Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008

    does mod-rewrite consume ram ??

    does mod-rewrite consume ram ??
    actually found in new vb discussion of seo friendly urls and mod rewrite was an option for most friendly url, so wanted to know if constant usage of mod-rewrite adds additional load to the server or not ??

    forum which I and my friends use are pretty big more than 6k in a forum and other above 25k, with 250k posts in 1 forum and 600k posts in the other, so just give me an idea on wat can happen due to constant overwritten ??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Kansas City, Missouri

    Any additional DSO (Dynamic Shared Object) will consume more RAM per apache process. This is usually a trivial amount of RAM unless you're using additional caching modules or other memory intensive modules.

    In your case, mod_rewrite may already be compiled in to your current running version. I would simply test it by adding the following to your .htaccess file:

    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteRule ^old\.html$ new.html
    If you make a request to old.html you should be rewritten to new.html.

    => Managed Hosting
    => Managed Hosting • Dedicated Servers • Colocation
    => Dark Fiber Access to 1102 Grand, Multiple Public Providers
    => Over •Sixteen• Years of Service

  3. #3
    It is so low amount of memory that is could be ignored.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Rocky Face, GA
    It's not going to be enough to bring the server down, though with a heavy-traffic website, I'd always suggest implementing some sort of caching such as xCache to cache frequently accessed content so that it doesn't have to be pulled from the database each page load unless the content has actually changed since the last load.
    Michael T. @ Resellr.Net - CEO
    The Premier Reseller Hosting Solution
    Visit Us @ Resellr.Net | Follow Resellr.Net on Twitter

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    The Netherlands
    mod_rewrite tends to be more CPU intensive than memory intensive, so you should be fine

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Though I will say that some of the vbseo software can increase the cpu usage quiet a bit. Most server owners would rather the cpu increase and more traffic though
    John W, CISSP, C|EH
    MS Information Security and Assurance - Server Administration and Security - Managed VPS and Dedicated Servers with VIP Service

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Jupiter, Florida
    such a small amount there is no reason for concern
    Barak Hosting
    Shared, VPS & Dedicated Hosting - Lunatic Support is what sets us apart

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    thanks for the clarification friends, so I can enable mod-rewrite happily

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Everything consumes CPU and memory. However, if you don't have thousands of different redirect rules, it will be just fine. It will make a similar effect like drinking a cup of water from sea... No one will notice there are less resources now Web Hosting - First class web hosting services.
    Boxbilling - Complete billing, invoicing and client management system.

Similar Threads

  1. how much RAM webmin will consume
    By onasre in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-30-2009, 07:48 AM
  2. resource consume
    By ICantRemember in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-13-2004, 09:43 AM
  3. Pay as you consume
    By netneurones in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-05-2003, 03:44 PM
  4. Bandwidth Consume By Forum
    By NTTDoCoMo in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-24-2003, 02:20 AM
  5. How much users consume traffic?
    By javafaq in forum Reseller Hosting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-26-2001, 04:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts