Thread: ModernBill..hmm

Arrow ModernBill..hmm

I see they no longer even offer a real full source code version. No matter what, if you want to use ModernBill, you MUST use zend or that ionCube thing. What about people who DO NOT want to install Zend or ionCube? What are they suppose to do? What about those people who really paid for a full source version and a year worth of updates? Is this really fair to them? There should at least be a full source version for those people who paid for it already. I'm no law expert, but it seems to me, if someone paid for something (full source modernbill), and now they can't get it, can't they do something about it? Not sure, but any comments would be appreciated. Thanks

They are supposed to put out a source guardian version so you do not have to install anything on your server.

I doubt you can do anything since it does say on their site that a couple files encrypted. I didn't purchase the full source version (mine is encrypted) but I don't think it prevents you from modifying the program to fit your needs.

I can't really blame them for trying to protect themselves and their work. While you may be an honest person many are not.

Just my thoughts....
    Tim S

Originally posted by Tim S

I can't really blame them for trying to protect themselves and their work. While you may be an honest person many are not.
    I agree 100%. It is not unreasonable for MB to try to protect their software. They have spent a lot of man hours developing it, and they have had plenty of reports of stolen copies apparently.

Yeah it's a bit of a hassle to install something else in order to make it all work, but if you want to use that software, that's the deal.
    Web Hosting since 1999

I have the developer version, and i cannot find any problems with it or any customization problems at all.

It's not exactly about customization, or having to install something else. It's about paying for one thing, and getting another.