Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 189
  1. #51
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    5
    I ordered 4 modules of Kingston KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G, it seemed easier to find that other brands. I'll let you know how it works out. Thanks again.

  2. #52
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    5
    4 Kingston KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G modules work no problem on my X8SIE!

  3. #53
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    Wintec item#3SR3334E-10-OP (Ddr3-1066 REG ECC 128X8 4Rank M393B5173EH1-CF801 Samsung Original) works great too! we have successfully tested 16G (4x 4G) on X8SIL-F board with MEMTEST86 v4.00.

    if you are wintec direct, you should be able to get them for 10~20% cheaper than Kingston's. the modules we acquired from Wintec are acutally original Samsumg (modules made by Samsung with Samsung DRAM chips; bar none, the best the money can buy!).
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  4. #54
    hello
    is use thgis board as a reference design for my free napp-it zfs-storage server
    with ram Kingston ValueRAM DIMM 4 GB (2 Module) ECC DDR3-1333 Kit (KVR1333D3E9SK2/4G)

    see
    napp-it.org


    gea

  5. #55
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    3,299
    Hate to bring this thread up, but it seems like something is going on with Kingston and their ECC/DDR3 reg modules. I found out today that ETA for these SKUs is 12/10:


    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4GHT
    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G

    And this not till next week:

    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/8G

    Anyone have any recommendations on alternatives that are in stock? We are not big fans of SuperTalent memory at all, had a lot of DDR/DRR2 modules die on us in production.
    Jay Sudowski // Handy Networks LLC // Co-Founder & CTO
    AS30475 - Level(3), HE, Telia, XO and Cogent. Noction optimized network.
    Offering Dedicated Server and Colocation Hosting from our SSAE 16 SOC 2, Type 2 Certified Data Center.
    Current specials here. Check them out.

  6. #56
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    Quote Originally Posted by Jay Suds View Post
    Hate to bring this thread up, but it seems like something is going on with Kingston and their ECC/DDR3 reg modules. I found out today that ETA for these SKUs is 12/10:


    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4GHT
    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G

    And this not till next week:

    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/8G

    Anyone have any recommendations on alternatives that are in stock? We are not big fans of SuperTalent memory at all, had a lot of DDR/DRR2 modules die on us in production.
    you can try to source these DDR-1333 variants from kingston:
    KVR1333D3D8R9S/4G (dual-rank)
    KVR1333D3Q8R9S/4G (quad-rank)
    currently, costs among these modules, regardless 1333 or 1066, regardless dual-rank or quad-rank, should be about the same and under $110 per.

    if you use X8SIE(-F) board, and desire 24G (6x 4G) RAM, make sure you get dual-rank modules.
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  7. #57
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    3,299
    Thanks Chong!
    Jay Sudowski // Handy Networks LLC // Co-Founder & CTO
    AS30475 - Level(3), HE, Telia, XO and Cogent. Noction optimized network.
    Offering Dedicated Server and Colocation Hosting from our SSAE 16 SOC 2, Type 2 Certified Data Center.
    Current specials here. Check them out.

  8. #58
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by cwl@apaqdigital View Post
    you can try to source these DDR-1333 variants from kingston:
    KVR1333D3D8R9S/4G (dual-rank)
    KVR1333D3Q8R9S/4G (quad-rank)
    currently, costs among these modules, regardless 1333 or 1066, regardless dual-rank or quad-rank, should be about the same and under $110 per.

    if you use X8SIE(-F) board, and desire 24G (6x 4G) RAM, make sure you get dual-rank modules.
    Yes, thanks Chong. Having this same issue and this is a big help !

  9. #59
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    actually, if you guys were not limited yourself to registered RAM, you could also use 4G ECC unbuffered modules such as Kingston KVR1333D3E9S/4G or Crucial CT51272BA1339. both are in $70~$80 range.

    nowadays, X8SIL/X8SIE can also take 4G non-ECC modules which is around $50 ($200 for 16G RAM!) currently! we just tested 4pcs supertalent 4G non-ECC DDR-1333 (W1333UB4GV 256Kx8) on X8SIL-F, and they work just dandy. if you go for non-ECC, make sure "incompatible CPU/RAM check" is disabled in BIOS.
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  10. #60
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,071
    make sure to use x8 ram
    Biznesshosting, Inc. DBA VOLICO - Intelligent Hosting Solutions
    East Coast Enterprise Dedicated Servers and Miami Colocation.
    managed and unmanaged dedicated servers. High bandwidth colocation. Managed clusters.

  11. #61
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,347
    Quote Originally Posted by bizness View Post
    make sure to use x8 ram
    what does x8 mean ?thanx

  12. #62
    Quote Originally Posted by ttgt View Post
    what does x8 mean ?thanx
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DIMM ->

    Most DIMMs are built using "x4" (by 4) memory chips or "x8" (by 8) memory chips with 9 chips per side. "x4" or "x8" refer to the data width of the DRAM chips in bits.

    In the case of the "x4"-registered DIMMs, the data width per side is 36 bits; therefore, the memory controller (which requires 72 bits) needs to address both sides at the same time to read or write the data it needs. In this case, the two-sided module is single-ranked.

    For "x8"-registered DIMMs, each side is 72 bits wide, so the memory controller only addresses one side at a time (the two-sided module is dual-ranked).
    Last edited by Crandion; 11-25-2010 at 03:24 AM.
    Crandion LLC
    Quality software, quality service
    http://crandion.com

  13. #63
    Hello,

    I want to use this 16GB (2x8GB) Kingston DRAM Kit (KVR1066D3Q8R7SK2/16G)
    on this supermicro X8SIL-F mainboard with a Intel XEON X3430 CPU.

    I looked for the "X8SIL-F" mainboard on the Kingston webside and found this RAM-Kit there.

    So this DRAM (KVR1066D3Q8R7SK2/16G) operate on the X8SIL-F without problems, right?

    I want to use this 16GB KIT (2x8GB) because i want be able to upgrade the RAM with another 16GB Kit to totally 32GB RAM later.


    Thanks a lot!

    mlampe

  14. #64
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    333
    I have used Kingston RAM on Supermicro boards in the past and it worked, but one time I had a problem. Kingston said to call Supermicro. When I called Supermicro, they said I used non-tested RAM so they make no guarantees it would work. Supermicro lists RAM on its web site which they have tested. They list a Supermicro part number on some of them.

    I now only buy the ones with Supermicro part numbers to avoid having to throw away the RAM like I did that time.

    So, most likely it will work, but if you have a problem, you will be in no-mans land.

  15. #65
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,483
    I just tried some KVR1333D3E9S/4G and they appear to work fine.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...rp.-_-20139077
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  16. #66
    Quote Originally Posted by mlampe View Post
    Hello,

    I want to use this 16GB (2x8GB) Kingston DRAM Kit (KVR1066D3Q8R7SK2/16G)
    on this supermicro X8SIL-F mainboard with a Intel XEON X3430 CPU.
    That is x8 REG, so you have pretty good chances of succeeding. Let us know if that works for you.
    Crandion LLC
    Quality software, quality service
    http://crandion.com

  17. #67
    Quote Originally Posted by Jay Suds View Post
    Hate to bring this thread up, but it seems like something is going on with Kingston and their ECC/DDR3 reg modules. I found out today that ETA for these SKUs is 12/10:


    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4GHT
    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G

    And this not till next week:

    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/8G

    Anyone have any recommendations on alternatives that are in stock? We are not big fans of SuperTalent memory at all, had a lot of DDR/DRR2 modules die on us in production.
    buy.com seems to have the cheapest price on the KVR1066D3Q8R7S/8G at $165 each right now. ( http://www.buy.com/prod/kingston-8gb...212817153.html )

    Do you know if you can run 4 of these on one of these systems for 32gb total ram?
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  18. #68
    Quote Originally Posted by cwl@apaqdigital View Post
    actually, if you guys were not limited yourself to registered RAM, you could also use 4G ECC unbuffered modules such as Kingston KVR1333D3E9S/4G or Crucial CT51272BA1339. both are in $70~$80 range.

    nowadays, X8SIL/X8SIE can also take 4G non-ECC modules which is around $50 ($200 for 16G RAM!) currently! we just tested 4pcs supertalent 4G non-ECC DDR-1333 (W1333UB4GV 256Kx8) on X8SIL-F, and they work just dandy. if you go for non-ECC, make sure "incompatible CPU/RAM check" is disabled in BIOS.
    Can you run 4 of the KVR1333D3E9S/4G on one board with no issues? Certainly wouldn't mind saving $30-40 / stick of ram if there is no downside. I would like to stick with ECC though.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  19. #69
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,483
    Is it the BIOS revision that allows turning off the RAM check? In other words, can we update older boards to accept non-ECC?
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  20. #70
    I thought about my plan to use the mentioned components.

    In Europe (Germany) it's very difficult for me to order the supermicro tested 8GB DRAM modules (e.g micron or hynix).
    Therefore I will order the mentioned Kingston DRAM Kit, the x8sil-f mb and the X3430 cpu and will post the results here.

    Thanks a lot for your responses!
    mlampe
    Last edited by mlampe; 12-30-2010 at 12:06 PM.

  21. #71
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    Quote Originally Posted by funkywizard View Post
    Can you run 4 of the KVR1333D3E9S/4G on one board with no issues? Certainly wouldn't mind saving $30-40 / stick of ram if there is no downside. I would like to stick with ECC though.
    we've not tested KVR1333D3E9S/4G specifically, but they should work on X8SIL(-F) board.

    however, we've installed plenty of supertalent 4G ECC unbuffered DDR3-1333 (W1333EB4GM) on X8SIL-F board with good success.

    Quote Originally Posted by fastserv
    Is it the BIOS revision that allows turning off the RAM check? In other words, can we update older boards to accept non-ECC?
    yes, you can! lately, we did install many 2G/4G non-ECC modules on X8SIL-F with i5-760 CPU, which doesn't support ECC at all, providing that "RAM/CPU check" is disabled in BIOS.
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  22. #72
    Quote Originally Posted by cwl@apaqdigital View Post
    we've not tested KVR1333D3E9S/4G specifically, but they should work on X8SIL(-F) board.

    however, we've installed plenty of supertalent 4G ECC unbuffered DDR3-1333 (W1333EB4GM) on X8SIL-F board with good success.


    yes, you can! lately, we did install many 2G/4G non-ECC modules on X8SIL-F with i5-760 CPU, which doesn't support ECC at all, providing that "RAM/CPU check" is disabled in BIOS.
    wow, the W1333EB4GM is only $55 on ewiz / superbiiz

    http://www.superbiiz.com/detail.php?...a2e3388696ab55
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  23. #73
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    Quote Originally Posted by funkywizard View Post
    wow, the W1333EB4GM is only $55 on ewiz / superbiiz

    http://www.superbiiz.com/detail.php?...a2e3388696ab55
    yes, prices on DDR3 modules, regardless types, regardless brands/makes, have totally collapsed to historical low. buy them at will, folks!

    I can attest that W1333EB4GM works great on X8SIL(-F).
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  24. #74
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,657
    Im buying extra in case they skyrocket like they did before, then I will make a killing on eBay lol
    EasyDCIM.com - DataCenter Infrastructure Management - HELLO DEDICATED SERVER & COLO PROVIDERS! - Reach Me: chris@easydcim.com
    Bandwidth Billing | Inventory & Asset Management | Server Control
    Order Forms | Reboots | IPMI Control | IP Management | Reverse&Forward DNS | Rack Management

  25. #75
    Quote Originally Posted by CGotzmann View Post
    Im buying extra in case they skyrocket like they did before, then I will make a killing on eBay lol
    good ol ebay. between paypal fees, shipping costs, and ebay fees, it's easy to eat up 20% of the final price, more if you have to list your item multiple times to get it sold. I still buy on ebay, but I try not to sell there.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Are these compatible?
    By luxx in forum Computers and Peripherals
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-23-2009, 02:07 PM
  2. Core2quad ,RAM compatible for Supermicro X7SBA
    By jolly in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-17-2008, 10:06 PM
  3. iPhone Compatible
    By Carp in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-29-2007, 11:28 PM
  4. WAP compatible helpdesk?
    By mrzippy in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-13-2005, 07:23 AM
  5. Is PHP 5 compatible with PHP 4.*
    By ferox in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-22-2004, 11:06 PM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •