Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    16,087

    SoftLayer Dallas - Server Room 5 Power Anomolies

    SoftLayer Dallas is experiencing power anomolies in Server Room 5 affecting two of our servers and I've seen a couple of other providers mention it.

    http://www.screen-shot.net/ss/7648891299266248083.png

  2. #2
    Two servers hit here as well

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    16,087
    All of our servers are back online, one for about 20 minutes and the other just came back online.

    It was a failed PDU it seems.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    529
    My server apparently is in Server Room 5, but never went offline. (According to PingDom)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    109
    Our server is still down unfortunately.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    109
    Just came back up about 15 minutes ago.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Newport Beach CA
    Posts
    608
    Our server room 5 servers are down again today....same issue.

    Internal monitoring started going off about 25 minutes ago.

    SL portal is showing that it's the same issue.

    ----
    Date: 10-04-2009
    Start time (CDT): 06:20
    Services Affected: Dallas, TX - Public Network
    Device: Other
    Location: dal01
    Duration: Emerging Issue
    Description: [start - 10:20] SoftLayer engineers have detected power anomalies in server room #5 in Dallas (sr05.dal01). The Emergency Response Team has been notified and engineers are working to identify and resolve the issue. As the situation unfolds, more information will be available via the emergency communication center inside the public and private portal. Due to the high volume of tickets and calls that may arise during this issue, delays may occur as engineers work to quickly and efficiently communicate all information. We appreciate your patience and cooperation. Updated information will be posted as soon as it becomes available.

    [update - 10:25] It would appear the same PDU (power distribution unit) that feeds several rows of servers has gone offline again. Engineers are working to bring it back online. More updates will follow when available.

    Sincerely,
    SoftLayer Emergency Response Team
    https://status.softlayer.comDate:
    -----
    Last edited by Timothy; 10-04-2009 at 11:47 AM.

  8. #8
    And its once again hit us again as well, taking out our VPS nodes... yay for the hour its going to take for it to bring all of the containers back up at least per server...

    Cheers...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    529
    I just cancelled my Dallas, TX server and bought one in WDC. If I get downtime there I'm leaving Softlayer.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    patiala, punjab, india
    Posts
    264
    I would also prefer to leave Dallas.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,549
    Luckily have no systems in the dallas server room 5. Problem is though we intentionally avoid seattle as this has been very unstable in the past 12 months and also has had power and network outages (several) so now it's pretty much narrowed down to washington.

    I am sure SL will correct the issue however and provide a full and detailed RFO.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    16,087
    Quote Originally Posted by hotpass105 View Post
    I just cancelled my Dallas, TX server and bought one in WDC. If I get downtime there I'm leaving Softlayer.
    These two instances are the only instances we've experienced in Dallas over the last two years... What is irritating is that the same PDU failed twice in three days...

    It needs to be fixed the first time so that it doesn't fail again imho.

    http://www.screen-shot.net/ss/457528539749499144.png

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    58
    wow, all of this is crazy. best luck getting everything running again guys.

Similar Threads

  1. Softlayer Down (Dallas DC)
    By mellow-h in forum Providers and Network Outages and Updates
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-31-2009, 05:58 AM
  2. Softlayer Dallas Down? [Merged]
    By roccol in forum Providers and Network Outages and Updates
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-06-2008, 12:20 AM
  3. SoftLayer Dallas DC vs SoftLayer Seattle DC?
    By CDK277 in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2008, 07:52 AM
  4. Superb Servers 'Room E' power outage
    By mattwade in forum Providers and Network Outages and Updates
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 08-30-2005, 07:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •