Your opinions on a new Hosting Management software

Hello everyone,

I am in the process of planning and designing a PHP based web host manager. Why? you may ask, well I keep asking myself this too. Firstly, I am a diehard web programmer and love a challenge and looking for a new project. Secondly, I believe there is little competition out there and whilst the likes of Plesk and CPanel are great, they could be a lot better.

Take Plesk for example, a typical unlimited domain licence with average features can set you back approx 500 per year. CPanel is currently $425 per year. I believe the CPanel price is more realistic but Plesk as a product feels more robust.

My product will be written in PHP 5+ using a modern PHP framework, can fully configure web services (http, mail, ftp, mysql, postgresql, dns, firewall etc.) and have a powerful reseller/client management system that can limit/restrict bandwidth and resource usage. One of the other key features about my product would be each reseller can brand their and their clients control panel.

It would also work on all major Linux distros (currently thinking CentOS, Ubunutu, openSuSE, Fedora, Debian, Mint, Mandriva and FreeBSD) and I think a reasonable price for this would be the region of 180-250 per year.

What do people think of this concept? What do you like/dislike about Plesk/CPanel? As a reseller, what would you want out of a system that perhaps doesn't exist now?

Bay Area, CA
    2 things I wish I had in a control panel. SO far, directadmin comes closest to this: