Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1

    How to cap a bandwidth limit ?

    It is something I wonder since a long time. I wonder how is it possible to cap the traffic on a server without a control panel ?
    The goal is obviously to don't go over a bandwidth limit and to avoid being overcharged by the provider ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    29
    Cap it at the port

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kherson, Ukraine
    Posts
    267
    There is a lot of possibilities.
    For example mod_bandwidth for apache. Other webservers also have modules like this.

    Most common way is to use traffic shaping. For linux it simple with htb.init - just google about.
    Private remote administrator of Linux servers - www.petrov.ks.ua
    Quality hosting - Host-Web-Site.com

Similar Threads

  1. limit bandwidth
    By webhostbeginner in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-28-2008, 12:50 PM
  2. Limit bandwidth per IP
    By darxyde in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-12-2008, 02:28 PM
  3. How to limit bandwidth?
    By wm2100 in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-26-2005, 02:42 PM
  4. Not going over my bandwidth limit
    By TablesandChairs4 in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-12-2004, 08:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •