Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    Question Two different GateWays on Two different Nics

    I currently have set two nameservers with IP addresses
    NS1: xx.xx.xx.xx
    NS2: yy.yy.yy.yy

    Now I want to change NS2

    NS1: xx.xx.xx.xx
    NS2: hh.hh.hh.hh

    Will that make my websites downtime if NS1 isnt going to be changed?
    NS1 stays xx.xx.xx.xx, only NS2 changes from yy.yy.yy.yy to hh.hh.hh.hh
    Main shared IP is xx.xx.xx.xx (NS1)

    Conflicts to email?

    At first NS1 and NS2 are on same gateway but after the change NS1 and NS2 are on different gateways.

    How can I make some websites to use NIC1 with NS1 and other websites use NIC2 with NS2 ?
    Last edited by Driimer; 09-17-2009 at 05:37 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    368

    *

    Quote Originally Posted by Driimer View Post
    I currently have set two nameservers with IP addresses
    NS1: xx.xx.xx.xx
    NS2: yy.yy.yy.yy

    Now I want to change NS2

    NS1: xx.xx.xx.xx
    NS2: hh.hh.hh.hh

    Will that make my websites downtime if NS1 isnt going to be changed?
    NS1 stays xx.xx.xx.xx, only NS2 changes from yy.yy.yy.yy to hh.hh.hh.hh
    Main shared IP is xx.xx.xx.xx (NS1)

    Conflicts to email?

    At first NS1 and NS2 are on same gateway but after the change NS1 and NS2 are on different gateways.

    How can I make some websites to use NIC1 with NS1 and other websites use NIC2 with NS2 ?
    it will not much down because you have already slave working, regarding other question ask properly with detail i can understand.

  3. #3
    Explaining second question..

    I have two NICs.
    I will have to change NS2 IP since rDNS can only be set to IP that has been directly set to network card.

    eth0 currently has xx.xx.xx.xx (with rDNS) - GateWay pp.pp.pp.pp
    eth1 currently has yy.yy.yy.yy (with rDNS) - GateWay pp.pp.pp.pp

    now I must change eth1 yy.yy.yy.yy into hh.hh.hh.hh
    That means nameserver2 IP changes into hh.hh.hh.hh and IP yy.yy.yy.yy would go down right after I change it.

    After the change it would look like:

    eth0 will still have xx.xx.xx.xx (with rDNS) - GateWay pp.pp.pp.pp [I want to make 100 websites to use this GateWay and this NIC]
    eth1 will have hh.hh.hh.hh (with rDNS) - GateWay tt.tt.tt.tt [I want to make 200 websites to use this GateWay and this NIC]

    //Third question:
    Setting smaller TTL for nameserver2 few days before I make the change could make it propagate faster?

    //Fourth question:
    Or would WHM allow me to add IP addresses with GateWay tt.tt.tt.tt even when both NICs use GateWay pp.pp.pp.pp ?
    I mean in Switch both gateways are on same VLAN. - if it does allow this, I dont have to change nameserver ip.
    Last edited by Driimer; 09-17-2009 at 05:08 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    240
    //third question:

    you dont need to do anything since your NS1 should handle the dns request while the other one is being changed - just make sure you set the glue recond for the new NS2 IP in your zone file

Similar Threads

  1. VPS and NICs
    By hellsreach in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-12-2009, 03:43 AM
  2. Xen VPS with 2 NICs
    By hpham in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-04-2008, 07:20 AM
  3. redunant nics?
    By blenard in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-28-2005, 07:19 PM
  4. Secondary nics on 4i?
    By djlightning in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-05-2003, 01:48 AM
  5. WHM plays 2 NICs?
    By Paula Ollie in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-11-2003, 02:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •