Thread: Basic Web Host

Basic Web Host

I've created loads of sites before, mostly using high end VPS or dedicated servers. I'm somewhat new to shared hosts, having used just 2 before. The 2 being:

1. Hostmonster - brilliant. Yes, it's oversold badly but it's service is second to none and I never had an issue on a medium-traffic site. However, I do know they phone you to verify your account, and I currently do not have possesion of a phone (travelling).

2. iWhic. Had some serious downtime at one point, but else reliable. Customer service OK. Basic plan does not support unlimited domains.

I am looking to make a personal blog, possibly a travel blog or car review site.
    I may still use iWhic, but I'd like to be open to suggestions:

• Unlimited domains
    • 5GB Diskspace
    • Unlimited Email Accounts
    • 20GB+ Bandwidth
    • Reseller would be nice (host my friends)
    • cPanel (this is a must).

While technically my budget is unlimited, I would like to stick it to the $5-10/month mark. Pay per month is preferable.

I like the idea of just a big oversold host, cause they are generally reliable and I won't be using that much resources and the bonuses (such as Adwords credit) are generally useful.

Cardiff - United Kingdom
    If you want a "big oversold host", have you thought of HostGator?

They seem like the 'best' "big oversold host"

However their reseller packages cost more than $5-$10/month. In truth I'm not sure you'll find a good quality host who offers what you are asking for, plus reseller access, for $5 per month (perhaps at $10/month though)
    Plagiarism Guard - Protect Against Content Theft
    Tristan Perry - Personal blog

Oh reseller is optional, I'm more than happy to pay $20-$50 motnhly for reseller. I did consider hostgator, but I thought they'd have some phone verification. Plus their hatchling plan (which is up my alley) doesn't have unlimited domains.

Thanks for your help.

Have you checked out the offers forum?