Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 189
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706

    Supermicro X8SIL-F compatible RAM?

    We are testing this motherboard out for future use and are having trouble getting RAM that doesn't cause it to throw a RAM error. It does a no RAM beep, has no video, etc.

    Supermicro has no compatible sticks listed for 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz DIMM ECC Registered, and we are currently using Crucial CT51272BB1339
    Anyone using this board with 2GB DDR3-1333 ECC and 4GB DDR3-1333 ECC?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    43

  3. #3
    Dear All,

    We have had lots of RAM issues with X8SIL-F.
    Not that only x8 modules are supported (take care to x4 samsung modules!), we successfully tested with Kingston KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    217
    Quote Originally Posted by Julox View Post
    Dear All,

    We have had lots of RAM issues with X8SIL-F.
    Not that only x8 modules are supported (take care to x4 samsung modules!), we successfully tested with Kingston KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G.
    Those Lynnfields take Registered ECC DDR3 or UDIMM ECC x8 DDR3 modules.

    One more thing, since it sacrificed one channel of memory controller, you HAVE to use DDR3-1333 modules. The reason why it is not that much slower than the Nehalem-EP is that it is two channels of DDR3-1333 vs three channels of DDR3-1066 (L5520s). If you go DDR3-1066 with Lynnfield, you do start to lose performance and starve the CPUs.

  5. #5
    SuperTalent registered unbuffered will go with that board. DDR3-1333

    Thats what we used just last week on a server with the same board. We wanted the same as you, 4GB sticks registered and our seller said there where not 4 GB sticks compatible ECC with that motherboard and we should go with a dual board.

    I would love to see which ECC ram you find for this in 4 GB sticks since we just went with 2GB sticks because of this.
    Last edited by PYDOT; 10-09-2009 at 09:11 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    244
    Kingston lists both UDIMMs and RDIMMs in 1333MHz for this board. I've got some of the 2G sticks on the way and will probably be able to test the end of this week/early next week.

    Kingston


    For those that can use ATX size - the X8SIE-F has 6 slots. It can take 6 RDIMMS but only 4 UDIMMS apparently.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    426
    We are right in the process of looking to purchase some of these boards, but will definitely watch the memory issue when we do so if using 4 GB sticks on some of the higher end setups.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,280
    I'm trying to get this board work with Xeon X3440 and two sticks of 2G Kingston DDR3 1333 ECC Unbuffered RAM, receiving no video and no beep.
    is the board DOA?

  10. all nehalem/lynnfield CPU has IMC (internal memory controller) on CPU die. thus, you will need to follow Intel's validation lists:

    DDR3-1333 non-ECC UDIMM (unbuffered) for Lynnfield:
    http://www.intel.com/technology/memo...mm_results.htm

    DDR3-1333 ECC UDIMM for lynnfield:
    http://www.intel.com/technology/memo...mm_results.htm

    DDR3-1333 ECC RDIMM (registered/buffered) for lynnfield:
    none validated yet! in fact, no module maker has released any 4G ECC registered DDR3-1333 using 2Gx8 DRAM chips yet. "x4" 2G/4G ECC registered modules are all over the place, but they work with IMC on nehalem's only, not with IMC on lynnfield's.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    426
    Any updates or has anyone had any luck with any 2GB or 4GB DDR3-1333 RAM in real world testing that will work with the X8SIL board? I was hoping there was more available to be compatible with this board by now.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706
    You have to use DDR3-1066 for 4GB.
    This is the one we are using now and it works (finally after trying a bunch of others): KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    426
    Quote Originally Posted by tshen83 View Post
    Those Lynnfields take Registered ECC DDR3 or UDIMM ECC x8 DDR3 modules.

    One more thing, since it sacrificed one channel of memory controller, you HAVE to use DDR3-1333 modules. The reason why it is not that much slower than the Nehalem-EP is that it is two channels of DDR3-1333 vs three channels of DDR3-1066 (L5520s). If you go DDR3-1066 with Lynnfield, you do start to lose performance and starve the CPUs.
    But what about this issue if using DDR3-1066 ?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    333
    I strongly urge anyone using RAM on a Supermicro board to buy it using Supermicro part numbers.

    I have had problems where I ordered RAM and it did not work even though that combination of board and RAM worked before.

    When it happened, I had to throw out the RAM and buy new since Supermicro will only offer support if you have RAM with the Supermicro part number on it.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    333
    Quote Originally Posted by meyu View Post
    I'm trying to get this board work with Xeon X3440 and two sticks of 2G Kingston DDR3 1333 ECC Unbuffered RAM, receiving no video and no beep.
    is the board DOA?
    Most likely it is the RAM and the board not liking each other. Both are probably fine themselves. See my earlier posting about using RAM with Supermicro part numbers.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,280
    I wasn't sure about the RAM, so I removed all the RAM, the board still give no beep, the manual says the board should give no RAM beep if it can't detect any RAM. anyway, i sent the board back for RMA, will wait and see.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    333
    Have you tried to see what happens if you just put in one stick of RAM? Use one first and then try the other.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,280
    yep, tried every possible combination, same result.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    333
    I think you need to get some RAM with a Supermicro part number and try that.
    If it does not work, the board may be bad.
    In my experience, Supermicro will not RMA the board until you try their RAM on it.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    244
    Hi Meyu,

    I've got two of these boxes running 3440s with the Kingston(KVR1333D3E9S/2G) unbuffered 2GB modules(2 sticks - 4GB each server) and have had no problems. As NeilAgg said could be some kind of mismatch but any way you can test with another board?
    Last edited by Ceetoe; 11-04-2009 at 12:25 AM. Reason: oopsies and typos


  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,280
    hi Geetoe, i'm using the same memory modules.
    i was suspecting issue with the board is because there was no error beep no matter how i tried, and the board came in with very bad shipping, that's why i sent the board back for RMA. i didn't have another board to test. will see how the RMA goes, if the board is ok then i'll get some Supermicro tested RAM and try again.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    337
    with the KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G

    I know it is quad ranked, there is mention of only being able to use 3 dimm's per channel with quad ranked, so I assume you could max populate it with 4 of these and not have a problem. Since that would be 2 dimms per channel. Can anyone confirm they have this tested?
    Reliable Hosting Services, LLC
    Affordable Co-Location, Dedicated Servers and VPS Solutions
    http://www.reliablehostingservices.net
    (888) 693-8309

  23. #23
    Quote Originally Posted by tshen83 View Post
    Those Lynnfields take Registered ECC DDR3 or UDIMM ECC x8 DDR3 modules.

    One more thing, since it sacrificed one channel of memory controller, you HAVE to use DDR3-1333 modules. The reason why it is not that much slower than the Nehalem-EP is that it is two channels of DDR3-1333 vs three channels of DDR3-1066 (L5520s). If you go DDR3-1066 with Lynnfield, you do start to lose performance and starve the CPUs.
    I really don't think that's true. If you look at tomshardware, they benchmarked real world and synthetic performance of the Corei7 (which the new xeon is equivalent to) with various speeds of DDR3. Going from DDR3-800 to DDR3-1600 (overclocked ram) had absolutely no difference in performance (at most 1%), in every test except the synthetic memory bandwidth test, even in other synthetic tests that usually stress the memory speed. In other words, yes, there's more memory bandwidth at higher DDR3 speeds (as evidenced by the memory bandwidth test), but no, you *will not* see *any* performance difference from the different speeds of DDR3. So save your money and buy whichever DDR3 ram is cheapest / most compatible / most reliable, and disregard the clock speed on the DDR3 if you're using a corei7 or equivalent xeon.
    Last edited by funkywizard; 11-25-2009 at 02:09 AM.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,674
    does anyone try gerneral ddr3 desktop ram 2GB is suitable with the board ?

    becuase i hope i can put 4 ones (4*2GB=8GB) on the board.


    thanx

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706
    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G is now $137 up from $119...
    This motherboard needs to start getting some more 4GB DIMMs working in it and soon.

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,674
    Hi,

    thanx for this,

    but im still looking if any 2GB desktop ram can run with it well,

    i hope i can install four 2GB ram to get 8GB.

    thanx

  27. we've installed these DDR3 modules in production servers based on X8SIL/X8SIL-F boards with good success:
    Crucial CT25664BA1339, 2G DDR3-1333 non-ECC, micron 256Mx4
    Kingston KVR1333D3N9/2G, 2G DDR3-1333 non-ECC, kingston or elpida 128Mx8
    Crucial CT25672BB1339S, 2G DDR3-1333 ECC registered, micron 128Mx8
    Supertalent W10RB4G8S, 4G DDR3-1066 ECC registered, samsung 128Mx8

    supermicro has now put Crucial CT51272BB1339Q 4G DDR3-1333 ECC registered on compatible list, but we've not get a chance to test it yet.

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706
    Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post

    supermicro has now put Crucial CT51272BB1339Q 4G DDR3-1333 ECC registered on compatible list, but we've not get a chance to test it yet.
    Is this the same as CT51272BB1339? Can't find it with the Q.

  29. #29
    Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    we've installed these DDR3 modules in production servers based on X8SIL/X8SIL-F boards with good success:
    Crucial CT25664BA1339, 2G DDR3-1333 non-ECC, micron 256Mx4
    Kingston KVR1333D3N9/2G, 2G DDR3-1333 non-ECC, kingston or elpida 128Mx8
    Crucial CT25672BB1339S, 2G DDR3-1333 ECC registered, micron 128Mx8
    Supertalent W10RB4G8S, 4G DDR3-1066 ECC registered, samsung 128Mx8

    supermicro has now put Crucial CT51272BB1339Q 4G DDR3-1333 ECC registered on compatible list, but we've not get a chance to test it yet.
    Hi Chong, is the Supertalent W10RB4G8S Dual or Quad rank?
    crucialparadigm - Affordable, Reliable, Professional :
    Web Hosting
    24/7 Support Web Hosting Reseller Hosting Cloud/VPS Plans Dedicated Servers


  30. #31
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by CGotzmann View Post
    Is this the same as CT51272BB1339? Can't find it with the Q.
    Has anyone tried this yet? I can't find it with the Q either (even on the Crucial website) but if the CT51272BB1339 that seems to be around is the right stuff, then it's readily available and at a good price to boot.

    The difference seems to be a Q suffix indicates quad ranked ram, and an S indicates single ranked ram, with no letter suffix being dual ranked. Hopefully that bodes well for the non Q version...

  31. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    117
    Okay, interesting development on the CT51272BB1339 ram. I found a comment on the Crucial website here that states "Crucial website says this memory is compatible with the ASUS P7F-E motherboard. In actuality, it is not. I am not going to give the actual memory a bad rating but beware, the compatibility chart is incorrect for this particular motherboard."

    As the P7F-E motherboard is an LGA1156 board with a 3420 chipset it probably doesn't bode well...

  32. #33
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    462
    I can confirm CT51272BB1339 does NOT work with SM Ibex peak skt1156 boards. CT51272BB1339Q is the quad rank version, which I have not tried.

    @Chong - Did CT25672BB1339S work for you? CT25672BB1339, the dual rank version works fine, but the single rank version has been nothing but problems, even in configurations supposedly supported by SM.

    Anybody have a 4GB DDR3-1333 ECC REG x8 dual rank stick they've used successfully to this point?

  33. #34
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    117
    Okay it's good to know that the CT25672BB1339 dual ranks are working as all the ones I keep finding around the place seem to be the non 'S' version anyway.

    Given that the W10RB4G8S chips are practically non existent, what about the Kingston KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G mentioned earlier? I've heard a few reservations about using Kingston ram in anything but they're 4G a stick, well priced and seem to be available in good numbers. Any thoughts on them?

  34. OK, let's end these confusions by reviewing this giant list of Intel validated ECC registered DDR3 1066/1333 modules
    http://www.intel.com/technology/memo...lts.htm#1DPC_1
    the list is published for Xeon Gainestown LGA1366 which can take any registered DIMM using "x4" or "x8" DRAM dies. however, Lynnfield LGA1156 CPU takes only modules using "x8" dies. thus, you go down the list and identify all "x8" modules in the column "DRAM die", and those are THE ONLY modules shall be compatible with supermicro X8SIx series LGA1156 server boards regardless they are currently listed on supermicro, kignston, or Crucial web pages or not.

    again, RAM compatibility on LGA1156 platform is subject to the IMC (internal memory controller) on Lynnfield die, and it's nothing to do the motherboard's northbridge (external memory controller in the past) because there exists none of MCH (memory controller hub) no more on socket 1156 boards!

    also, don't confuse single-rank (SR), double-rank (DR), quad-rank (QR) with "x4"/"x8" DRAM dies, these terms are referred to different things. Lynnfield CPU supports total of 16 ranks. thus, if you use quad-rank modules, the max RAM you can have on LGA1156 server board is either 16G (4x 4G) or 32G (4x 8G). if you have a server board with 6x DDR3 DIMM, such as X8SIE-F, then you must use dual-rank modules to get all 6 modules working (12G: 6x 2G or 24G: 6x 4G).

    specifically, CT25672BB1339S (2G, 1333, dual-rank, 1Gx4 chips) won't work with Lynnfield because it's using "x4" chips! CT25672BB1339 (without "S") will because it's using "x8" chips.

  35. Quote Originally Posted by almecho View Post
    Has anyone tried this yet? I can't find it with the Q either (even on the Crucial website) but if the CT51272BB1339 that seems to be around is the right stuff, then it's readily available and at a good price to boot.

    The difference seems to be a Q suffix indicates quad ranked ram, and an S indicates single ranked ram, with no letter suffix being dual ranked. Hopefully that bodes well for the non Q version...
    don't buy the one without "Q" because CT51272BB1339 (no Q) is using 'x4' DRAM chips which will never works with Lynnfield's IMC.

    if you can't find any CT51272BB1339Q in your region, these DDR3-1066 4G modules works with Lynnfield too: "CT51272BB1067Q.36SFD1" and "CT51272BB1067Q.36FF1". they are all using "x8" chips.

  36. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706
    This RAM Supertalent W10RB4G8S is confirmed working as well (even though [email protected] already confirmed it as well).

  37. below lists all 4G ECC reg DDR3-1066/1333 modules I can identify thus far as using "x8" DRAM chips which should works with Lynnfield's IMC.

    Crucial
    CT51272BB1067Q.36SFD1 (1066)
    CT51272BB1067Q.36FF1 (1066)
    CT51272BB1339Q.36SFD1 (1333)

    Elpida original
    EBJ42RE8BAFA-AE-E (1066)

    Hynix original
    HMT151R7AFP8C-G7 (1066)
    HMT151R7BFR8C-G7 (1066)
    HMT351R7AFR8C-H9 (1333)

    Kingston
    KVR1066D3Q8R7S/4G (1066)

    Micron original
    MT36JSZF51272PDY-1G1D1 (1066)
    MT36JSZF51272PDZ-1G1F1 (1066)
    MT36JSZF51272PDZ-1GF1 (1066)

    Samsung original
    M393B5173DZ1-CF8 (1066)
    M393B5173EH1-CF8 (1066)
    M393B5273BH1-CH9 (1333)

    Supertalent
    W10RB4G8S (1066)

  38. #39
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by CGotzmann View Post
    This RAM Supertalent W10RB4G8S is confirmed working as well (even though [email protected] already confirmed it as well).
    Is there anyone actually stocking this in any sort of quantity? Seems very light on the ground, and given the price of most of the other compatible ram the Kingston seems about the only other affordable and readily available 4GB Reg ECC chips.

    You mentioned them yourself earlier in the thread. How have you found the Kingstons? And willing to share anywhere the W10RB4G8S can actually be had?

  39. #40
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706
    The Kingstons have gone up a lot in price now, we had to find an alternative and the W10RB4G8S is it.

    SuperTalent has some type of close relationship with MALabs distributor, who else has owns eWiz.com
    We are getting the W10RB4G8S from MALabs.

    I will PM you the email of our rep. at MALabs where you can order it from.

Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Are these compatible?
    By luxx in forum Computers and Peripherals
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-23-2009, 02:07 PM
  2. Core2quad ,RAM compatible for Supermicro X7SBA
    By jolly in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-17-2008, 10:06 PM
  3. iPhone Compatible
    By Carp in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-29-2007, 11:28 PM
  4. WAP compatible helpdesk?
    By mrzippy in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-13-2005, 07:23 AM
  5. Is PHP 5 compatible with PHP 4.*
    By ferox in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-22-2004, 11:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •