Hybrid View

Host comparisons for aspiring artist/programmer

I'm looking to start a blog, online portfolio of my CG/applications and to hold my resume. I'm reading O'Reilly's Creating a Website: The Missing Manual and I am doing some comparison from a small list it gave me. I am liking the looks of the first two it mentioned: Brinkster and DreamHost. I'm leaning towards Brinkster. The others such as GoDaddy seemed to have more definitive figures, but it was hard to tell which is "better" from an experienced end-user's standpoint.

I am still a novice in web development. I intend to start a digital business, and I am willing to learn how to write web programs. I intend to offer freelance artistic and programming services, and I would like to use lovely flash animation such as those you would see on sites promoting a modern video game. Again, I have enough free time to learn about as much as I need to.

Any advice with the above information in mind would be much appreciated.

Cheers!
    -Zyro
    Last edited by zyrolasting; 09-20-2009 at 07:14 PM. Reason: Forgot some tidbits.

Well I don't hear good things about GoDaddy.

As for dreamhost, havn't heard anyhting bad about them in a while, so could try it.

Though maybe try some looking at some other host as well. What is your budget, storage, bandwidth requirements (to your best guess)?
    bihira.com | 10+ Years of Web Hosting Experience!
    Shared Hosting | Reseller Hosting | 30 Day Money Back Guarantee
    cPanel | CloudLinux | R1Soft | Softaculous
    Find us on facebook and follow us on twitter @bihira

I have several people who have been happy with my work that I know are willing to spread the word about me, and given that I have a sizable portfolio, I'd need more space and bandwidth than the average novice.

Looking at my figures (I know I'll have some users immediately given connections), may likely use about 150MB BW a day.