Different level/tiers/class of Hosting Company advice

My startup company has tasked me to look for a hosting company to get dedicated servers for their production (Web, DB) and operation (email, AD, etc) servers, 9 servers in total. I'm new to this whole industry and finding this forum really help me point myself in the right direction given so much junk and "partial" review sites out there.

I was able to get great reviews and recommendations off this forum but since I'm new, one area I'm not clear on is the different levels/tiers/class of hosting companies. For example, from what I am reading, Gigenet & Rackspace seem to be on a high end scale while CoreNetworks is on the low end but still excellent. Where would others like LiquidWeb, SteadFast, Softlayer fit in?

Can someone help me break it down into classes like cars such as budget/mid size/luxury or is it even possible? I'm just trying to get a sense of how to compare these companies as I'm getting quotes from them. These are some of the companies I'm looking at:
    LiquidWeb
    Gigenet
    Softlayer
    SteadFast
    ThePlanet
    Colocrosing
    Iweb
    DedicatedNow
    CoreNetworks
    Cartika
    Servint
    SingleHot

They all seem to have good reviews. I know some are truly managed and some just leave everything to you. I'm probably looking for something in between that has decent bandwidth and speeds. Our site won't be a public site so no large traffic requirements but we are spread out from NY to LA. We probably don't need the fastest speeds but somthing reliable. We are also in the health care industry so HIPAA maybe important but I'm still trying to determine that.

Thanks,
    Ed

I'd place Liquidweb, Softlayer, Steadfast, Servint and Gigenet in luxury.
    IWeb/TP would probably be mid.
    Corenetworks in budget.

Consider searching this forum for "HIPAA" - I'm sure there's been a few discussions on it

Hello,