hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Specialty Hosting and Markets : Game Servers : Team Fortress 2 - Server
Reply

Forum Jump

Team Fortress 2 - Server

Reply Post New Thread In Game Servers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 114
*

Team Fortress 2 - Server


Hello,
I just wanted to share my experience with a tf2 community I help run and how many tf2 servers can fit on what specs.

The Server:
Dual Quad Core Xeon 5410 2.33 Ghz
6 GB DDR2 RAM
250 GB SATA2 HDD
100 mbps Uplink
Windows Server 2008 Enterprise

We run 10 x 34 slot TF2 Servers, most of which are full a majority of the day. We use sourceban on a seperate database server that the tf2 servers connect to.

We seem to have figured out that on this particular box we can put 1x 34 slot full server per core (could be more, but we have other stuff on the box as well). Also you would have to figure that moving the database onto its own servers helps a lot as well.

I hope this is helpful to someone

__________________
Jeremy Miller - Account Executive
SingleHop Inc. - Dedicated Servers Exclusive Specials - www.singlehop.com/jeremymiller
Phone: 1-866-817-2811 ext. 103



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
I've recently bought a server with nearly identical specs, except I have 4x500GB hard drives in Raid-5, 12 GB of RAM, and I also run Cent OS instead of Windows.

But I find that running 8 of the 32 slot Source Engine Servers, and 8 of the 32 slot gldsrc Engine servers, and 3 Left 4 Dead Servers doesn't even fully stress the CPU's, and the RAM seems fine, I haven't tried stressing my machine more than this.

  #3  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 609
Thanks for the info, good to know

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,333
You have a gaming community Jeremy ?

  #5  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,570
Not bad. Are Windows servers better for TF2? I heard that for some other Source based games Linux servers may be better if compatible.

  #6  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 41
Source isn't at all optimized for linux (it's compiled using the old gcc etc etc...). But with a lot of tweaking, coding, custom kernels and quite a few mods you can achieve better performance on linux.

  #7  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
I've tryed both windows 2008 server, and Cent OS 5 (linux) on the same machine, and when I stress tested the machine with a variety of source game servers, I had much better performance using linux. You couldn't tell either way in the actual gameplay of the server, but when I looked through my cpu usage logs, amount of different system resources used by different processes, etc, it was obvious that these servers run better (for me at least) on linux.

  #8  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,570
I know for a fact that Left4Dead servers run better on Linux, at least in terms of buggy performance and random server crashes.

  #9  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,471
I used to 4 32man TF2 servers on a Intel Q9300 on CentOS Linux and they definitely used more CPU than on Windows. Typically you can run a 32man per CPU core.

  #10  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22
Do your servers experience any choke/loss?

  #11  
Old
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 114
Hey everyone. The servers are currently running great. Yes I am a leader in a large TF2 Community . I also heard Linux servers are better, and we could probably squeeze more on this server if we were running Linux, but I have no complaints. As of right now we dont experience any choke or loss. Although we did go through a period of attacks that we managed to tackle one by one. So I think we have most of our bases covered now!

__________________
Jeremy Miller - Account Executive
SingleHop Inc. - Dedicated Servers Exclusive Specials - www.singlehop.com/jeremymiller
Phone: 1-866-817-2811 ext. 103


Last edited by SingleHopJeremy; 11-05-2009 at 06:08 PM.
  #12  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 800
There is really very little difference between Linux and Windows. Just my experience...

__________________
ColoCrossing - Connecting Business
Jon Biloh | jbiloh@colocrossing.com | 1.800.518.9716 | AIM: ColoCrossing
Enterprise-Class Colo & Dedicated Servers in CHI, DFW, NYC, SJC, ATL & SEA

  #13  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southampton, NY
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonBiloh View Post
There is really very little difference between Linux and Windows. Just my experience...
While I've used both i perfer linux for running higher quality serveers(1000FPS Plus) and even to run 1000FPS on windows you need to have server 2008.

__________________
"Unix is simple. It just takes a genius to understand its simplicity." Dennis Ritchie

  #14  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsuslack View Post
I've recently bought a server with nearly identical specs, except I have 4x500GB hard drives in Raid-5, 12 GB of RAM, and I also run Cent OS instead of Windows.

But I find that running 8 of the 32 slot Source Engine Servers, and 8 of the 32 slot gldsrc Engine servers, and 3 Left 4 Dead Servers doesn't even fully stress the CPU's, and the RAM seems fine, I haven't tried stressing my machine more than this.
Wait to they are using full capacity

  #15  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMele View Post
While I've used both i perfer linux for running higher quality serveers(1000FPS Plus) and even to run 1000FPS on windows you need to have server 2008.
You can still get high fps from windows machines. You either run the srcds fps tool or run windows media player in the background.

Check the srcds community for more info

Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a VPS as a Team Fortress 2 game server? Xboxking VPS Hosting 4 05-29-2009 04:38 PM
5 Reseller Per Server Promotion !!! (USA Datacenter - Fortress ITX) rocksoft Reseller Hosting Offers 0 03-27-2007 05:45 PM
Why Team Fortress Classic STILL rocks! ALGORYTHM Web Hosting Lounge 18 05-28-2006 10:18 PM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
The Web Hosting Team Launches Virtual Private Servers Web Hosting News 2013-06-12 14:04:44
Fortress Acquires Data Center Integration Services Unit from arvato Web Hosting News 2013-05-21 16:11:41
A Look at Australian Minecraft Web Host Wombat Servers Web Hosting News 2014-05-09 12:40:32
American Internet Services Secures $43.5 Million Credit Facility Web Hosting News 2013-03-25 13:41:08
DiscountASP.NET Offers Managed Team Foundation Server 2012 Hosting in Europe Web Hosting News 2013-01-31 11:34:54


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?