FreeBSD Hosting Solution with Linux Shared Hosting Web Hosting News 2013-08-22 08:34:35


Tags
how to install vps, install vps, vps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?