Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Manila
    Posts
    958

    Cannot Connect to Domain Controller Help!

    I got a Win Server VPS in the recent offer from Server Complete.

    It was an Unmanaged Win Server 2003 x64 Datacenter Ed VPS.

    So, I configured everything like I used to do before to create a Domain Controller.

    I created a new Forest with the domain home.cccxc.com.
    I tried to connect my home pc but it gives this error: (attached image)

    please help!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1.jpg  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    The Shadows
    Posts
    2,913
    Why are you connecting your home PC to a computer running as a domain controller on the internet?

    Not the brightest idea IMO.

    That said, this is a DNS issue. Domain home.whatever.com isn't found.
    Dan Sheppard ~ Freelance whatever

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Manila
    Posts
    958
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheps View Post
    Why are you connecting your home PC to a computer running as a domain controller on the internet?

    Not the brightest idea IMO.

    That said, this is a DNS issue. Domain home.whatever.com isn't found.
    Thanks for your reply =D

    This is a school project =D. we will have an activity about domain controllers next week so, I'm doing a research ahead and since my PC can't handle virtual pc, I got a vps.=D

    I have created an A record for home.----.com still, I can't figure out the problem =(

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    The Shadows
    Posts
    2,913
    Can you PM me the actual domain? And does the domain the domain controller is running under actually exist? If it does not, have you tried setting your DNS server for your home computer to the IP of the domain controller?

    This still points to a DNS resolution issue.
    Dan Sheppard ~ Freelance whatever

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Manila
    Posts
    958
    Sent you the PM.

    thanks!

  6. #6
    Hello,

    your VPS now has a dns server on it. you need to tell your home computer to use your VPS as the DNS server. it is only then you will be able to join the domain. active directory is very heavy on DNS and the type of records windows looks for to join to a domain are not usually published on the internet.

Similar Threads

  1. Micosoft Domain Controller
    By alphix in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-22-2009, 03:14 AM
  2. Adding a Linux Machine to Windows Domain Controller.
    By sabarishks in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-24-2008, 06:27 PM
  3. Domain Controller necessary?
    By homeboarder8 in forum Domain Names
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-10-2007, 07:43 PM
  4. Windows 2003 Domain Controller
    By richways in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-28-2006, 02:05 PM
  5. Domain controller
    By sam75 in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-10-2003, 09:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •