Domain name registering

Where can I find or does anyone have suggestions or good experiences with a trustworthy company that sells domain names. I would like to register a domain name separate from a webhost, where I can assure I am the owner of the domain name. Thanks for any help. I'm new to all this. Greg

For example: namecheap.com, godaddy.com,...Many people have their individual preferences, look in threads for registrar or sth similar to get an overview.
    A good registrar usually gives you control of DNS so you can freely move on if you wish to. Good luck.
    Last edited by Michaelz; 10-21-2009 at 01:43 PM. Reason: addendum

Thanks. I read some threads where people advised that it's better to separate the two in case there are problems with the host or domain comapnay. So was wondering if there were any established companies with a good track record. Also want to own the domain name in my name.

Quote Originally Posted by gbagit23 View Post
    Thanks. I read some threads where people advised that it's better to separate the two in case there are problems with the host or domain comapnay. So was wondering if there were any established companies with a good track record. Also want to own the domain name in my name.
    Those I mentioned as an example are generally regarded as reliable registrars. But any reliable company can be trusted with domain and hosting, just make sure to not tie the domain name to the life of your hosting account with them. These two should be separated above all, there is a big misunderstanding about this, intentionally or not.

Thanks for the advice :-)

...I would like to register a domain name separate from a webhost, where I can assure I am the owner of the domain name. Thanks for any help. I'm new to all this. Greg
    For a newbie, you hit the nail on the head. Well done.

Again, agreed. I have all my coms, nets and orgs at www.namecheap.com . Great service, user friendly control panel, good pricing.

Vito