hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : VPS Hosting : Specs for a VPS beginner
Reply

Forum Jump

Specs for a VPS beginner

Reply Post New Thread In VPS Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2009, 11:51 AM
strider96 strider96 is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 53

Specs for a VPS beginner


Hi!

I was thinking about renting a VPS but I have no idea what kind of specs I'm looking for.

I have been using a reseller account but now I feel that im ready for a VPS.

So if you guys can help me with what specs to go for.
My company provides hosting for heavy-duty projects. Like schools or councils and so on.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-25-2009, 11:53 AM
alex-developer alex-developer is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,533
Quote:
Specs for a VPS beginner
a full managed service with pro-active monitoring will be the best specs for a VPS beginner.

__________________
UK Professional Web Development & Web Hosting/VPS solutions at web-project.co.uk
VPS Price Match Guarantee on: All our range of DDOS protected OpenVZ & XEN VPS
== Contact us for any online solution development ==

  #3  
Old 10-25-2009, 11:55 AM
strider96 strider96 is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 53
What's pro-active monitoring?

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 10-25-2009, 12:20 PM
alex-developer alex-developer is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,533
pro-active monitoring - your VPS monitor by system admins for any problems, if some problems appear they will be fixed without asking you.

Quote:
The benefits to proactive monitoring your systems and networks are:

* Find problems before they happen.
* Ensure backups are working properly.
* Asset inventory including hardware and software audits.
* Monitor event logs and services.

__________________
UK Professional Web Development & Web Hosting/VPS solutions at web-project.co.uk
VPS Price Match Guarantee on: All our range of DDOS protected OpenVZ & XEN VPS
== Contact us for any online solution development ==

  #5  
Old 10-25-2009, 12:24 PM
ControlVM ControlVM is offline
We Love Xen® Hypervisor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3,131
I'd suggest:

Minimum requirement
25GB
384MB/512MB RAM
450GB Bandwidth (normally never more than this traffic!)
2 ips for your nameservers
cPanel or DirectAdmin for easy account mgt (if you not family with shell command)
fully managed

Cheers!

__________________
ControlVM Technology
SSD KVM VPSXen VPSForex VPS Hosted PBX / VoIP VPS ● IP Cam VPS
6 Locations: USA (Los Angeles - - Kansas City - - Phoenix) ● Germany Malaysia Singapore


  #6  
Old 10-26-2009, 12:51 AM
NeilAgg NeilAgg is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 333
I think Jeff has a good baseline, but it is really hard to say what you need without a better understanding of what you are going to be running on the VPS. If it is something new, it is going to have to be guesstimates. If it is exsiting, there should be stats available from the current host.


Last edited by Mike V; 10-26-2009 at 01:26 AM.
  #7  
Old 10-26-2009, 01:18 AM
TheServerExperts TheServerExperts is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,570
Hello strider96,

If your new to VPS, i would recommend you getting an managed vps server.

This will ease things for you a lot.

Cheers

__________________
http://www.screwattack.com (games review)

  #8  
Old 10-26-2009, 11:03 AM
strider96 strider96 is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 53
Thanks!

All of you, I knew what kind of storage and bandwidth but I don't get what the RAM or the processor has to do with it?

I understand the whole thing about computer architecture but when it goes on to server I just find the some of the components being used on my computer shouldn't matter.

  #9  
Old 10-26-2009, 11:09 AM
NeilAgg NeilAgg is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 333
Well, if you dont think you need much in terms of CPU and RAM, then any VPS service will do. But, if you are doing anything that consumes CPU or RAM, you better make sure your VPS has enough to do what you need.

  #10  
Old 10-26-2009, 11:13 AM
strider96 strider96 is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 53
What type of stuff will make my Ram or CPU usage consume more and is there a way to control them?

  #11  
Old 10-26-2009, 11:18 AM
NeilAgg NeilAgg is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 333
That depends on what you are doing with the server. Everything you do take a little bit of CPU cycles and RAM. If your application does a lot of calculations or processes a lot of requests, that will take up CPU. If your application access a bunch of data or has many simultaneous things going on, that will consume RAM.

Give us some details of what you are using the server for and we might be able to shed better light on it.

  #12  
Old 10-26-2009, 11:20 AM
webilly webilly is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 74
What thing you will do on your VPS? What it would be? Forum? Portal?

  #13  
Old 10-26-2009, 11:24 AM
strider96 strider96 is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by webilly View Post
What thing you will do on your VPS? What it would be? Forum? Portal?
Well it's for a exiting company. We provide services to Schools and some NHS websites and some Council Sites...

So we tend to be under heavy bandwidth consumption...

  #14  
Old 10-26-2009, 11:28 AM
cristibighea cristibighea is offline
Custom Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,602
That doesn't actually say anything. What exactly are you running? What do "services" do you provide, which are so bandwidth intensive?

__________________
478east
High Bandwidth Servers
Custom Hosting Solutions

  #15  
Old 10-26-2009, 11:29 AM
VirtualSRV VirtualSRV is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 183
If you already have had a reseller account you probably already used WHM/cPanel. I suggest going with a WHM/cPanel powered VPS and invest the money in resources instead of management.

__________________
VirtualSRV.com
|Affordable Prices|Premium Hardware
|Instant Set Up|OpenVZ Virtualization
Visit Us! www.virtualsrv.com

Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help a beginner please... mike051987 Web Hosting 12 12-29-2008 08:21 AM
Beginner rjolly10 Web Hosting 18 01-14-2008 06:24 AM
Help out a beginner. th3count Running a Web Hosting Business 16 09-17-2004 12:05 AM
Beginner spyrou01 Web Hosting Lounge 7 04-20-2004 06:52 PM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Total Server Solutions Buys Its Second Web Host in Three Months: Hands-On Web Hosting Web Hosting News 2014-01-09 11:29:23
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup - September 20, 2013 Web Hosting News 2013-09-20 18:35:29
Five Rules for Moving to the Cloud Blog 2013-07-24 09:27:00
Inerol Solutions Launches XEN VPS Hosting Service Web Hosting News 2013-04-08 12:32:06
VPS Hosting Provider SolarVPS to Launch “Solar System” Management Tools in Beta Web Hosting News 2012-08-10 11:09:43


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?