Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,320

    Recompile Apache/PHP, would websites still be accessible while compiling?

    I need to recompile Apache/PHP, while it is compiling, are my websites still accessible?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    2,955
    Yes, it should stay up. You have to shutdown the service before running make install, which is essentially the step that copies the binaries/build. Generally, make install takes about 1-2 minutes so do plan for a brief httpd outage.

    Regards
    UNIXy - Fully Managed Servers and Clusters - Established in 2006
    [ cPanel Varnish Nginx Plugin ] - Enhance LiteSpeed and Apache Performance
    www.unixy.net - Los Angeles | Houston | Atlanta | Rotterdam
    Love to help pro bono (time permitting). joe > unixy.net

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    20 00 N, 77 00 E
    Posts
    51
    Yes it will be accessible. The sites would be unavailable only during the restart of the webserver.
    Quote Originally Posted by chasebug View Post
    I need to recompile Apache/PHP, while it is compiling, are my websites still accessible?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    477
    Did you compile the original or install it using a package manager. If you didn't compile it, the new one may install somewhere different to where your current copy is located.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Kerala, India
    Posts
    4,750
    The php recompilation will not affect the normal working of webserver. After you recompile the php the new binary is created or .so file is overwritten. The new php will be only taken when you restart the webserver. When you restart the webserver configuration and the resultant binaries are stored into the memory space. During another restart the new values are stored into the memory space.
    David | www.cliffsupport.com
    Affordable Server Management Solutions sales AT cliffsupport DOT com
    CliffWebManager | Access WHM from iPhone and Android

Similar Threads

  1. Recompile Apache
    By jhadley in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-15-2006, 06:20 AM
  2. libtiff accessible from php/apache
    By harryhood in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-09-2004, 06:00 PM
  3. Apache Recompile?
    By Mans in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-05-2003, 05:12 PM
  4. How to recompile Apache and PHP?
    By Adriaan in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-17-2002, 08:40 AM
  5. Frame only Accessible via Paying Websites
    By texasweb in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-08-2002, 03:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •