Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 78
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    167

    Question How many VPS Servers can be created on this dedicated server ?

    * (2) Intel Xeon 5310 Quad Core 1.6GHz Processors
    * Supermicro X7DVL-E Dual Processor Motherboard with 1333/1066/667MHz FSB
    * (4x) 2GB DDR2 PC5400 ECC Fully Buffered (667MHz) System Memory (1GBx2)
    * (6x) 250GB SATA II Hard Drives (1.25TB Available Storage)

    How many VPS Servers can be created on that dedicated server ?

    * And what is the suitable dedicated server for about 20 VPS Servers to be hosted on ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Citrus Heights, CA
    Posts
    1,716
    Depends on the size of the VMs

    Cheers!
    Best Regards,

    Mark

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    167
    i'n not talking about size in GB
    say we've unlimited hard disk space

    i mean the performance

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    /home
    Posts
    248
    I think he's talking about RAM size.

    Having dual cpu quad cores is a huge bonus, however you might want some kind of raid configuration for data redundancy.

    You'd probably be able to run 5 VPS' on there happily while leaving some ram for the Dedi on its own. You could of course have more, but you'd need more ram for that.

    To run 20 VPS' i'd recommend getting around 8gb ram. You could run it on that CPU, would benefit with a faster xeon, maybe the 5520 (2.26ghz).

    NOTE: for the above amounts of VPS', I was assuming you will be running mainly 128/256mb VPS'.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Brexit Island
    Posts
    2,821
    Quote Originally Posted by scal View Post
    i'n not talking about size in GB
    say we've unlimited hard disk space

    i mean the performance
    The processing speed is quite low really for a dual quad. Talking about 13GHz total. I wouldn't want to see more than 16 VPS' on a system like this allowing 800mhz for each in all fairness.

    If you did get a better processor, you might want to look at more RAM. Because for a Dual Quad with that drive config, 8GB seems comparatively low.

  6. #6
    I think Mike was talking about the size of the memory allocated to each VM, not the disk space, and you should go with a RAID-10 setup to offer redundancy on the storage as well as a speed increase.

    Processor-wise, those look like Clovertowns, which are pretty old, and you should look at getting Harpertowns for added performance.
    478east
    High Bandwidth Servers
    Custom Hosting Solutions

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    /home
    Posts
    248
    Also, regarding my earlier post when I said you could go for 8gb, I also recommended a xeon 5520 (2.26ghz) which is a nehalem processor, very powerful.

    You would also be using DDR3 ram with that, so you'd have much faster ram speeds and QPI (Quick Path Interconnect), which means the CPU basically bypasses the northbridge and transfers between itself and the RAM directly.

    The nehalems are amazing CPU's

    The downside is the price is fairly high.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    167
    thank you every one .

    now if i got this sever :

    CYBERTRONPC IMPERIUM XVB9080 TOWER SERVER
    (Dual) INTEL XEON DP E5520 2.26GHZ C4 1366 RET PROCESSOR
    12GB DDR3 1333 PC10600 ECC MEMORY
    (3) 500GB SATA2 7200RPM 16MB RAID EDITION (Raid 10)

    how many vps can be created on this server ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    /home
    Posts
    248
    That's much better, more like the server I recommended earlier

    Now you'd have to think about bandwith, what download/upload speed do you want your VPS' to have?

    Same for CPU usage, that server would be a beast. However, you'd need to think of how much CPU will be used by each VPS.

    I'm assuming you want to start a VPS hosting business?

    Again, about 25-35 VPS' would be able to run on that (assuming the VPS' will be around 256mb-384mb each)

    Also, you'd need 4 HDD's for raid10, not 3.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    404
    Is usually depends on your ram size. As long as you don't have the old age celerons then your fine with processing.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    428
    You are going to run into Disc I/O problems trying to utilize all that cpu. Id' suggest 4x300 15k drives instead of the 6x250gb 7.5k drives.
    GetCloudHosting.com - Looking for HOT deals on cloud hosting services? We post 5 of the hottest deals every day! -> Click Here <-

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    /home
    Posts
    248
    Quote Originally Posted by B r a n d o n View Post
    You are going to run into Disc I/O problems trying to utilize all that cpu. Id' suggest 4x300 15k drives instead of the 6x250gb 7.5k drives.
    Probably should have read the last post the creator made, he is asking for information on different server hardware setups.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    167
    thanks all for replies

    waiting for more ..

  14. #14
    What more do you need to find out? I'd recommend being careful with processors with hyperthreading, as those will show up as additional cores, and depending on your virtualization choice, it might not be a good idea, and you may want to stick to E5504 or E54xx series.
    478east
    High Bandwidth Servers
    Custom Hosting Solutions

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,733
    Quote Originally Posted by scal View Post
    thank you every one .

    now if i got this sever :

    CYBERTRONPC IMPERIUM XVB9080 TOWER SERVER
    (Dual) INTEL XEON DP E5520 2.26GHZ C4 1366 RET PROCESSOR
    12GB DDR3 1333 PC10600 ECC MEMORY
    (3) 500GB SATA2 7200RPM 16MB RAID EDITION (Raid 10)

    how many vps can be created on this server ?
    Quote Originally Posted by XENnode View Post
    That's much better, more like the server I recommended earlier

    Again, about 25-35 VPS' would be able to run on that (assuming the VPS' will be around 256mb-384mb each)
    Wow, some great misinformation in this thread.

    25-35 VPS on a system with 3 or 4 SATA drives is going to be absolutely pitiful.
    Darren Lingham - UK Webhosting Ltd. - (0800) 024 2931
    Tsohost.co.uk - Quality UK Windows and Linux hosting since 2003
    UK WordPress Hosting - Fast, easy, cloud based WordPress Hosting

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    428
    Quote Originally Posted by XENnode View Post
    Probably should have read the last post the creator made, he is asking for information on different server hardware setups.
    And it will obviously perform even worse.
    GetCloudHosting.com - Looking for HOT deals on cloud hosting services? We post 5 of the hottest deals every day! -> Click Here <-

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    428
    Quote Originally Posted by dazmanultra View Post
    Wow, some great misinformation in this thread.

    25-35 VPS on a system with 3 or 4 SATA drives is going to be absolutely pitiful.
    My thoughts exactly. So many kiddy hosts think by getting a quad core server that 20+ vps will run well. Disc I/O Will be your biggest hurdle using anything less than 10k-15k SAS drives.
    GetCloudHosting.com - Looking for HOT deals on cloud hosting services? We post 5 of the hottest deals every day! -> Click Here <-

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    167
    please explain in details:
    "Disc I/O Will be your biggest hurdle using anything less than 10k-15k SAS drives."

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    /home
    Posts
    248
    Quote Originally Posted by dazmanultra View Post
    Wow, some great misinformation in this thread.

    25-35 VPS on a system with 3 or 4 SATA drives is going to be absolutely pitiful.
    Not really, that configuration included RAID10. It would obviously perform better using SAS (which I love, don't get me wrong) or Raptors at least, but it isn't going to be that bad.

    Also regarding your post scal,

    Disk I/O means input/output, basically running multiple VPS' will require a lot simultaneous reading and writing, and for that you will need some high rpm hard drives and a good raid configuration (RAID10 would be good).

    Also someone said earlier that having HT can cause problems, XEN does not recognize Hyper-threaded cores (if you wish to use XEN that is), it only recognizes the cores and counts them as vCPU's. Not saying he's wrong, just saying that XEN will work fine with HT. Even then you could just disable HT in the bios if required.
    Last edited by XENnode; 10-16-2009 at 08:37 PM.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,552
    Quote Originally Posted by scal View Post
    please explain in details:
    "Disc I/O Will be your biggest hurdle using anything less than 10k-15k SAS drives."
    Disk I/o is what allows you to write data. Most people overlook that, you need LOT's of it.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    8,946
    Quote Originally Posted by scal View Post
    * (2) Intel Xeon 5310 Quad Core 1.6GHz Processors
    * Supermicro X7DVL-E Dual Processor Motherboard with 1333/1066/667MHz FSB
    * (4x) 2GB DDR2 PC5400 ECC Fully Buffered (667MHz) System Memory (1GBx2)
    * (6x) 250GB SATA II Hard Drives (1.25TB Available Storage)

    How many VPS Servers can be created on that dedicated server ?

    * And what is the suitable dedicated server for about 20 VPS Servers to be hosted on ?
    With 4GB of total memory? Six 512MB-memory VPSs would be my guess.

    -mike
    Mike G. - Limestone Networks - Account Specialist
    Cloud - Dedicated - Colocation - Premium Network - Passionate Support
    DDoS Protection Available - Reseller Program @LimestoneInc - 877.586.0555

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    /home
    Posts
    248
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike - Limestone View Post
    With 4GB of total memory? Six 512MB-memory VPSs would be my guess.

    -mike
    You'd need some memory for the Dom0 to run by itself, Mike

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,552
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike - Limestone View Post
    With 4GB of total memory? Six 512MB-memory VPSs would be my guess.

    -mike
    4 (x) 2 = 8gb, where'd you get 4gb?

    Quote Originally Posted by XENnode View Post
    You'd need some memory for the Dom0 to run by itself, Mike
    I thought the OP was going to use OpenVZ?

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    428
    Quote Originally Posted by Jacob Wall View Post
    Disk I/o is what allows you to write data. Most people overlook that, you need LOT's of it.
    Agreed,
    Anyone using less than Atleast 2x "15,000 RPM drives" In RAID1 is asking for trouble when hosting vps.

    Perfect setup would be 4x "15,000 RPM drives" in RAID10.

    The most accounts I have seen on any 4 x 7.5k drives in RAID10 is capable of 16 accounts, without any disc I/o problems.
    GetCloudHosting.com - Looking for HOT deals on cloud hosting services? We post 5 of the hottest deals every day! -> Click Here <-

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,552
    Quote Originally Posted by B r a n d o n View Post
    Agreed,
    Anyone using less than Atleast 2x "15,000 RPM drives" In RAID1 is asking for trouble when hosting vps.

    Perfect setup would be 4x "15,000 RPM drives" in RAID10.

    The most accounts I have seen on any 4 x 7.5k drives in RAID10 is capable of 16 accounts, without any disc I/o problems.

    It really just depends server to server like what the end-user is doing, how optimized the end-user is(Do they store most of the database in ram or do they rely on mostly i/o, etc).

    -Jacob


    7,200 RPM's

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    8,946
    Quote Originally Posted by Jacob Wall View Post
    4 (x) 2 = 8gb, where'd you get 4gb?
    My bad, sorry! I read it as 2 (x ) 2 = 4GB by mistake.

    Quote Originally Posted by XENnode View Post
    You'd need some memory for the Dom0 to run by itself, Mike
    Yep, I allocated 1GB in my quick calculation. Incorrect?

    (If I am wrong, let me know!)

    -mike
    Mike G. - Limestone Networks - Account Specialist
    Cloud - Dedicated - Colocation - Premium Network - Passionate Support
    DDoS Protection Available - Reseller Program @LimestoneInc - 877.586.0555

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,552
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike - Limestone View Post
    My bad, sorry! I read it as 2 (x ) 2 = 4GB by mistake.



    Yep, I allocated 1GB in my quick calculation. Incorrect?

    (If I am wrong, let me know!)

    -mike
    1GB to Dom0? I was able to run Dom0 fine w/ 512(Though it never really went above 300MB).

    -Jacob

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    8,946
    Quote Originally Posted by Jacob Wall View Post
    1GB to Dom0? I was able to run Dom0 fine w/ 512(Though it never really went above 300MB).

    -Jacob
    I suppose I just prefer to keep a little less resources in use. I am willing to sacrifice a little profit for peace of mind in my hypothetical example. :p

    Good point, though.

    -mike
    Mike G. - Limestone Networks - Account Specialist
    Cloud - Dedicated - Colocation - Premium Network - Passionate Support
    DDoS Protection Available - Reseller Program @LimestoneInc - 877.586.0555

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    /home
    Posts
    248
    Probably better to leave around 1gb ram at least for the dom0, just incase it needs a bit more. Really depends on what you are running in the background and how much ram you have in total.

    Obviously if you have only 2gb ram you won't leave 1gb for the dom0

    Oh and also sorry mike, guess all of these nights awake staying up talking to LSN staff on live chat have messed with my brain, haha.

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,733
    Something to consider that hosting small VPS can cause even more I/O problems. A VPS with 256MB of RAM gets pushed into swap more regularly and will then start hammering the disks on the system, possibly causing slow performance for other users.

    RAM and processing cores are cheap, disk I/O is not.
    Darren Lingham - UK Webhosting Ltd. - (0800) 024 2931
    Tsohost.co.uk - Quality UK Windows and Linux hosting since 2003
    UK WordPress Hosting - Fast, easy, cloud based WordPress Hosting

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    428
    Quote Originally Posted by dazmanultra View Post
    Something to consider that hosting small VPS can cause even more I/O problems. A VPS with 256MB of RAM gets pushed into swap more regularly and will then start hammering the disks on the system, possibly causing slow performance for other users.

    RAM and processing cores are cheap, disk I/O is not.
    Thank you.
    This rush for everyone to get into vps hosting worries me, especially all the budget vps providers. And what's sad is we wouldn't even need this big movement to vps if people didn't oversell on shared hosting servers. Causing people to think they need something dedicated to them to be able to have a working website. And it's complete rubbish. I'm so tired of seeing people recommend vps just because they know they can make more off vps than shared hosting. -end rant-
    GetCloudHosting.com - Looking for HOT deals on cloud hosting services? We post 5 of the hottest deals every day! -> Click Here <-

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    42
    all about ram. 8GB can run 15 to 20 VPS smoothly on core2quad server. Try to use raid-10 for data backup.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    vpsXtra : World Cheapest VPS Hosting on Fast Server
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,733
    It's easy to see why you have some providers offering VPS that offer performance similar to that of a complete P4/SATA dedicated server, whilst you have others that offer VPS with the performance of a Pentium 2.

    Consumers pay their money and they make their choice; it's unfortunate that the vast number of VPS providers do so on such low-end hardware (e.g. Quad Core with one or two big SATA disks), stick 16GB of RAM on and expect to put 30 x 512MB VPSs is impacting consumer expectation.
    Darren Lingham - UK Webhosting Ltd. - (0800) 024 2931
    Tsohost.co.uk - Quality UK Windows and Linux hosting since 2003
    UK WordPress Hosting - Fast, easy, cloud based WordPress Hosting

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    428
    Quote Originally Posted by dazmanultra View Post
    It's easy to see why you have some providers offering VPS that offer performance similar to that of a complete P4/SATA dedicated server, whilst you have others that offer VPS with the performance of a Pentium 2.

    Consumers pay their money and they make their choice; it's unfortunate that the vast number of VPS providers do so on such low-end hardware (e.g. Quad Core with one or two big SATA disks), stick 16GB of RAM on and expect to put 30 x 512MB VPSs is impacting consumer expectation.
    And furthermore expecting the world for nothing. Then come on here complaining when it doesn't work out, only to go onto another budget host.
    GetCloudHosting.com - Looking for HOT deals on cloud hosting services? We post 5 of the hottest deals every day! -> Click Here <-

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    167
    Thanks all for these replies

    waiting for more replies to this good discussion

    and remember that i need to host up to 30 VPS

  36. #36
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    428
    Quote Originally Posted by scal View Post
    Thanks all for these replies

    waiting for more replies to this good discussion

    and remember that i need to host up to 30 VPS
    If you want to do 30vps I HONESTLY recommend the following.

    Dual QuadCore 2.3 or higher GHz
    32GB of ram "even if you arent going to sell all 32 gb of ram"
    4 x 15k Drives with RAID10 " and a very good raid card"

    Anything less is asking for trouble. No matter what the budget providers on this board tell you.
    GetCloudHosting.com - Looking for HOT deals on cloud hosting services? We post 5 of the hottest deals every day! -> Click Here <-

  37. #37
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,552
    Quote Originally Posted by vpsxtra View Post
    all about ram. 8GB can run 15 to 20 VPS smoothly on core2quad server. Try to use raid-10 for data backup.
    raid doesn't backup data, it just allows you to lose a drive(or more depending what raid level your running).

  38. #38
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    167
    Quote Originally Posted by B r a n d o n View Post
    If you want to do 30vps I HONESTLY recommend the following.

    Dual QuadCore 2.3 or higher GHz
    32GB of ram "even if you arent going to sell all 32 gb of ram"
    4 x 15k Drives with RAID10 " and a very good raid card"

    Anything less is asking for trouble. No matter what the budget providers on this board tell you.
    thank you , but what about the processor .

    i like to buy processor " xeon 5520 " but the limit of ram is 12 GB DDR3 , so i thinking to buy processor " xeon 5420 " with 32 Gb DDR2 ram .

    now can you tell me it's there a different between " 5520 " and " 5420 " ?

  39. #39
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,552
    Quote Originally Posted by scal View Post
    thank you , but what about the processor .

    i like to buy processor " xeon 5520 " but the limit of ram is 12 GB DDR3 , so i thinking to buy processor " xeon 5420 " with 32 Gb DDR2 ram .

    now can you tell me it's there a different between " 5520 " and " 5420 " ?
    There's not a 12gb limit on xeon 5500 series processors. Most motherboards are 24gb max.

    There's a HUGE difference between the 5500 and the 5400 series. It's best that you look up the differences by yourself.


    Expect it to take you quite a few months to fill up a server like that, and your going to be throwing at least $1000 in server fee's before you even come close to breaking even. Why don't you start with a quad core, 8gb ram, 4x500gb hdd, and a raid card?

  40. #40
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    167
    Quote Originally Posted by Jacob Wall View Post
    raid doesn't backup data, it just allows you to lose a drive(or more depending what raid level your running).
    how i can make automatically backup " for example weekly " for all vps ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-24-2009, 05:30 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-15-2007, 05:01 PM
  3. PHP script I had created only works on dedicated?
    By travisdu in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-03-2005, 10:27 PM
  4. how to know what are the user accounts created at my server?
    By fuse1982 in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-16-2004, 06:22 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •