Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    150

    setup nameservers

    i just bought a new server. if someone can help by givinng me all the nessecary commands i must type via ssh to setup the nameservers. something like these i mean.

    login as root
    then type ...
    and etc

    please help! also tell me if i need to do anything else in whm except ssh

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Kochi,India
    Posts
    177
    If your hosts has created nameserver hosts for you which point to your new server. Simply point any domains you wish to host to those two nameservers. As soon as the nameserver information is updated at your domain registrar, the domain will be pointed to your new server with them. Be sure to create the website domain profile in the Cpanel control panel first. If you are not using Cpanel, you need to configure a DNS server in your environment, such as BIND9, to server authoritive records for your domains.



    Option 2)
    Register two new nameserver hosts or edit existing nameserver hosts at your Domain Registrar, pointing to your server IPs. You would then point any domains you wish to host to these two nameserver hosts. Be sure to create the website domain profile in the Cpanel control panel first. If you are not using Cpanel, you need to configure a DNS server in your environment, such as BIND9, to server authoritive records for your domains.
    Last edited by Rekhatitus; 09-20-2009 at 01:02 PM. Reason: correction
    Ezeelogin -
    The ultimate multiple server administration software.
    *Parallel shell *rm -rf protection *SSH logging*automated password changes*encrypted storage*
    AdMod.com -Delivering innovative web hosting solutions

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    150
    i have register a domain. i know how to create hosts in my registrant. the only thing i want is someone to give the commands i must type to setup 2 nameserves in my server

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Gods Own Country
    Posts
    681
    just add your nameservers in /etc/resolv.conf

    nano /etc/resolv.conf
    Add "nameserver FIRSTIP" and "nameserver SECONDIP" in /etc/resolv.conf

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,571
    Do you have a controlpanel installed? cpanel/plesk?

    or just add them to /etc/resolv.conf

    vi /etc/resolv.conf

    Cheers

  6. #6
    I'm presuming you don't have a control panel ?

    If not you should certainly consider looking at getting some server management.
    Data Republic - UK Managed Servers - Server Management - Managed Backup/R1Soft
    Follow us on Twitter to get exclusive sales & updates.
    R1Soft Agents Monthly !

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by kteo View Post
    i just bought a new server. if someone can help by givinng me all the nessecary commands i must type via ssh to setup the nameservers. something like these i mean.

    login as root
    then type ...
    and etc

    please help! also tell me if i need to do anything else in whm except ssh
    If you have cPanel as a control panel, use the following commands to add the A records of your name servers:

    /scripts/adddns --domain ns1.domainname.com --ip yourprimaryIP
    /scripts/adddns --domain ns2.domainname.com --ip yoursecondaryIP

    To configure the name servers on your server, you will have to add the name servers in a couple of files

    /etc/wwwacct.conf
    /etc/nameserverips

    Edit the files and add the following entries:
    pico /etc/wwwacct.conf
    ns ns1.domainname.com
    ns1 ns2.domainname.com

    pico /etc/nameserverips
    primaryIP=ns1.domainname.com
    secondaryIP=ns2.domainname.com

    This will make sure, all your domains are assigned the above name servers when they are added on your server.

    However, if you don't have a control panel on your server, feel free to PM me and I will forward you the steps to configure name servers on the server.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    150

    sound,music streaming

    i used to give to my customers streaming audio options by using shoutcast accounts and winamp(dsp plugin). is there any other way to have music streaming in a linux server except shoutcast way and winamp. what do you suggest? is there any other way with more quality, more easier for the customer and more options which i can have in linux server?

    p.s if you suggest shoutcast,is there any other program except winamp dsp plugin to broadcast? thanks in double!

Similar Threads

  1. Nameservers Setup
    By NerdsHosted in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-18-2009, 11:57 PM
  2. Nameservers setup
    By bling in forum Reseller Hosting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-18-2006, 08:28 PM
  3. How to setup my own nameservers
    By kellyboyce in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-02-2004, 03:28 PM
  4. How do I setup my own nameservers?
    By bullony13 in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-03-2003, 01:03 PM
  5. nameservers setup
    By dunzone in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-09-2002, 10:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •