Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    The Woodlands, TX
    Posts
    77

    CPanel - SSL Maximum Permissible Length??

    I recently installed an SSL using cPanel to one of my clients - the SSL installed but firefox returns this error code:

    An error occurred during a connection to boardbookalbums.com.
    SSL received a record that exceeded the maximum permissible length.
    (Error code: ssl_error_rx_record_too_long)

    This domain is on it's own host. I have seen many issues in Google with this problem but no answers that have worked.
    I'm a server n00b so if I'm leaving out any information, let me know and I'll provide it.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Confirm that the dedicated IP is set for the SSL and also make sure that the default SSl port 443 is open for the website.
    Support Facility | 24/7 web hosting technical support services
    Technical support | Server management | Data migration

    Technical Articles

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    178
    change the IP address assigned to the domain and reinstall the SSL ,cPanel often has this issue with SSL.

  4. #4
    Have your host check if the <IfDef SSL> block is commented out in the SSL configuration for your virtual host. If it is the case, have the host remove the comments from the block and restart the Web server.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    368

    *

    Quote Originally Posted by Invectra View Post
    I recently installed an SSL using cPanel to one of my clients - the SSL installed but firefox returns this error code:

    An error occurred during a connection to boardbookalbums.com.
    SSL received a record that exceeded the maximum permissible length.
    (Error code: ssl_error_rx_record_too_long)

    This domain is on it's own host. I have seen many issues in Google with this problem but no answers that have worked.
    I'm a server n00b so if I'm leaving out any information, let me know and I'll provide it.

    Thanks!
    FYI, I have the same issue while some days ago.

    http://www.errorhelp.com/search/deta...ecord_too_long

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,571
    Quote Originally Posted by nomankhn View Post
    FYI, I have the same issue while some days ago.

    http://www.errorhelp.com/search/deta...ecord_too_long
    Thanks for that link, very helpful blog.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    The Woodlands, TX
    Posts
    77

    Wow - First of all, I have to say WHT members really respond! THANK YOU ALL...

    This domain is on it's own I.P. address.

    I'm kind of perplexed though because I have

    /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf
    and
    /etc/httpd/conf/ssl.conf


    This is what is inside my httpd.conf
    <IfDefine SSL>
    # Defined in /var/cpanel/cpanel.config: apache_ssl_port
    Listen 0.0.0.0:443
    AddType application/x-x509-ca-cert .crt
    AddType application/x-pkcs7-crl .crl
    </IfDefine>

    This is inside my ssl.conf
    <IfDefine SSL>
    Listen 443
    #I have more than just this- too much to post
    </IfDefine SSL>

    However, inside my /var/cpanel/cpanel.config

    allowcpsslinstall=0 <---I'm hoping this is the culprit.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    The Woodlands, TX
    Posts
    77
    allowcpsslinstall=0 <---I'm hoping this is the culprit.
    Sure enough - this was part of the issue.

    My newest issue...
    Now the SSL is installed, I'm still getting an invalid security check...

    You are connected to TheDomainWithSSL.com
    which is run by UNKNOWN


    I can only assume my server setup is wrong somewhere...Because I'm a n00b!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    368

    *

    Quote Originally Posted by Invectra View Post
    Sure enough - this was part of the issue.

    My newest issue...
    Now the SSL is installed, I'm still getting an invalid security check...

    You are connected to TheDomainWithSSL.com
    which is run by UNKNOWN


    I can only assume my server setup is wrong somewhere...Because I'm a n00b!

    I am assuming you are checking in Firefox 3.x. Your error code is -> ssl_error_bad_cert_domain

    That error means one thing: the name(s) in the cert do not match the name (or IP address) of the server given in the URL. Nothing you can do to any Issuer cert will overcome the fact that the server cert doesn't have the desired server name in it in the right place.

    FYI

    http://www.mail-archive.com/dev-tech.../msg03770.html

Similar Threads

  1. What is the maximum number of customers that you can have on Cpanel?
    By tulix in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-02-2006, 04:30 AM
  2. maximum length of textarea?
    By portalplanet in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-17-2005, 03:01 PM
  3. Help: maximum memory cPanel process
    By ymfm in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-09-2005, 09:08 PM
  4. Longer UserName field length in HWM/CPanel?
    By FreedomNet in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-13-2004, 06:32 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-12-2003, 04:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •