Page 4 of 13 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 187
  1. #46
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    333
    I have had problems with Kingston RAM on Supermicro boards even when they were the correct spec. If you order the RAM from Supermicro, they will work for sure.

  2. #47
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    96
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilAgg View Post
    I have had problems with Kingston RAM on Supermicro boards even when they were the correct spec. If you order the RAM from Supermicro, they will work for sure.
    motherboard has nothing to do with ram support on these boards.. already explained earlier in the thread:

    Quote Originally Posted by cwl@apaqdigital View Post
    ...

    again, RAM compatibility on LGA1156 platform is subject to the IMC (internal memory controller) on Lynnfield die, and it's nothing to do the motherboard's northbridge (external memory controller in the past) because there exists none of MCH (memory controller hub) no more on socket 1156 boards!

    ...

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    5
    I just checked again on the memory list for the X8SIE on the Supermicro site, and the Kingston module I mentioned appears among the approved 4GB ECC RDIMMs.

    At least I think it is the same module. They differ slightly: the one on the SM site is listed as "KVR1066D3Q8R7SK3/12GI", instead of "KVR1066D3Q8R7SK3/4G". Only the digits after the "/" change: is this the same module?

    I would have posted a link to the SM site for clarity, but apparently I cannot do that yet.

  4. #49
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    115
    There is a handy search tool on the Kingston website that you can use to look these up if anyone is interested in particular chip numbers at http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/conf...w.kingston.com

    KVR1066D3Q8R7SK3/12GI does appear to be a 3 pack of the KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G chips, and as they are x8 they'll be fine. Depending on the price the 3 pack you might be able to find the single chips cheaper (or not). Just remember that these are quad ranked chips and you can't use more than 4 of them on a single board.

  5. #50
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    Quote Originally Posted by cwl@apaqdigital View Post
    below lists all 4G ECC reg DDR3-1066/1333 modules I can identify thus far as using "x8" DRAM chips which should works with Lynnfield's IMC.

    Crucial
    CT51272BB1067Q.36SFD1 (1066)
    CT51272BB1067Q.36FF1 (1066)
    CT51272BB1339Q.36SFD1 (1333)

    Elpida original
    EBJ42RE8BAFA-AE-E (1066)

    Hynix original
    HMT151R7AFP8C-G7 (1066)
    HMT151R7BFR8C-G7 (1066)
    HMT351R7AFR8C-H9 (1333)

    Kingston
    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G (1066)

    Micron original
    MT36JSZF51272PDY-1G1D1 (1066)
    MT36JSZF51272PDZ-1G1F1 (1066)
    MT36JSZF51272PDZ-1GF1 (1066)

    Samsung original
    M393B5173DZ1-CF8 (1066)
    M393B5173EH1-CF8 (1066)
    M393B5273BH1-CH9 (1333)

    Supertalent
    W10RB4G8S (1066)
    as listed below, Wintec also has some "128x8" 4G ECC reg DDR3-1066/1333 modules available, and they do have some in stock if you are direct with Wintec. Wintec's modules are priced much better than Kingston/Supermicro modules. "3SR3334xxx" are Wintec's part#

    Wintec
    3SR3334E-13 Ddr3-1333 REG ECC 128X8 4Rank Wintec-SAM E CL9
    3SR3334D-10 Ddr3-1066 REG ECC 128X8 4Rank Wintec-SAM D CL7
    3SR3334E-10 Ddr3-1066 REG ECC 128X8 4Rank Wintec-SAM E CL7
    3SR3334E-10-OP Ddr3-1066 REG ECC 128X8 4Rank M393B5173EH1-CF801 SAM Orig
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  6. #51
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    5
    I ordered 4 modules of Kingston KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G, it seemed easier to find that other brands. I'll let you know how it works out. Thanks again.

  7. #52
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    5
    4 Kingston KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G modules work no problem on my X8SIE!

  8. #53
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    Wintec item#3SR3334E-10-OP (Ddr3-1066 REG ECC 128X8 4Rank M393B5173EH1-CF801 Samsung Original) works great too! we have successfully tested 16G (4x 4G) on X8SIL-F board with MEMTEST86 v4.00.

    if you are wintec direct, you should be able to get them for 10~20% cheaper than Kingston's. the modules we acquired from Wintec are acutally original Samsumg (modules made by Samsung with Samsung DRAM chips; bar none, the best the money can buy!).
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  9. #54
    hello
    is use thgis board as a reference design for my free napp-it zfs-storage server
    with ram Kingston ValueRAM DIMM 4 GB (2 Module) ECC DDR3-1333 Kit (KVR1333D3E9SK2/4G)

    see
    napp-it.org


    gea

  10. #55
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    3,299
    Hate to bring this thread up, but it seems like something is going on with Kingston and their ECC/DDR3 reg modules. I found out today that ETA for these SKUs is 12/10:


    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4GHT
    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G

    And this not till next week:

    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/8G

    Anyone have any recommendations on alternatives that are in stock? We are not big fans of SuperTalent memory at all, had a lot of DDR/DRR2 modules die on us in production.
    Jay Sudowski // Handy Networks LLC // Co-Founder & CTO
    AS30475 - Level(3), HE, Telia, XO and Cogent. Noction optimized network.
    Offering Dedicated Server and Colocation Hosting from our SSAE 16 SOC 2, Type 2 Certified Data Center.
    Current specials here. Check them out.

  11. #56
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    Quote Originally Posted by Jay Suds View Post
    Hate to bring this thread up, but it seems like something is going on with Kingston and their ECC/DDR3 reg modules. I found out today that ETA for these SKUs is 12/10:


    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4GHT
    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G

    And this not till next week:

    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/8G

    Anyone have any recommendations on alternatives that are in stock? We are not big fans of SuperTalent memory at all, had a lot of DDR/DRR2 modules die on us in production.
    you can try to source these DDR-1333 variants from kingston:
    KVR1333D3D8R9S/4G (dual-rank)
    KVR1333D3Q8R9S/4G (quad-rank)
    currently, costs among these modules, regardless 1333 or 1066, regardless dual-rank or quad-rank, should be about the same and under $110 per.

    if you use X8SIE(-F) board, and desire 24G (6x 4G) RAM, make sure you get dual-rank modules.
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  12. #57
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    3,299
    Thanks Chong!
    Jay Sudowski // Handy Networks LLC // Co-Founder & CTO
    AS30475 - Level(3), HE, Telia, XO and Cogent. Noction optimized network.
    Offering Dedicated Server and Colocation Hosting from our SSAE 16 SOC 2, Type 2 Certified Data Center.
    Current specials here. Check them out.

  13. #58
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by cwl@apaqdigital View Post
    you can try to source these DDR-1333 variants from kingston:
    KVR1333D3D8R9S/4G (dual-rank)
    KVR1333D3Q8R9S/4G (quad-rank)
    currently, costs among these modules, regardless 1333 or 1066, regardless dual-rank or quad-rank, should be about the same and under $110 per.

    if you use X8SIE(-F) board, and desire 24G (6x 4G) RAM, make sure you get dual-rank modules.
    Yes, thanks Chong. Having this same issue and this is a big help !

  14. #59
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    actually, if you guys were not limited yourself to registered RAM, you could also use 4G ECC unbuffered modules such as Kingston KVR1333D3E9S/4G or Crucial CT51272BA1339. both are in $70~$80 range.

    nowadays, X8SIL/X8SIE can also take 4G non-ECC modules which is around $50 ($200 for 16G RAM!) currently! we just tested 4pcs supertalent 4G non-ECC DDR-1333 (W1333UB4GV 256Kx8) on X8SIL-F, and they work just dandy. if you go for non-ECC, make sure "incompatible CPU/RAM check" is disabled in BIOS.
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  15. #60
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,071
    make sure to use x8 ram
    Biznesshosting, Inc. DBA VOLICO - Intelligent Hosting Solutions
    East Coast Enterprise Dedicated Servers and Miami Colocation.
    managed and unmanaged dedicated servers. High bandwidth colocation. Managed clusters.

Page 4 of 13 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Are these compatible?
    By luxx in forum Computers and Peripherals
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-23-2009, 02:07 PM
  2. Core2quad ,RAM compatible for Supermicro X7SBA
    By jolly in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-17-2008, 10:06 PM
  3. iPhone Compatible
    By Carp in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-29-2007, 11:28 PM
  4. WAP compatible helpdesk?
    By mrzippy in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-13-2005, 07:23 AM
  5. Is PHP 5 compatible with PHP 4.*
    By ferox in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-22-2004, 11:06 PM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •