Results 1 to 35 of 35
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39

    Need help with a problematic host (InMotion Hosting)

    Hi.

    My web site is down and my host refuses to help me. They pretend that everything is ok but I have tried from two different computers/ISP and I see the same "Method not implemented" message.

    Maybe somebody can look on my forum and see if it can browse it.

    But first, I don't want this post to be considered spam. So I need the permission of a moderator to post the link to my web site here. After few days the link can be removed so this post will definitivelly not be spam.

    I really need this to be public, to use it at proof for the so called "company" InMotion Hosting (probably a guy in a garage). As I said they charged me a lot of money and now they closed down my web site and pretend nothing is wrong.

    Thanks.


    Edit: I can also post an obfuscated link (like w w w . my site name . com ) instead of a direct link.
    Last edited by dotniet; 10-22-2009 at 09:00 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    1,179
    Please email me your forum link, I will see if it opens from Lithuania (info{eta}talonai{dot}com).
    However, http://www.inmotionhosting.com/ does not open form. Site down, company disappeared?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39
    I really hope they didn't ran with my money I hade quite a lot of problem with InMotion Hosting. Next year I will choose a better company. Actually what do you expect from a hosting company when their own web site is not working.

    They said they expeled my web site on a special server because I had an attack that took a lot a bandwidt EVEN THOUGH I purchased infinite badwidth and the current bandwidth consumption shows 1%. Now they ask $40 per month to move me on a more powerful server. Sinchronized with this even they 'arranged' my web site - probably because they don't want to consume more bandwidth.

    I will be glad if other users will ask the link. Until I get the first "not working" confirmation.

    I will send the link now. The borwsing will work for the first 4-5 pages then it will show the "501 not implemented" message and from that point it will not work at all. I think the forum is the one that you should try to browse.

    Thanks
    Last edited by dotniet; 10-22-2009 at 09:19 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39
    Found out how to reproduce the bug:

    I just open the browser in a new computer. The site worked and I navigated about 60 pages. But then I open a page on the forum and pressed down Control key while clicking rapidly about 8-9 links. All links open in new tabs (Firefox 3.5) but only 3 tabs were working. The last one display the 501 error. After this browsing the entire web site (not only the forum) is not working anymore. Not even after I restarted the browser. The experimetns can be repeared in IE 8.

    So open multiple tabs rapidly. Eventually the problem will show up.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ferenginar
    Posts
    4,156
    If you require the assistance of a moderator, please click report post.

    Enter your question/domain and wait for their reply.
    What's your budget?

    Seriously, what's your budget?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    843
    Quote Originally Posted by dotniet View Post
    Found out how to reproduce the bug:

    I just open the browser in a new computer. The site worked and I navigated about 60 pages. But then I open a page on the forum and pressed down Control key while clicking rapidly about 8-9 links. All links open in new tabs (Firefox 3.5) but only 3 tabs were working. The last one display the 501 error. After this browsing the entire web site (not only the forum) is not working anymore. Not even after I restarted the browser. The experimetns can be repeared in IE 8.

    So open multiple tabs rapidly. Eventually the problem will show up.
    you can pm too so that i can check it for you
    HostNotch Hosting Services 99.9% uptime Shared Hosting, Reseller Hosting
    yajur | Sales Team
    CPanel Hosting • R1 Soft • Offsite-Backup • Great Uptime
    http://hostnotch.com sales @ hostnotch.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,882
    Quote Originally Posted by maniakaz View Post
    P
    However, http://www.inmotionhosting.com/ does not open form. Site down, company disappeared?
    It is loading fine from my end.

  8. #8
    You say your site suffered from an attack. Did you check to see if your forum was compromised? A 501 error means the server doesn't understand or does not support HTTP method it finds in the HTTP data stream sent to it by a client, which would be YOUR web browser.

    -> Have you checked your local computer for malware?
    Sphere Web Hosting, LLC.
    █ Experience our Contagious Support™ and 100% Uptime SLA
    We don't just provide support, we care about your success - it's just the way we do things!
    █ Make your life a little easier and visit http://www.spherewebhosting.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by SphereWebHosting View Post
    -> Have you checked your local computer for malware?
    There are 3 computers now showing the problem. One on linux (corporation style security measures). I cannot have the same problem on three different computers, in two different city.

    ----------------------------

    Where is the PM button on this forum ????

  10. #10
    Click on the username and then "Send a private message to"
    Sphere Web Hosting, LLC.
    █ Experience our Contagious Support™ and 100% Uptime SLA
    We don't just provide support, we care about your success - it's just the way we do things!
    █ Make your life a little easier and visit http://www.spherewebhosting.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by SphereWebHosting View Post
    Click on the username and then "Send a private message to"
    Exactly . Where is that button? Usually it is right next to the user's name. But I don't see it.

  12. #12
    I think you need a few more posts before you can use the PM feature. Check the forum rules.
    Sphere Web Hosting, LLC.
    █ Experience our Contagious Support™ and 100% Uptime SLA
    We don't just provide support, we care about your success - it's just the way we do things!
    █ Make your life a little easier and visit http://www.spherewebhosting.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by SphereWebHosting View Post
    I think you need a few more posts before you can use the PM feature. Check the forum rules.
    Yep. I was afraid of that.

    I see that moderators are not activelly manifest agains posting that link. So I will post the link, but obfuscated, to be on the safe side:

    BioniX Wallpaper dot com (please remove all spaces).

    Add '/forum' to that address if you want to go directly to the forum.


    When you try to browse the forum, hold control down and click 7-8 links rapidly (not the same link). The last tabs should display the 501 error.

    Thanks.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    EU - east side
    Posts
    21,913
    But then I open a page on the forum and pressed down Control key while clicking rapidly about 8-9 links.
    Opening so many files in rapid succession probably triggers a security rule or a CPU usage rule to go into effect. If you're on one of their cheapest packages, the limits are probably on the severe side. They seem to be pushing their Business class packages quite a bit.

    I see that moderators are not activelly manifest agains posting that link.
    We can usually understand the difference between spam and a reasonable need to post an URL.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    969
    Quote Originally Posted by dotniet View Post
    Yep. I was afraid of that.

    I see that moderators are not activelly manifest agains posting that link. So I will post the link, but obfuscated, to be on the safe side:

    BioniX Wallpaper dot com (please remove all spaces).

    Add '/forum' to that address if you want to go directly to the forum.


    When you try to browse the forum, hold control down and click 7-8 links rapidly (not the same link). The last tabs should display the 501 error.

    Thanks.
    Your website and forum works perfectly fine for me, though I guess I didn't open them in tabs as fast as you would like.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,882
    Quote Originally Posted by ItsJustHosting View Post
    Your website and forum works perfectly fine for me, though I guess I didn't open them in tabs as fast as you would like.
    Same from my end. Loading fine.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by ldcdc View Post
    Opening so many files in rapid succession probably triggers a security rule or a CPU usage rule to go into effect. If you're on one of their cheapest packages, the limits are probably on the severe side. They seem to be pushing their Business class packages quite a bit.
    It may be like you said. But the guy from support insists that he sees no reason to that behavior, negating your possible explanation. Probably he is a totally non tech guy reading and answering from a predefined FAQ list
    I have the error in two (three now) different systems, on two different browsers. I know 100% that is not an end-user error!

    Screenshot of what I see: my web site address plus this: /error_inmotionhosting.png




    Quote Originally Posted by ldcdc View Post
    We can usually understand the difference between spam and a reasonable need to post an URL.
    Well, previously I have tried to do the same thing on a forum called Softpedia and they instantly deleted the post even though my post was not advertising porn or viagra . I just wanted to discuss it with other people (this is why we have forums right?).
    Weak people panic when they see a simple link: "oh my god, the spam is upon us"
    Thank you very much for support.
    Last edited by dotniet; 10-22-2009 at 01:31 PM.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    EU - east side
    Posts
    21,913
    I tried to replicate the error opening subforums and then threads, but no success. Maybe I'm not fast enough.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    1,179
    The website adress here
    Mods - if this link is against the rules, please delete it. It's not advertising, just to make sure people will know what forum we are talking about.

    As I wrote - opened in multi-tabs (ctrl open). Everything works fine. It may be a problem of your PC or ISP.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,882
    Quote Originally Posted by ldcdc View Post
    I tried to replicate the error opening subforums and then threads, but no success. Maybe I'm not fast enough.
    I thinks I tried with my maximum speed to open multiple tabs. 4 of us failed until now.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by maniakaz View Post
    It may be a problem of your PC or ISP.
    Told you: three different computers in two different cities. Two on Windows one on Linux. It can't be the same error everywhere! The ISP is deutsche telekom and ewetel. It is impossible to the the same error!

    I would go for the explanation given by ldcdc:
    Opening so many files in rapid succession probably triggers a security rule or a CPU usage rule to go into effect. If you're on one of their cheapest packages, the limits are probably on the severe side. They seem to be pushing their Business class packages quite a bit.
    This would explain why initially I HAVE ALSO SEEN the web site, then after opening multiple tabs I couldn't, not even after I restarted the computers. Probably they put my IP in a firewall.
    Last edited by dotniet; 10-22-2009 at 02:35 PM.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39
    Finally we are getting somewhere: this is what they answered:

    Hello,

    Thank you for getting back to me. Mod_Security is actually a server side application that we have installed that prevents sites from getting hacked. It is possible that Mod_Security is seeing your site as a threat hence shutting it off after X number of requests. Have you checked the code on your main page of the site to make sure its not making any strange requests?

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39
    I just reproduce the error in a new Windows XP laptop. I will just copy paste the email sent to host. Maybe somebody can try to click starting from that specific page.
    Sorry I cannot post the exact name of the threads where you should click, but as I have told you, once the error appears, I cannot see the web site, so I don't know the name of the posts, behind those links. I think they were the links 3-10 in that page.


    EDIT: Maybe it works if you click the links listed below directly, without going to the parent page (viewforum.php?f=9).

    =====================================
    As usually the web site worked for a while. Then I visited this page: http://www.bionixwallpaper.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=9

    and control click the following links (to open them in multiple tabs):

    http://www.bionixwallpaper.com/forum...19&mark=topics
    http://www.bionixwallpaper.com/forum...php?f=19&t=771
    http://www.bionixwallpaper.com/forum...php?f=19&t=784
    <- this worked
    http://www.bionixwallpaper.com/forum...php?f=19&t=692
    <- this worked
    http://www.bionixwallpaper.com/forum....php?f=9&t=791 <-
    this shows the 501 error
    http://www.bionixwallpaper.com/forum....php?f=9&t=789 <-
    this shows the 501 error
    <<snipped adult URL>> <-
    this shows the 501 error



    These tabs was already open (so open them before starting the experiment):
    http://www.bionixwallpaper.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=10 <- this worked
    http://www.bionixwallpaper.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=4 <- this worked


    This time I didn't click them very fast (one second interval) so it
    seems the speed is not critical but maybe the order.
    THIS IS TE FOURTH SYSTEM in which I reproduce the error. Even though I
    believe you that you cannot YET reproduce the error there, it is also
    impossible not to admit that on my side I was able to reproduce it in
    way too many computers to be a PC-related problem.
    So let's keep collaborate on this, I am sure we will eventually came
    to a conclusion.

    Initially I wanted to see if this is a FF bug BUT since I have
    reproduce the error also on IE 8, I have dropped the idea.
    Now I will have to borrow a new laptop and to video record while
    trying to reproduce the problem.

    I know that page is on my forum, but after this the WHOLE web site is
    not working. So I don't think we should necessary blame the forum.
    Maybe the forum is the place where the error manifests more often.

    I have used to perform these multiple control clicks before but the
    bug never manifested. Maybe you have upgraded your server's software
    recently and this is an unknown bug?

    Also we should ask our self why I can see the web site until the 501
    "bug" appears then I cannot see it anymore. The error persists
    somewhere. Either in my browsers (less possible since I have used
    different browsers on different operating systems) or on your web
    server (memorizing the IP).

    -----------------

    Ok, and this is the full error message I see. In case somebody else will google for it, maybe it will land here and post some news:
    -
    Method Not Implemented
    GET to / not supported.
    Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
    -
    the message is almost identical on IE8.
    Last edited by bear; 10-23-2009 at 07:25 AM.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    1,179
    please, delete that spam topic - it may be inapproprioate for minors
    Tried to open up all links as fast as I could. I am using IE7 and Windows XP. Everything opens fine.
    Opened forum main page, ctrl-cliked everything, but with a second pause. Once again, works.
    Will try from home with IE8 and same WinXP, but this better ISP.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by maniakaz View Post
    please, delete that spam topic - it may be inapproprioate for minors
    There is more spam? I have already deleted 4-5 spam topics today. But now I don't have access to the forum. I need to find yet another pristine computer.


    I just reproduced the bug one more time on the same laptop, this time on explorer, while trying to answer to this post:
    http://bionixwallpaper.com/forum/vie...php?f=19&t=784

    Maybe the bug can be reproduced ONLY if the user is logged in as administrator. So, I need to find a new computer and try to reproduce the error while I am logged in as guest!
    This bug is insane!

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    1,179
    Then make someone you trust admin for 1 hour, just to test.
    Pressed the links of your post several times, there were 10 taps open. Everything works, just one topic does not exist

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39
    Everything works, just one topic does not exist
    I had to delete some spam. Looks like one of the links was pointing to one spammed post.



    I gave the password to a friend and ask him to delete those three spam posts. I think I will need to crank up one more time the chaptca settings. But this will prevent only the bots from posting spam.

    I will let hit to test also if the bug appears now that he has access to one of the admin accounts.

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    EU - east side
    Posts
    21,913
    Finally we are getting somewhere: this is what they answered:
    Assuming it is mod_security, then they should have logs that could help you understand what's triggering this. At this point they're suggesting you to start searching in the dark.

    Sure, it's not their job to help you code your site, but if the error is caused by a too aggressive setting, it might affects other customers as well, which would make it their job to investigate.

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by ldcdc View Post
    Assuming it is mod_security, then they should have logs that could help you understand what's triggering this. At this point they're suggesting you to start searching in the dark.

    Sure, it's not their job to help you code your site, but if the error is caused by a too aggressive setting, it might affects other customers as well, which would make it their job to investigate.
    They did the same thing twice when they moved (now is second time) my web site on a special (super crowded) server because they pretended that my web site took too much CPU. My forum is really tiny and most visitors are hitting directly the HTML web site not the forum. I don't think that a forum with "most simultaneous users online = 20" can take so much CPU.

    At the same time they were really pushing me to upgrade to that $40 per month plan or else...

    This is why I think they have done something in order to force me to upgrade to a very expensive plan.
    If anybody here will get the same error as me, I could prove them that is no a PC-related problem.

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    162
    Hello,

    I can open all your links without any problem.

    Click Interval is around 1 Second

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    1,179
    Opened 14 tabs (within given) as quicxk as I could. IE8 - WinXP - Lithuanian Telecom works fine

  32. #32
    I have the same issue on inmotion hosting

    Method Not Implemented
    GET to /cgi-bin/sc/order.cgi not supported

    Where you able to get it resolved? What was the solution?

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39

    InMotion Hosting sucks

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffshaikh View Post
    I have the same issue on inmotion hosting

    Method Not Implemented
    GET to /cgi-bin/sc/order.cgi not supported

    Where you able to get it resolved? What was the solution?
    Thanks god! Finally somebody that confirmed the problem.
    I guess you contacted them and they blamed you, not their server.

    I think there is nothing much wrong than a customer looking for free support on a forum because the company who charged the money refuses to provide appropriate support. This tells something about the quality of that company. So, I guess, next year you won't purchase again from InMotion Hosting. Right?

    To answer to your question: no; they didn't provided a solution. They have stopped many days ago. I also don't have the time to continue searching for "green horses" (solution).

    I hope they will move my site from the slow server, back to the original one (for which I have originally paid for).
    Last edited by dotniet; 10-29-2009 at 01:38 PM.

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39
    2010 news.

    More visitors of our web site just confirmed that they have the same problem.
    So, the dreadful 501/505 has returned.



    Example:

    just don't know where to post it. Actually I am facing a very annoying problem. When I try to access your websites I get the error message:
    Dieser Fehler (HTTP 501 Nicht implementiert oder HTTP 505 Version nicht unterstützt) bedeutet, dass die Website, die Sie besuchen, momentan nicht über die Möglichkeit verfügt, die gewünschte Webseite anzuzeigen, bzw. dass die verwendete HTTP-Version von der Seite nicht unterstützt wird.

    Error 501/505: Not implemented or not supported.
    From:
    http://www.bionixwallpaper.com/forum...6&p=2468#p2468



    InMotion Hosting is taking again the "we cannot reproduce the problem, therefore there is no problem" approach.
    I guess there are many visitors that are confronting with this problem but as they cannot see our Contact page they cannot find the email to complain about the problem. As three users complained about it in the last week, the real number may be 30 or 300.
    Last edited by dotniet; 05-10-2010 at 09:06 AM.

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    39
    I just got the error again!
    Here is the brand new InMotion Hosting theory about this old bug:

    I've placed an excerpt of the server logs showing 501 errors on your account (see 501_errs.txt), these appear to only occur on very specific pages, and typically only when there are a large amount of connections from a specific IP. Quite likely the IPs in question are opening more connections than allowed by the webserver or some component of that exchange is triggering mod_security (a firewall built-into the webserver to prevent most exploits and hack attempts).

    If you refer to the excerpts of the logs from today, this appears to only occur when referencing a portion of your board (which appears to be generating your CSS stylesheet, though any pages referencing this will return the error)

    http://www.bionixwallpaper.com/forum...p?id=1&lang=en

    and only when called from a specific IP address
    128.128.250.98

    This isn't to say that the error isn't occurring for other people or on other pages, just that there haven't been any records of it occurring yet today for any users.

    If you get more reports, please let us know and we can try to narrow down these occurrences further, however given your earlier report of opening 25 tabs to reproduce this, this may simply be a matter of opening too much traffic from an address for the server to accept with its current security settings.


    But I think they are not even close because of several reasons:


    Dear InMotion Hosting,

    I hope this is the explanation for all these old and really annoying messages. At least we are getting somewhere.

    I open so many tabs because I maintain the forum. However, as explained in previous email communication, other users reported the same problem. And I don't think they are opening more than 3-4 maybe 5 pages (but not more) at once. So, maybe your server settings are too aggressive. Anyway, if your explanation is true, why the server's firewall does not reset the ban after a while?
    I mean, it already passed more than one minute (30 minutes actually) since I have seen the error. Why I cannot see the pages now? Is the ban definitive?
    Also, shouldn't the firewall show a more appropriate message (like "You have been baned for 60 seconds from accessing this server becasue...") instead of showing a 501 error message??
    I mean, I bothered InMotion Hosting support with this nasty bug since spring of 2009 and your people had no clue about that is happening (this is the first time when I hear the "firewall ban" theory from you, but you provided many many other unsuccessful explanations for this bug) because the message was totally wrong.
    I hardly wait to see what are the settings for firewall. Probably 60 days instead of 60 seconds. Anyway when I visit other web sites I don't see the 501 message. So obviously their settings are EXTREMELY aggressive. +1 for InMotion Hosting server load. -1 for the poor InMotion Hosting customer. -1 for the poor visitors.

Similar Threads

  1. InMotion Hosting Horrible
    By djohnson88 in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-30-2009, 05:29 PM
  2. please help me evaluate this deal from inmotion hosting
    By fendter in forum Managed Hosting and Services
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-20-2008, 10:02 AM
  3. 1 year with InMotion Hosting
    By bastek in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-02-2006, 04:21 PM
  4. InMotion Hosting 1 Week Review
    By TotalZen in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-31-2006, 10:58 PM
  5. Anyone heard of InMotion Hosting?
    By Mih in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-11-2003, 11:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •