Page 1 of 13 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 187
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,594

    Supermicro X8SIL-F compatible RAM?

    We are testing this motherboard out for future use and are having trouble getting RAM that doesn't cause it to throw a RAM error. It does a no RAM beep, has no video, etc.

    Supermicro has no compatible sticks listed for 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz DIMM ECC Registered, and we are currently using Crucial CT51272BB1339
    Anyone using this board with 2GB DDR3-1333 ECC and 4GB DDR3-1333 ECC?

    EasyDCIM.com - DataCenter Infrastructure Management - Reach Me: wht@fevvo.com
    Bandwidth Billing | Inventory & Asset Management | Server Control
    Order Forms | Reboots | IPMI Control | IP Management | Reverse&Forward DNS | Rack Management

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    43
    Compatibility issue, tried contacting supermicro or their reseller support?
    Portlane Networks (AS42708) - Stockholm, Sweden
    Colocation, Dedicated Servers, Internet/Transit
    www.portlane.com || info@portlane.com

  3. #3
    Dear All,

    We have had lots of RAM issues with X8SIL-F.
    Not that only x8 modules are supported (take care to x4 samsung modules!), we successfully tested with Kingston KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    217
    Quote Originally Posted by Julox View Post
    Dear All,

    We have had lots of RAM issues with X8SIL-F.
    Not that only x8 modules are supported (take care to x4 samsung modules!), we successfully tested with Kingston KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G.
    Those Lynnfields take Registered ECC DDR3 or UDIMM ECC x8 DDR3 modules.

    One more thing, since it sacrificed one channel of memory controller, you HAVE to use DDR3-1333 modules. The reason why it is not that much slower than the Nehalem-EP is that it is two channels of DDR3-1333 vs three channels of DDR3-1066 (L5520s). If you go DDR3-1066 with Lynnfield, you do start to lose performance and starve the CPUs.

  5. #5
    SuperTalent registered unbuffered will go with that board. DDR3-1333

    Thats what we used just last week on a server with the same board. We wanted the same as you, 4GB sticks registered and our seller said there where not 4 GB sticks compatible ECC with that motherboard and we should go with a dual board.

    I would love to see which ECC ram you find for this in 4 GB sticks since we just went with 2GB sticks because of this.
    Last edited by PYDOT; 10-09-2009 at 09:11 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,594
    Anyone else started using these motherboards yet with DDR3-1333?

    EasyDCIM.com - DataCenter Infrastructure Management - Reach Me: wht@fevvo.com
    Bandwidth Billing | Inventory & Asset Management | Server Control
    Order Forms | Reboots | IPMI Control | IP Management | Reverse&Forward DNS | Rack Management

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    244
    Kingston lists both UDIMMs and RDIMMs in 1333MHz for this board. I've got some of the 2G sticks on the way and will probably be able to test the end of this week/early next week.

    Kingston


    For those that can use ATX size - the X8SIE-F has 6 slots. It can take 6 RDIMMS but only 4 UDIMMS apparently.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    426
    We are right in the process of looking to purchase some of these boards, but will definitely watch the memory issue when we do so if using 4 GB sticks on some of the higher end setups.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,274
    I'm trying to get this board work with Xeon X3440 and two sticks of 2G Kingston DDR3 1333 ECC Unbuffered RAM, receiving no video and no beep.
    is the board DOA?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    all nehalem/lynnfield CPU has IMC (internal memory controller) on CPU die. thus, you will need to follow Intel's validation lists:

    DDR3-1333 non-ECC UDIMM (unbuffered) for Lynnfield:
    http://www.intel.com/technology/memo...mm_results.htm

    DDR3-1333 ECC UDIMM for lynnfield:
    http://www.intel.com/technology/memo...mm_results.htm

    DDR3-1333 ECC RDIMM (registered/buffered) for lynnfield:
    none validated yet! in fact, no module maker has released any 4G ECC registered DDR3-1333 using 2Gx8 DRAM chips yet. "x4" 2G/4G ECC registered modules are all over the place, but they work with IMC on nehalem's only, not with IMC on lynnfield's.
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    426
    Any updates or has anyone had any luck with any 2GB or 4GB DDR3-1333 RAM in real world testing that will work with the X8SIL board? I was hoping there was more available to be compatible with this board by now.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,594
    You have to use DDR3-1066 for 4GB.
    This is the one we are using now and it works (finally after trying a bunch of others): KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G

    EasyDCIM.com - DataCenter Infrastructure Management - Reach Me: wht@fevvo.com
    Bandwidth Billing | Inventory & Asset Management | Server Control
    Order Forms | Reboots | IPMI Control | IP Management | Reverse&Forward DNS | Rack Management

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    426
    Quote Originally Posted by tshen83 View Post
    Those Lynnfields take Registered ECC DDR3 or UDIMM ECC x8 DDR3 modules.

    One more thing, since it sacrificed one channel of memory controller, you HAVE to use DDR3-1333 modules. The reason why it is not that much slower than the Nehalem-EP is that it is two channels of DDR3-1333 vs three channels of DDR3-1066 (L5520s). If you go DDR3-1066 with Lynnfield, you do start to lose performance and starve the CPUs.
    But what about this issue if using DDR3-1066 ?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    333
    I strongly urge anyone using RAM on a Supermicro board to buy it using Supermicro part numbers.

    I have had problems where I ordered RAM and it did not work even though that combination of board and RAM worked before.

    When it happened, I had to throw out the RAM and buy new since Supermicro will only offer support if you have RAM with the Supermicro part number on it.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    333
    Quote Originally Posted by meyu View Post
    I'm trying to get this board work with Xeon X3440 and two sticks of 2G Kingston DDR3 1333 ECC Unbuffered RAM, receiving no video and no beep.
    is the board DOA?
    Most likely it is the RAM and the board not liking each other. Both are probably fine themselves. See my earlier posting about using RAM with Supermicro part numbers.

Page 1 of 13 123411 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Are these compatible?
    By luxx in forum Computers and Peripherals
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-23-2009, 02:07 PM
  2. Core2quad ,RAM compatible for Supermicro X7SBA
    By jolly in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-17-2008, 10:06 PM
  3. iPhone Compatible
    By Carp in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-29-2007, 11:28 PM
  4. WAP compatible helpdesk?
    By mrzippy in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-13-2005, 07:23 AM
  5. Is PHP 5 compatible with PHP 4.*
    By ferox in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-22-2004, 11:06 PM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •