Results 1 to 33 of 33
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    16,087

    Wow, 30meg down, 7meg up cable!!!

    I moved into a new apartment today and tested my connection and to my surprise:
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/580519706.png

    Wow is all I have to say... I called Comcast and they said that they have just upgraded this area to the newest docsis ... yay me!
    Michael Denney - MDDHosting LLC
    New shared plans for 2016! Check them out!
    Highly Available Shared, Premium, Reseller, and VPS
    http://www.mddhosting.com/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    WebHostingTalk
    Posts
    16,960
    Lucky you!
    Specially 4 You
    .
    JoneSolutions.Com ( Jones.Solutions ) is on the net 24/7 providing stable and reliable web hosting solutions and services since 2001

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    13,294
    Michael...

    I HATE YOU

    I wish charter was cool.
    Steven Ciaburri | Industry's Best Server Management - Rack911.com
    Software Auditing - 400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers (Las Vegas, New York City, & Amsterdam) (AS62710)
    FreeBSD & Linux Server Management, Security Auditing, Server Optimization, PCI Compliance

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    16,087
    I was surprised because I was told on the phone it would be 6meg (which is 4 meg slower than my old connection)... Needless to say I'm pleasantly surprised.
    Michael Denney - MDDHosting LLC
    New shared plans for 2016! Check them out!
    Highly Available Shared, Premium, Reseller, and VPS
    http://www.mddhosting.com/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    378
    It's only 30/7 with PowerBoost

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by timburke View Post
    It's only 30/7 with PowerBoost
    How long does the PowerBoost burst last?
    PowerBoost provides bursts for the first 20 MB downloading and the first 10 MB uploading of a file respectively on Comcast's 6Mbps, 8Mbps, 12Mbps, 16Mbps or *22Mbps High-Speed Internet services.
    Will PowerBoost increase my monthly rate?
    No; PowerBoost is FREE to all 6Mbps, 8Mbps, 12Mbps, 16Mbps or 22Mbps residential Comcast High-Speed Internet subscribers.
    http://www.dslreports.com/faq/14520

    Even if those speeds are only obtained through PowerBoost, its included for free and it provides a nice little boost in speed for a quick and relatively small download (say under 50MB) while allowing the network not to be abused for things such as P2P users taking advantage of "PowerBoost" all day long.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    378
    Quote Originally Posted by AquariusADMIN View Post
    Even if those speeds are only obtained through PowerBoost, its included for free and it provides a nice little boost in speed for a quick and relatively small download (say under 50MB) while allowing the network not to be abused for things such as P2P users taking advantage of "PowerBoost" all day long.

    Meh.. I'll stick with my guaranteed 50/10.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by timburke View Post
    Meh.. I'll stick with my guaranteed 50/10.
    Great point however FIOS Internet deployment is hardly available @ a reasonable price. I'd much rather settle for guarantee 50/10 however I'm fine with TimeWarner/Powerboost until something faster/more reliable is provided at a decent price. Cable Internet is not so good for fast downloading/uploading to begin with as downloads/uploads seem to start fast (power boosting?) but then by the end, have slowed to a crawl. From what I've heard about FIOS Internet, they do not experience this.

    Correction: Maybe you don't have FiOS as their fastest package is 50/20
    Last edited by AquariusStorage; 10-01-2009 at 11:51 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,270
    I get about 27mbps with powerboost and 16mbps without from comcast. It is much better than the 3mbps I used to get from Qwest.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Shimonoseki
    Posts
    2,101
    Closed for winter...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    16,087
    Quote Originally Posted by mohamoud View Post
    I get about 27mbps with powerboost and 16mbps without from comcast. It is much better than the 3mbps I used to get from Qwest.
    Yeah, that's what I'm getting - it's still much better than the 6meg I was expecting

    The 3mbps upspeed is *very* nice because my old connection was only 1.0 or 1.5
    Michael Denney - MDDHosting LLC
    New shared plans for 2016! Check them out!
    Highly Available Shared, Premium, Reseller, and VPS
    http://www.mddhosting.com/

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,282
    remember Comcast's 250gb cap. will switch to FIOS once it's available and already seeing Verizon working around our area on that.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    16,087
    Quote Originally Posted by meyu View Post
    remember Comcast's 250gb cap. will switch to FIOS once it's available and already seeing Verizon working around our area on that.
    I don't do enough downloading to worry about that, it's just nice to have the speed when I *do* download.

    Beyond downloading and uploading things as related to web hosting and providing support I really don't download much other than the random program here and there or video/game trailer etc

    I am most excited about the up speed, my first "broadband" connection was something like 1.5 down 256kbps up ....... lol DSL
    Michael Denney - MDDHosting LLC
    New shared plans for 2016! Check them out!
    Highly Available Shared, Premium, Reseller, and VPS
    http://www.mddhosting.com/

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida
    Posts
    19,185
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeDVB View Post
    I moved into a new apartment today and tested my connection and to my surprise:
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/580519706.png

    Wow is all I have to say... I called Comcast and they said that they have just upgraded this area to the newest docsis ... yay me!
    Mind running a Ethernet cord over to me

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/580592456.png
    Keith I Myers
    KMyers.me The rantings of a lunatic
    Geek Survival Guide - Reviews and Advice for Geeks

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Smade's Inn
    Posts
    1,021
    Ah, low blow Mike! Just had to move out of Illy didn't I?
    WHT is now used as the Universal Hosting Helpdesk.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    1,225
    I'm at 12 down / 1 up right now with comcast in Memphis.

    They're saying that they are going to upgrade that in November to 16 down..not sure if the upload is staying the same or not.

    need moar speed!!!

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Here Today - Gone to Maui
    Posts
    6,262
    Gotta love the new speeds. I'm envious.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    5,137
    5/1 for me Basic FIOS service ....

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/580897025.png

    How much do you pay?
    Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
    Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
    Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
    Equinix Secaucus NY2 (NYC Metro)

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    State of Disbelief
    Posts
    22,951
    I'm stuck with Roadrunner (TWC), who wouldn't part with upload speed if it meant saving lives. 16 down and 0.49 up, and I pay extra for the upload I have (though I could swear I pay for 768 up). Dysmal.
    FIOS has told me that they can't run here because the local telco (Frontier) won't give up the lines. My buddy that works installing FIOS for them says that's untrue...

    [edit]
    Called and found I'm supposed to be seeing 1M up. Maybe this can be fixed, so this thread turned out to be a good thing for me. Thanks!
    Last edited by bear; 10-02-2009 at 12:19 PM.
    Having problems, or maybe questions about WHT? Head over to the help desk!

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Duluth MN
    Posts
    3,864
    I'm on Mediacom's 20mb down / 2mb up. Works GREAT for streaming netflix HD on my Xbox 360!


    I'm moving at the end of october though, and I'll be stuck with Charter


    I wish I could move back to the Minneapolis/St. paul area. Comcast just rolled out their 100mbs down / 15mbps up Docsis 3.0 connections.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,249
    Screw you guys lol. Im paying 145 a month for this http://www.speedtest.net/result/581122155.png



    THE LOCATION WAS LESS THEN 30 MILES FROM ME.
    Leader of the new anti sig spamming club.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    1,225
    Wow that sucks dark..

    $150 / month gets you the 50Mbps down with FIOS I think?

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Waco, TX
    Posts
    5,292
    Quote Originally Posted by BurakUeda View Post
    I site on directly connected gigabit at times, and it all depends on the speed of the servers, speedtest.net results vary greatly as the other end can't really keep up with more than 30mb/s anyway

    Sometimes you can get one that can push you 60-80mb, but not often.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Waco, TX
    Posts
    5,292
    Quote Originally Posted by bear View Post
    I'm stuck with Roadrunner (TWC), who wouldn't part with upload speed if it meant saving lives. 16 down and 0.49 up, and I pay extra for the upload I have (though I could swear I pay for 768 up). Dysmal.
    FIOS has told me that they can't run here because the local telco (Frontier) won't give up the lines. My buddy that works installing FIOS for them says that's untrue...

    [edit]
    Called and found I'm supposed to be seeing 1M up. Maybe this can be fixed, so this thread turned out to be a good thing for me. Thanks!
    FIOS has nothing to do with locals, in fact the fiber to the home removes the restrictions of the CLEC from them. however they are going t markets where they are already the phone provider first as they have a proven ROI from existing clients and don't have to fight for them from others.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    State of Disbelief
    Posts
    22,951
    Quote Originally Posted by (Stephen) View Post
    FIOS has nothing to do with locals, in fact the fiber to the home removes the restrictions of the CLEC from them. however they are going t markets where they are already the phone provider first as they have a proven ROI from existing clients and don't have to fight for them from others.
    Interestingly, I have a buddy who works in NJ installing FIOS. He told me about Verizon actually owning Frontier, but they don't publicize the connections, to play them off each other in some way. I haven't been able to verify it (or I may have misheard it a bit), but he's trustworthy.
    For where I live, it's probably too small a ROI to consider rolling it out until they are making enough money in larger areas near here first. I may gripe about cable, but I'm happy I at least have that.
    Having problems, or maybe questions about WHT? Head over to the help desk!

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    958
    Morphin' Time!

    Thats phenomenal speed from cable. Whoever said cable is dead doesn't have comcast in Chicago
    Kdoubt.net - Gameing discussion, arcade, all around good fun

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,249
    Quote Originally Posted by cheyenne1212 View Post
    Wow that sucks dark..

    $150 / month gets you the 50Mbps down with FIOS I think?
    Fios is in my town but not near my street :/

    Maybe If I send 100 letters using different names they will do it lol.
    Leader of the new anti sig spamming club.

  28. #28
    It's kind of ironic that living in an NYC apartment, the best I can get is 20mbit down/ 2mbit up, with real world speed at 8mbit/1mbit. I wish they would bring Fios to my building.

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,158
    7MB up thats sweet!

  30. #30
    I can't believe how much better your connection is than mine. I'm in Michigan and getting .7mb down / .3 up

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tulsa Oklahoma
    Posts
    55
    Optima Online is offering 101 mbps up /15 mbps down for 79.95 (http://www.optimumbusiness.com/online/packages.jsp). When I get back to New York, am looking forward to looking into it.
    ................

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    8,945
    Nice speeds I am envious.

    -mike
    Mike G. - Limestone Networks - Account Specialist
    Cloud - Dedicated - Colocation - Premium Network - Passionate Support
    DDoS Protection Available - Reseller Program @LimestoneInc - 877.586.0555

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,249
    Jeeze, If I got one of those 100mbit connections I could see myself getting my own backup services lol.
    Leader of the new anti sig spamming club.

Similar Threads

  1. Is it my Cable Modem or cable service?
    By Mike235 in forum Computers and Peripherals
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-18-2006, 06:27 PM
  2. IDE cable
    By NameSniper in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-15-2005, 06:43 PM
  3. No Cable
    By web docta in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-25-2003, 10:22 PM
  4. Cable and DSL
    By turbo_now in forum Running a Web Hosting Business
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-28-2003, 11:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •