Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Exclamation Giga-International.com DNS Failure Problems

    Hi there,

    I am facing problems with 4 of my servers

    They cannot resolved hostname DNS

    For example

    [[email protected] ~]# ping www.google.com
    ping: unknown host www.google.com
    [[email protected] ~]#

    [[email protected] ~]# ping www.google.com
    [[email protected] ~]# traceroute www.google.com
    www.google.com: Temporary failure in name resolution
    [[email protected] ~]#

    [[email protected] ~]# traceroute 209.85.129.147
    traceroute to 209.85.129.147 (209.85.129.147), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
    Unable to look up 91.194.90.1: Temporary failure in name resolution
    1 91.194.90.1 0.219 ms 1.270 ms 0.197 ms
    Unable to look up 93.104.204.33: Temporary failure in name resolution
    2 93.104.204.33 0.722 ms 1.703 ms 0.666 ms
    Unable to look up 212.18.6.110: Temporary failure in name resolution
    3 212.18.6.110 0.637 ms 0.657 ms 1.110 ms
    Unable to look up 194.59.190.61: Temporary failure in name resolution
    4 194.59.190.61 70.601 ms 69.473 ms 62.710 ms
    Unable to look up 66.249.94.86: Temporary failure in name resolution
    Unable to look up 66.249.94.88: Temporary failure in name resolution
    5 66.249.94.86 2.048 ms 1.984 ms 66.249.94.88 0.705 ms
    Unable to look up 209.85.248.249: Temporary failure in name resolution
    Unable to look up 72.14.233.107: Temporary failure in name resolution
    6 209.85.248.249 9.087 ms 72.14.233.107 9.363 ms 9.954 ms
    Unable to look up 72.14.232.203: Temporary failure in name resolution
    Unable to look up 72.14.232.165: Temporary failure in name resolution
    7 72.14.232.203 8.672 ms 8.370 ms 72.14.232.165 10.434 ms
    Unable to look up 72.14.239.170: Temporary failure in name resolution
    Unable to look up 72.14.233.210: Temporary failure in name resolution
    8 72.14.239.170 14.446 ms 72.14.233.210 12.574 ms 9.609 ms
    Unable to look up 209.85.129.147: Temporary failure in name resolution
    9 209.85.129.147 10.858 ms 10.048 ms 11.172 ms

    [[email protected] ~]# traceroute www.google.com
    www.google.com: Temporary failure in name resolution
    [[email protected] ~]#

    [[email protected] ~]# ping www.google.com
    ping: unknown host www.google.com
    [[email protected] ~]#

    The DNS ip still can be ping if i changed the hostname into numeric ip address

    [email protected] ~]# ping 209.85.129.147
    PING 209.85.129.147 (209.85.129.147) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 209.85.129.147: icmp_seq=1 ttl=55 time=9.56 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.129.147: icmp_seq=2 ttl=55 time=10.7 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.129.147: icmp_seq=3 ttl=55 time=9.79 ms
    64 bytes from 209.85.129.147: icmp_seq=4 ttl=55 time=8.05 ms

    --- 209.85.129.147 ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 2999ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 8.055/9.541/10.752/0.966 ms
    [[email protected] ~]#

    However one of my server and still working on nicely with no problems

    [[email protected] ~]# ping www.google.com
    PING www.l.google.com (209.85.129.103) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from fk-in-f103.1e100.net (209.85.129.103): icmp_seq=1 ttl=55 time=8.26 ms
    64 bytes from fk-in-f103.1e100.net (209.85.129.103): icmp_seq=2 ttl=55 time=9.48 ms
    64 bytes from fk-in-f103.1e100.net (209.85.129.103): icmp_seq=3 ttl=55 time=8.05 ms

    --- www.l.google.com ping statistics ---
    3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 1999ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 8.059/8.600/9.480/0.632 ms

    [[email protected] ~]# traceroute www.google.com
    traceroute to www.google.com (209.85.129.147), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
    1 gw.giga-dns.com (91.194.90.1) 0.323 ms 0.330 ms 0.396 ms
    2 host-93-104-204-33.customer.m-online.net (93.104.204.33) 0.692 ms 0.789 ms 0.887 ms
    3 ge-1-3-0.rt-inxs.m-online.net (212.18.6.110) 0.756 ms 0.830 ms 0.892 ms
    4 inxs.google.com (194.59.190.61) 0.734 ms 0.746 ms 0.777 ms
    5 66.249.94.88 (66.249.94.88) 0.740 ms 0.769 ms 0.663 ms
    6 209.85.248.249 (209.85.248.249) 8.029 ms 7.998 ms 8.144 ms
    7 72.14.232.201 (72.14.232.201) 20.406 ms 20.459 ms 20.498 ms
    8 72.14.239.170 (72.14.239.170) 9.985 ms 72.14.233.210 (72.14.233.210) 9.721 ms 9.712 ms
    9 fk-in-f147.1e100.net (209.85.129.147) 9.556 ms 9.277 ms 8.074 ms
    [[email protected] ~]#

    Anyway ticket has been issued to them and still waiting for reply.

    Just curious if anybody else face the same problems as i didn't not play around with my DNS servers at all.

    How to fix this problems?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    274
    You really shouldn't rely on your host for dns resolution. It's so easy, painless and uses no resources to run your own.

    If you want to install your own nameserver do the following: (assuming your configuration wouldn't be broken by it. You may already be running a nameserver and just not using it. I thought almost all linux distributions this day in age install bind with the minimum installation. You can check if it's already installed by typing "rpm -qa | grep named")

    type "yum install caching-nameserver bind"

    in /etc/resolv.conf file remove all lines and insert "nameserver 127.0.0.1" (without quotes)

    start the name server "/etc/init.d/named start" and make sure it starts at boot "chkconfig named on"

    and you're fixed.

  3. #3
    I have checked the server that currently working

    The nameserver ip is

    91.194.90.11

    While others 4 is

    Using 193.164.131.12

    So if i just edit this line and change to this one would it effect?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    274
    Copy and paste your full resolv.conf file please

    If one of their servers still works then yes, you can delete all other entries and simply put "nameserver 1.2.3.4" (replace 1.2.3.4 with the ip of the working nameserver obviously). Save the file and it should start working again right away (as long as the new nameserver in resolv.conf is indeed working).

  5. #5
    Only this single line

    nameserver 193.164.131.12

    And the other one server is working with DNS is

    91.194.90.11

    I just afraid if i changed this i cannot ssh anymore into the server

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    274
    If the other server is at giga-international you could definitely give it a try. Worst case, Just run your own name server like I said before and you won't ever have to worry about this ever again.

  7. #7
    Thank you bro problem fixed :-) just edit the resolv.conf and put the second ip in the second line for the nameserver

    nameserver 193.164.131.12
    nameserver 91.194.90.11

Similar Threads

  1. Anybody Here Using Giga-International XL Servers Problems?
    By darkjedi in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 08-08-2009, 01:34 PM
  2. have you used giga-international?
    By arya6000 in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-22-2008, 11:10 PM
  3. Giga-hosting / Giga-international sluggish support
    By f5inet in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-29-2008, 10:02 AM
  4. giga-international
    By rahuldevra in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-15-2007, 11:23 AM
  5. Giga-international: When will my HDD available?
    By sumirecccp in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-27-2007, 10:04 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •