Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: ASP Pages?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    39

    ASP Pages?

    A friend of mine is trying to show the page below, however it just shows the code.

    http://ndalydesigns.co.uk/new/default.asp

    What can I do to fix it? I am learning as I go along .

  2. #2
    The server is running apache. You need IIS to run .asp pages.

    Code:
    http://ndalydesigns.co.uk/ 
    server seems ok 
    
    time taken: 0.453 seconds 
    
    average of all server tests: 0.6141428571428571 seconds 
    
    test requested by:  
    
    reported by newsreports.org  (2009.10.22  01:44 GMT) 
    
    raw http response data 
    
    200 OK
    Date: Thu, 22 Oct 2009 01:44:18 GMT
    Server: Apache/2.0.63 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.0.63 OpenSSL/0.9.8e-fips-rhel5 mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 PHP/5.2.8
    X-Powered-By: PHP/5.2.8
    Keep-Alive: timeout=15, max=100
    Connection: Keep-Alive
    Content-Type: text/html
    Last edited by plumsauce; 10-21-2009 at 09:49 PM.
    edgedirector.com
    managed dns global failover and load balance (gslb)
    exactstate.com
    uptime report for webhostingtalk.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cochin
    Posts
    2,446
    Or you will need the apache-asp extension to be compiled in , if you are planning to continue using the apache web server.
    Sam
    Supportlobby.com - Expertise in Windows/Linux server support, IaaS and PaaS Management
    Spiralbean.com - Custom Software Development
    Email: exec @ activelobby.net | Skype: unni_active

  4. #4
    There is nothing like using the original intended server platform, IIS.

    There will always be incompatibilities when trying to use an emulator.

    For example, none of the usual asp components can be relied upon to be available.
    edgedirector.com
    managed dns global failover and load balance (gslb)
    exactstate.com
    uptime report for webhostingtalk.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    39
    How do I compile in the apache-asp extension?

  6. #6
    The following article will help you to install apache-asp:

    http://www.webhostgear.com/93_print.html

    If you have good technical skill then only do this by yourself.

    Kailash

    Edit: It seems this module in no longer available on layer1.cpanel.net.
    Last edited by Kailash12; 10-22-2009 at 01:08 AM.
    || Web Hosting Blog - Web Hosting security & latest web hosting industry Announcements
    || Web Hosting Discussion - A Web Hosting community

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Gods Own Country
    Posts
    681
    you can also use mod-mono apache module to run asp and aspx applications in apache..

    http://mono-project.com/Mod_mono
    Fabin Mundattil @ Xieles Support
    High Quality Server Management | support @ xieles.com
    http://xieles.com

  8. #8
    If you really want to run ASP do it the right way on a Windows server with IIS otherwise you're looking at a lot of heartache for a mediocre end result.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    39
    Yeah I noticed, none of the tutorials work, the one posted by Kailash is no longer available, the Mod mono is on Ubuntu and Fedora and I run CentOS.

    Its a Linux server so Windows is out of question.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Gods Own Country
    Posts
    681
    you have to compile the mod_mono module to get it work on centos..

    http://poormanstech.blogspot.com/200...ling-mono.html
    Fabin Mundattil @ Xieles Support
    High Quality Server Management | support @ xieles.com
    http://xieles.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by fabin View Post
    you have to compile the mod_mono module to get it work on centos..

    http://poormanstech.blogspot.com/200...ling-mono.html
    Thanks for the tutorial, however do you know what to replace for http://go-mono.com/sources/mono/mono-1.2.4.tar.bz2? The post is from 2007, I am sure theres a newer version out.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Gods Own Country
    Posts
    681
    Fabin Mundattil @ Xieles Support
    High Quality Server Management | support @ xieles.com
    http://xieles.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    39
    Thanks, however I am stuck at the step of

    [[email protected]]# cd ../xsp-1.2.4
    [[email protected]]# ./configure --prefix=/opt/mono
    [[email protected]]# make ; make install
    When I run ./configure --prefix=/opt/mono, I get the following

    Code:
    configure: error: No C# compiler found
    I ran the command he suggested after that, but still no luck.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Gods Own Country
    Posts
    681
    add the path to the "mcs" binary ( which will be somewhere inside /opt/mono/ ) to PATH env variable and run make again..
    Fabin Mundattil @ Xieles Support
    High Quality Server Management | support @ xieles.com
    http://xieles.com

Similar Threads

  1. any ideas why non-ssl pages are blank, ssl pages work
    By AtoZ in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-01-2008, 11:49 PM
  2. Sitewide Link 4 Sale -15000 pages indexed many PR Pages
    By mddv in forum Advertising Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-12-2005, 07:57 AM
  3. Text Links available on several pr4 pages and thousands of pr2 pages
    By brycewilson in forum Other Offers & Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-21-2005, 05:59 AM
  4. Link on 10 pages PR 4(3 pages) 3(7) 3 months, for hosting
    By designcodes in forum Other Offers & Requests
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 06-02-2004, 12:59 AM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-01-2004, 09:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •