Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 41 to 80 of 189
  1. forget about getting W10RB4G8S from Ma Labs (who owns supertalent)! we are malabs/supertalent direct, and the words we got from them is that they can't get hold of the Samsung "x8" DRAM chips at this time to make more modules. it's going to be after X'mas or early Jan before they are able to supply those modules.

    you may have better chance to find it from some e-tailers who have existing stocks of them.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    117
    Yeah that's not good news. Most of the servers we want to build will be on the X8SIL-F and only need 8GB of ram so the quad ranked Kingston chips should be fine, but a couple of the servers were supposed to have X8SIE-F board with 24GB and as I understand it that's not going to work with the quad ranked chips...

    Got to hand it to Intel for creating yet another memory debacle.

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    5
    I just finished building a system with an X8SIE, a Xeon X3450, and 4 modules of Kingston KVR1333D3D4R9S/4G. Unfortunately the system does not boot (no beeps, no video).

    If I plug only 1 module in, or no modules at all, I get the long "no memory" beeps. Am I correct in assuming that the problem I am having is probably caused by the memory?

    If I read this thread correctly, I am thinking that 4 modules of Kingston KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G should work?

  4. #44
    Quote Originally Posted by luca1 View Post
    Kingston KVR1333D3D4R9S/4G
    Description: 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC Reg w/Parity CL9 DIMM Dual Rank, x4 w/Therm Sen
    located at: http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/conf...1333D3D4R9S/4G

    Notice how it is an x4 chip, not an x8 chip. Lynnfield IMC does not support x4 DIMMs.

    Quote Originally Posted by luca1 View Post
    Kingston KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G
    Yes these will work fine.. note the "x8" below:

    Description: 4GB 1066MHz DDR3 ECC Reg w/Parity CL7 DIMM Quad Rank, x8 w/Therm Sen

    http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/conf...1066D3Q8R7S/4G

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by prologan View Post
    Yes these will work fine.. note the "x8" below:

    Description: 4GB 1066MHz DDR3 ECC Reg w/Parity CL7 DIMM Quad Rank, x8 w/Therm Sen
    Thanks for your prompt reply. I will return the 1333 MHz DIMMs and order the (hopefully) right parts. I am very glad I found this thread (I was thinking I'd get the motherboard replaced)...

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    333
    I have had problems with Kingston RAM on Supermicro boards even when they were the correct spec. If you order the RAM from Supermicro, they will work for sure.

  7. #47
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilAgg View Post
    I have had problems with Kingston RAM on Supermicro boards even when they were the correct spec. If you order the RAM from Supermicro, they will work for sure.
    motherboard has nothing to do with ram support on these boards.. already explained earlier in the thread:

    Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    ...

    again, RAM compatibility on LGA1156 platform is subject to the IMC (internal memory controller) on Lynnfield die, and it's nothing to do the motherboard's northbridge (external memory controller in the past) because there exists none of MCH (memory controller hub) no more on socket 1156 boards!

    ...

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    5
    I just checked again on the memory list for the X8SIE on the Supermicro site, and the Kingston module I mentioned appears among the approved 4GB ECC RDIMMs.

    At least I think it is the same module. They differ slightly: the one on the SM site is listed as "KVR1066D3Q8R7SK3/12GI", instead of "KVR1066D3Q8R7SK3/4G". Only the digits after the "/" change: is this the same module?

    I would have posted a link to the SM site for clarity, but apparently I cannot do that yet.

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    117
    There is a handy search tool on the Kingston website that you can use to look these up if anyone is interested in particular chip numbers at http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/conf...w.kingston.com

    KVR1066D3Q8R7SK3/12GI does appear to be a 3 pack of the KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G chips, and as they are x8 they'll be fine. Depending on the price the 3 pack you might be able to find the single chips cheaper (or not). Just remember that these are quad ranked chips and you can't use more than 4 of them on a single board.

  10. Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    below lists all 4G ECC reg DDR3-1066/1333 modules I can identify thus far as using "x8" DRAM chips which should works with Lynnfield's IMC.

    Crucial
    CT51272BB1067Q.36SFD1 (1066)
    CT51272BB1067Q.36FF1 (1066)
    CT51272BB1339Q.36SFD1 (1333)

    Elpida original
    EBJ42RE8BAFA-AE-E (1066)

    Hynix original
    HMT151R7AFP8C-G7 (1066)
    HMT151R7BFR8C-G7 (1066)
    HMT351R7AFR8C-H9 (1333)

    Kingston
    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G (1066)

    Micron original
    MT36JSZF51272PDY-1G1D1 (1066)
    MT36JSZF51272PDZ-1G1F1 (1066)
    MT36JSZF51272PDZ-1GF1 (1066)

    Samsung original
    M393B5173DZ1-CF8 (1066)
    M393B5173EH1-CF8 (1066)
    M393B5273BH1-CH9 (1333)

    Supertalent
    W10RB4G8S (1066)
    as listed below, Wintec also has some "128x8" 4G ECC reg DDR3-1066/1333 modules available, and they do have some in stock if you are direct with Wintec. Wintec's modules are priced much better than Kingston/Supermicro modules. "3SR3334xxx" are Wintec's part#

    Wintec
    3SR3334E-13 Ddr3-1333 REG ECC 128X8 4Rank Wintec-SAM E CL9
    3SR3334D-10 Ddr3-1066 REG ECC 128X8 4Rank Wintec-SAM D CL7
    3SR3334E-10 Ddr3-1066 REG ECC 128X8 4Rank Wintec-SAM E CL7
    3SR3334E-10-OP Ddr3-1066 REG ECC 128X8 4Rank M393B5173EH1-CF801 SAM Orig

  11. #51
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    5
    I ordered 4 modules of Kingston KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G, it seemed easier to find that other brands. I'll let you know how it works out. Thanks again.

  12. #52
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    5
    4 Kingston KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G modules work no problem on my X8SIE!

  13. Wintec item#3SR3334E-10-OP (Ddr3-1066 REG ECC 128X8 4Rank M393B5173EH1-CF801 Samsung Original) works great too! we have successfully tested 16G (4x 4G) on X8SIL-F board with MEMTEST86 v4.00.

    if you are wintec direct, you should be able to get them for 10~20% cheaper than Kingston's. the modules we acquired from Wintec are acutally original Samsumg (modules made by Samsung with Samsung DRAM chips; bar none, the best the money can buy!).

  14. #54
    hello
    is use thgis board as a reference design for my free napp-it zfs-storage server
    with ram Kingston ValueRAM DIMM 4 GB (2 Module) ECC DDR3-1333 Kit (KVR1333D3E9SK2/4G)

    see
    napp-it.org


    gea

  15. #55
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    3,301
    Hate to bring this thread up, but it seems like something is going on with Kingston and their ECC/DDR3 reg modules. I found out today that ETA for these SKUs is 12/10:


    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4GHT
    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G

    And this not till next week:

    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/8G

    Anyone have any recommendations on alternatives that are in stock? We are not big fans of SuperTalent memory at all, had a lot of DDR/DRR2 modules die on us in production.
    Jay Sudowski // Handy Networks LLC // Co-Founder & CTO
    AS30475 - Level(3), HE, Telia, XO and Cogent. Noction optimized network.
    Offering Dedicated Server and Colocation Hosting from our SSAE 16 SOC 2, Type 2 Certified Data Center.
    Current specials here. Check them out.

  16. Quote Originally Posted by Jay Suds View Post
    Hate to bring this thread up, but it seems like something is going on with Kingston and their ECC/DDR3 reg modules. I found out today that ETA for these SKUs is 12/10:


    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4GHT
    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G

    And this not till next week:

    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/8G

    Anyone have any recommendations on alternatives that are in stock? We are not big fans of SuperTalent memory at all, had a lot of DDR/DRR2 modules die on us in production.
    you can try to source these DDR-1333 variants from kingston:
    KVR1333D3D8R9S/4G (dual-rank)
    KVR1333D3Q8R9S/4G (quad-rank)
    currently, costs among these modules, regardless 1333 or 1066, regardless dual-rank or quad-rank, should be about the same and under $110 per.

    if you use X8SIE(-F) board, and desire 24G (6x 4G) RAM, make sure you get dual-rank modules.

  17. #57
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    3,301
    Thanks Chong!
    Jay Sudowski // Handy Networks LLC // Co-Founder & CTO
    AS30475 - Level(3), HE, Telia, XO and Cogent. Noction optimized network.
    Offering Dedicated Server and Colocation Hosting from our SSAE 16 SOC 2, Type 2 Certified Data Center.
    Current specials here. Check them out.

  18. #58
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    you can try to source these DDR-1333 variants from kingston:
    KVR1333D3D8R9S/4G (dual-rank)
    KVR1333D3Q8R9S/4G (quad-rank)
    currently, costs among these modules, regardless 1333 or 1066, regardless dual-rank or quad-rank, should be about the same and under $110 per.

    if you use X8SIE(-F) board, and desire 24G (6x 4G) RAM, make sure you get dual-rank modules.
    Yes, thanks Chong. Having this same issue and this is a big help !

  19. actually, if you guys were not limited yourself to registered RAM, you could also use 4G ECC unbuffered modules such as Kingston KVR1333D3E9S/4G or Crucial CT51272BA1339. both are in $70~$80 range.

    nowadays, X8SIL/X8SIE can also take 4G non-ECC modules which is around $50 ($200 for 16G RAM!) currently! we just tested 4pcs supertalent 4G non-ECC DDR-1333 (W1333UB4GV 256Kx8) on X8SIL-F, and they work just dandy. if you go for non-ECC, make sure "incompatible CPU/RAM check" is disabled in BIOS.

  20. #60
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,072
    make sure to use x8 ram
    Biznesshosting, Inc. DBA VOLICO - Intelligent Hosting Solutions
    East Coast Enterprise Dedicated Servers and Miami Colocation.
    managed and unmanaged dedicated servers. High bandwidth colocation. Managed clusters.

  21. #61
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,670
    Quote Originally Posted by bizness View Post
    make sure to use x8 ram
    what does x8 mean ?thanx

  22. #62
    Quote Originally Posted by ttgt View Post
    what does x8 mean ?thanx
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DIMM ->

    Most DIMMs are built using "x4" (by 4) memory chips or "x8" (by 8) memory chips with 9 chips per side. "x4" or "x8" refer to the data width of the DRAM chips in bits.

    In the case of the "x4"-registered DIMMs, the data width per side is 36 bits; therefore, the memory controller (which requires 72 bits) needs to address both sides at the same time to read or write the data it needs. In this case, the two-sided module is single-ranked.

    For "x8"-registered DIMMs, each side is 72 bits wide, so the memory controller only addresses one side at a time (the two-sided module is dual-ranked).
    Last edited by Crandion; 11-25-2010 at 03:24 AM.
    Crandion LLC
    Quality software, quality service
    http://crandion.com

  23. #63
    Hello,

    I want to use this 16GB (2x8GB) Kingston DRAM Kit (KVR1066D3Q8R7SK2/16G)
    on this supermicro X8SIL-F mainboard with a Intel XEON X3430 CPU.

    I looked for the "X8SIL-F" mainboard on the Kingston webside and found this RAM-Kit there.

    So this DRAM (KVR1066D3Q8R7SK2/16G) operate on the X8SIL-F without problems, right?

    I want to use this 16GB KIT (2x8GB) because i want be able to upgrade the RAM with another 16GB Kit to totally 32GB RAM later.


    Thanks a lot!

    mlampe

  24. #64
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    333
    I have used Kingston RAM on Supermicro boards in the past and it worked, but one time I had a problem. Kingston said to call Supermicro. When I called Supermicro, they said I used non-tested RAM so they make no guarantees it would work. Supermicro lists RAM on its web site which they have tested. They list a Supermicro part number on some of them.

    I now only buy the ones with Supermicro part numbers to avoid having to throw away the RAM like I did that time.

    So, most likely it will work, but if you have a problem, you will be in no-mans land.

  25. #65
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,565
    I just tried some KVR1333D3E9S/4G and they appear to work fine.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...rp.-_-20139077
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Since 2003 - Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  26. #66
    Quote Originally Posted by mlampe View Post
    Hello,

    I want to use this 16GB (2x8GB) Kingston DRAM Kit (KVR1066D3Q8R7SK2/16G)
    on this supermicro X8SIL-F mainboard with a Intel XEON X3430 CPU.
    That is x8 REG, so you have pretty good chances of succeeding. Let us know if that works for you.
    Crandion LLC
    Quality software, quality service
    http://crandion.com

  27. #67
    Quote Originally Posted by Jay Suds View Post
    Hate to bring this thread up, but it seems like something is going on with Kingston and their ECC/DDR3 reg modules. I found out today that ETA for these SKUs is 12/10:


    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4GHT
    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G

    And this not till next week:

    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/8G

    Anyone have any recommendations on alternatives that are in stock? We are not big fans of SuperTalent memory at all, had a lot of DDR/DRR2 modules die on us in production.
    buy.com seems to have the cheapest price on the KVR1066D3Q8R7S/8G at $165 each right now. ( http://www.buy.com/prod/kingston-8gb...212817153.html )

    Do you know if you can run 4 of these on one of these systems for 32gb total ram?
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  28. #68
    Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    actually, if you guys were not limited yourself to registered RAM, you could also use 4G ECC unbuffered modules such as Kingston KVR1333D3E9S/4G or Crucial CT51272BA1339. both are in $70~$80 range.

    nowadays, X8SIL/X8SIE can also take 4G non-ECC modules which is around $50 ($200 for 16G RAM!) currently! we just tested 4pcs supertalent 4G non-ECC DDR-1333 (W1333UB4GV 256Kx8) on X8SIL-F, and they work just dandy. if you go for non-ECC, make sure "incompatible CPU/RAM check" is disabled in BIOS.
    Can you run 4 of the KVR1333D3E9S/4G on one board with no issues? Certainly wouldn't mind saving $30-40 / stick of ram if there is no downside. I would like to stick with ECC though.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  29. #69
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,565
    Is it the BIOS revision that allows turning off the RAM check? In other words, can we update older boards to accept non-ECC?
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Since 2003 - Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  30. #70
    I thought about my plan to use the mentioned components.

    In Europe (Germany) it's very difficult for me to order the supermicro tested 8GB DRAM modules (e.g micron or hynix).
    Therefore I will order the mentioned Kingston DRAM Kit, the x8sil-f mb and the X3430 cpu and will post the results here.

    Thanks a lot for your responses!
    mlampe
    Last edited by mlampe; 12-30-2010 at 12:06 PM.

  31. Quote Originally Posted by funkywizard View Post
    Can you run 4 of the KVR1333D3E9S/4G on one board with no issues? Certainly wouldn't mind saving $30-40 / stick of ram if there is no downside. I would like to stick with ECC though.
    we've not tested KVR1333D3E9S/4G specifically, but they should work on X8SIL(-F) board.

    however, we've installed plenty of supertalent 4G ECC unbuffered DDR3-1333 (W1333EB4GM) on X8SIL-F board with good success.

    Quote Originally Posted by fastserv
    Is it the BIOS revision that allows turning off the RAM check? In other words, can we update older boards to accept non-ECC?
    yes, you can! lately, we did install many 2G/4G non-ECC modules on X8SIL-F with i5-760 CPU, which doesn't support ECC at all, providing that "RAM/CPU check" is disabled in BIOS.

  32. #72
    Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    we've not tested KVR1333D3E9S/4G specifically, but they should work on X8SIL(-F) board.

    however, we've installed plenty of supertalent 4G ECC unbuffered DDR3-1333 (W1333EB4GM) on X8SIL-F board with good success.


    yes, you can! lately, we did install many 2G/4G non-ECC modules on X8SIL-F with i5-760 CPU, which doesn't support ECC at all, providing that "RAM/CPU check" is disabled in BIOS.
    wow, the W1333EB4GM is only $55 on ewiz / superbiiz

    http://www.superbiiz.com/detail.php?...a2e3388696ab55
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com


  33. #74
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706
    Im buying extra in case they skyrocket like they did before, then I will make a killing on eBay lol

  34. #75
    Quote Originally Posted by CGotzmann View Post
    Im buying extra in case they skyrocket like they did before, then I will make a killing on eBay lol
    good ol ebay. between paypal fees, shipping costs, and ebay fees, it's easy to eat up 20% of the final price, more if you have to list your item multiple times to get it sold. I still buy on ebay, but I try not to sell there.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  35. #76
    Hello,

    I thought about the memory for the x8sil-f mainboard again.

    I do a search for "x8sil-f" on ebay and found this "certified" memory kit:

    cgi.ebay.com/16GB-2X8GB-SUPERMICRO-X8SIL-F-/230565585311?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item35aec7a19f

    Can i trust this memory?

    Is it really certified or is this memory as good as the "certified" Kingston memory KVR1066D3Q8R7S/8G i found on kingston.com?

    i hope you understand me and my english *smile*

    thanks
    mlampe

  36. #77
    Quote Originally Posted by mlampe View Post
    Hello,

    I thought about the memory for the x8sil-f mainboard again.

    I do a search for "x8sil-f" on ebay and found this "certified" memory kit:

    cgi.ebay.com/16GB-2X8GB-SUPERMICRO-X8SIL-F-/230565585311?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item35aec7a19f

    Can i trust this memory?

    Is it really certified or is this memory as good as the "certified" Kingston memory KVR1066D3Q8R7S/8G i found on kingston.com?

    i hope you understand me and my english *smile*

    thanks
    mlampe
    looks like no-brand memory. I would stay far away from that. If there's one thing you don't want in a server, it's memory you can't trust. Even if it's compatible, you may end up with intermittent issues and crashing that you can't trace back to a particular cause.... that is, until you replace the memory. The auction there isn't cheap either. I believe others in this thread have recommended a name brand option for a 16gb kit that's $50 cheaper.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  37. #78
    Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    actually, if you guys were not limited yourself to registered RAM, you could also use 4G ECC unbuffered modules such as Kingston KVR1333D3E9S/4G or Crucial CT51272BA1339. both are in $70~$80 range.

    nowadays, X8SIL/X8SIE can also take 4G non-ECC modules which is around $50 ($200 for 16G RAM!) currently! we just tested 4pcs supertalent 4G non-ECC DDR-1333 (W1333UB4GV 256Kx8) on X8SIL-F, and they work just dandy. if you go for non-ECC, make sure "incompatible CPU/RAM check" is disabled in BIOS.
    For what it's worth, superbiiz.com has the w1333ub4gv going for $37, giving you 16gb ram for about $150 now ( http://www.superbiiz.com/detail.php?...8-Value-Memory ).

    I do have a question, is this going to work with the core i3 processor? I just am looking for the cheapest single stick of ram that will work with the i3 on the X8SIL-F.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  38. Quote Originally Posted by funkywizard View Post
    For what it's worth, superbiiz.com has the w1333ub4gv going for $37, giving you 16gb ram for about $150 now ( http://www.superbiiz.com/detail.php?...8-Value-Memory ).

    I do have a question, is this going to work with the core i3 processor? I just am looking for the cheapest single stick of ram that will work with the i3 on the X8SIL-F.
    i3 on X8SIL-F requires ECC unbuffered RAM, no if's, no but's.

    w1333ub4gv is non-ECC module, therefore it won't work with i3.

  39. #80
    Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    i3 on X8SIL-F requires ECC unbuffered RAM, no if's, no but's.

    w1333ub4gv is non-ECC module, therefore it won't work with i3.
    the unbuffered is cheaper than the registered, so that sounds fine to me

    Thanks
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Are these compatible?
    By luxx in forum Computers and Peripherals
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-23-2009, 02:07 PM
  2. Core2quad ,RAM compatible for Supermicro X7SBA
    By jolly in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-17-2008, 10:06 PM
  3. iPhone Compatible
    By Carp in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-29-2007, 11:28 PM
  4. WAP compatible helpdesk?
    By mrzippy in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-13-2005, 07:23 AM
  5. Is PHP 5 compatible with PHP 4.*
    By ferox in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-22-2004, 11:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •