Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Bandwidth limit

  1. #1

    Bandwidth limit

    I am going to run a VPS as a VPN proxy server and therefore I was asking myself if it is possible to freeze or shut down the VPS before it exceeds it bandwidth limit of 100GB a month?

    Does anyone have a solution for this issue?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    852
    Hello,

    Depends where you have sourced your VPS from, some provider's control panels will suspend your VPS once it reaches the bandwidth limit, where some will charge you for the extra bandwidth.

    It would be best to contact your provider and ask them, if they can limit it for you.
    ZXPlay
    Premium Virtual Private Servers | Dedicated Media Streaming Servers
    Dedicated Resources | EU Based
    www.zxplay.co.uk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    632
    you could use some traffic monitoring software, such as vnstat, however i think it does not support halt on traffic exceeded, but you could implement that yourself.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Labrador, Canada
    Posts
    951
    Quote Originally Posted by xtrac568 View Post
    you could use some traffic monitoring software, such as vnstat, however i think it does not support halt on traffic exceeded, but you could implement that yourself.
    Hey, that's what I was thinking

    vnstat is a bandwidth monitoring program that runs as a cronjob every 5 minutes, collecting transfer statistics. It would be pretty easy to write another script that reads vnstat's statistics and, if over a limit, inserts iptables rules to block all access except from your IP address. Then, run that script periodically as a cronjob.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    609
    That's something that a VPS provider could set up, i know it can be set to do that in SolusVM, but i haven't heard of a in VPS solution for doing this

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    819
    You could ask your host to suspend your VPS if you go over your allocated bandwidth. SolusVM has the feature. Although some VPS providers would simply have excess bandwidth fees.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,513
    You can use something like PRTG/MRTG to monitor the traffic on your network interfaces.
    Then they can eMail you out when a certain amount is exceeded.
    Unless you own the main server providing the vps, then you can install something like slousvm or veportal.
    - Buying up websites, side-projects and companies - PM Me! -

Similar Threads

  1. bandwidth limit ?
    By lkthomas in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 01-26-2005, 11:18 PM
  2. how to limit ftp bandwidth?
    By null in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-30-2002, 12:55 PM
  3. Bandwidth Limit & WHM
    By splashscreen in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-11-2002, 07:30 PM
  4. RaQ Bandwidth Limit?
    By mikeknoxv in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-14-2001, 08:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •