Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Ram feeback from connaiseurs...

    Hello,

    I am pretty new to linux dedicated servers. I just got one that has 4GB of ram. Pretty much, off the bat, it is using 3GB of the RAM.

    Does linux pre-allocate memory to be able to allocate it faster later?

    Server details:
    - Running Apache/mysql
    - New server with no traffic yet
    - R1Soft with mysql plug-in
    - WHM/CPanel
    - Standard FTP/Mail/DNS that comes with CPanel

    Here is the info from WHM:
    Current Memory Usage
    Code:
                   total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:       3980104    3090756     889348          0     387608    2095308
    -/+ buffers/cache:     607840    3372264
    Swap:      6024364          0    6024364
    Total:    10004468    3090756    6913712
    Thanks,
    Christophe

  2. #2
    Ok I think I just answered my own question. Might help another forum member so here is what I found.

    Basically I think the answer is "Yes".

    More details:
    http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=175419

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    856
    As you can see from your printout, 2095308K or about 2 GB is currently "cached", meaning your server is using it as disk cache, while about 800MB is "free", as in unallocated and not used for buffers or cache. Since it will scale down the cache automatically as needed, you effectively have about 2.8 GB free RAM.

  4. #4
    Hi,

    You memory usage is pretty high.
    I recommend you get additional memory or your server may crash occassionaly when traffic increases.
    And linux does not allocate memory resources for use.

    Regards,
    Alons
    Softaculous - Auto Installer for cPanel, Direct Admin, InterWorx, Plesk, H-Sphere
    The only Auto Installer that installs 260+ scripts. Install in just ONE STEP!
    Virtualizor - VPS Control Panel supporting OpenVZ, Xen, KVM and has 60+ OS Templates
    Webuzo - Softaculous for the Cloud i.e. Softaculous Standalone

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by aeris View Post
    As you can see from your printout, 2095308K or about 2 GB is currently "cached", meaning your server is using it as disk cache, while about 800MB is "free", as in unallocated and not used for buffers or cache. Since it will scale down the cache automatically as needed, you effectively have about 2.8 GB free RAM.
    So pretty much the "cache" size out of the "allocated memory" is available for applications should they need it...

    Something like:
    3372264 (free -/+ buffers/cache) - 387608 (buffers) = about 2984656

    Or like you did it:
    889348 (free) + 2095308 (cached) = 2984656

    Thanks.
    Last edited by webpan; 10-12-2009 at 09:28 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. rackspace feeback?
    By KimberlyH in forum Managed Hosting and Services
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 10-01-2007, 09:31 PM
  2. Any feeback on Atjeu?
    By ~Alvin~ in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-02-2007, 11:24 PM
  3. Looking for feeback on InTeleNet.net
    By mgoodin in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-02-2006, 05:13 AM
  4. feeback on phantasyworkshosting.com
    By lookingahost in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-26-2002, 07:33 PM
  5. new web design feeback
    By mybiz in forum Web Site Reviews
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-20-2001, 04:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •