Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1

    Unitedcolo installed AMD and Xeon!

    they now added in AMD into the professional
    and a XEON plan!

    i hope their *fake* plan will still let us buy!!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    521
    Hmm just noticed they have 120GB in their $199 servers instead of 100GB now. Not that I've had much need for the 100GB on any of my corporate servers but I guess it's nice.

  3. #3
    Hi,

    Sorry, but the $49 servers are still not available. We sold several
    hundreds of these boxes in September and our board just want to take
    breather for awhile.


    Best Regards,


    Customer Support Team
    United Colocation Group
    www.unitedcolo.com
    their responses....took 10mins

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    900
    I think I'd rather have the Celeron 1.7 instead of the Duron.

    The Xeon server looks awesome, just a little expensive

    Also, 5000GB That is insane.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    521
    Yeah the Xeons look pretty awesome, maybe I should trade in a few of my corporates for one

    5000GB on a 160GB HD really is insane... I'm still at a loss as what to do with all the 100GB HDs (and the 120GB HD on the server I bought yesterday) and the 1000's of gigs of transfer on my servers. (I think i use about 50GB transfer per month on each server lol.)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    677
    Looks like a good deal =) .. my experience with unitedcolo is that they do have the pipe for it.

  7. #7
    if only they could get stable and not go down so often =]
    * Rusko Enterprises LLC - Upgrade to 100% uptime today!
    * Premium NYC collocation and custom dedicated servers
    call 1-877-MY-RUSKO or paul [at] rusko.us

    dedicated servers, collocation, load balanced and high availability clusters

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,926
    if only they could get stable and not go down so often =]
    Only reason they've been going down as far as I know is the now very rare DOS attack. Last time it happened I think they pulled a few of the servers as they were sick of it happening. 2000 GB on their $199 plan now, very generous. Pitty they haven't raised the traffic limit on the $99 plan, not that I need it, but it just feels better
    Proud member of the RIAA closed quaters combat cell !!!
    You'd better drop that CD-R before I shoot you !!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,100
    Sweet

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    677
    Well the only issue I have isn't the downtime (cos I know DDOS can't really be prevented. never know where the psychos are). It really is the way they change their mind so often. In my short 1 month with them, it happens a few times. For all your know, the 100mbit becomes 20mbit tommorrow

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,926
    The 100 MBIT became 10 MBIT. They have told a few people round here that they don't use 100 MBIT ports anymore. Good point though, how is one going to push 5000 GB out of a 10 MBIT port. It would suggest they have changed their policies again, which would make little sense.
    Proud member of the RIAA closed quaters combat cell !!!
    You'd better drop that CD-R before I shoot you !!!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    677
    Tazzman. for the 5TB plan, they stated specifically that it is 100mbit port Now... however it is possible to push 5TB out of 20mbit (not 10mbit) so I used 20mbit as an example.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    268
    RedHat Linux 8.0, FreeBSD 4.7, Debian or Slackware.
    Processors: Intel Dual (2) Xeon 2.4GHz w/512K Cache.
    Memory: 1GB ECC SDRAM.
    Hard Drive: IBM 160GB EIDE 7200RPM.

    I am drooling


  14. #14
    RedHat Linux 8.0, FreeBSD 4.7, Debian or Slackware.
    Processor: AMD Duron 1.2GHz.
    Memory: 128MB ECC SDRAM.
    Hard Drive: IBM 40GB EIDE 7200RPM.


    Interesting, server specs changed but still NO STOCK

  15. #15
    Looks like they changed their colo offer as well!

    $50/month for 500GB and 1u. Or did I interpret that incorrectly? You never know with UCG!

    http://www.unitedcolo.com/colocation.htm

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,700
    Xeon's are now in stock.

  17. #17
    Yes, that is correct.

    The one thing I wish they did, was allow addons to servers. Or do they already allow you to add more RAM, SCSI HD instead of IDE, etc..?
    Domain Software, LLC.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,258
    Yea, dual Xeon and a single IDE drive seems pretty funny to me. If you're going to fork out for Xeon's, you'd prob. want SCSI drive(s).

    Frank
    Umbra Hosting
    cPanel | Softaculous | CloudLinux | R1Soft | Ksplice
    Web Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS, Dedicated Servers, Colocation
    UmbraHosting.com

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    900
    Upgrades can be found here:

    http://www.unitedcolo.com/support.htm

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •