Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,735

    how can i chose a suitable switch ?

    Hi,

    i want to rent bandwidth about 200M~300M from DC,

    and i need a switch to handle the bandwidth.


    on the core switch,

    i want to cut different lan and limit each port's bandwidth,

    two 50M,one 100M,and other are litle.


    which switch can handle it?

    my budget is not many,

    i hope it is reliable,

    i hear some good review about 3com and procruve,

    but im not sure if they have good switch suit my purpose.


    thanx

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    North West England
    Posts
    612
    Personally, i'd go with a ProCurve - they suit our needs perfectly. Make sure that you get one with a 1gig uplink to be able to handle the 200-300mbit you're taking from your provider.
    Regards,
    Leigh

    Host High - reliable UK hosting

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,735
    do you recommend which one of ProCurve ?


    thanx

  4. #4
    Maybe Procurve 2824 (or 2848 for 48ports)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    27
    We swapped out all our old 3coms few years ago for Procurve 2650's and recently some 3500's. They are reliable and fast. Question you need to ask is whether you need management. Do you need to setup vlans, snmp? For bang for your buck switching I also have used Dell PowerConnects.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,735
    Quote Originally Posted by Dynamic Concepts View Post
    We swapped out all our old 3coms few years ago for Procurve 2650's and recently some 3500's. They are reliable and fast. Question you need to ask is whether you need management. Do you need to setup vlans, snmp? For bang for your buck switching I also have used Dell PowerConnects.
    yes,i need the management feature,

    not only share bandwidth.


    thanx

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,571
    In everything I've heard as well as a brief and very negative experience with Dell switches, I would not recommend them for anything. Not even a SOHO network.
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Since 2003 - Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,735
    Quote Originally Posted by Dynamic Concepts View Post
    We swapped out all our old 3coms few years ago for Procurve 2650's and recently some 3500's. They are reliable and fast. Question you need to ask is whether you need management. Do you need to setup vlans, snmp? For bang for your buck switching I also have used Dell PowerConnects.
    so,2650 can do port limit ?


    thanx

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Reston, VA
    Posts
    3,132
    Quote Originally Posted by FastServ View Post
    In everything I've heard as well as a brief and very negative experience with Dell switches, I would not recommend them for anything. Not even a SOHO network.
    We love our dell switches, we have a dozen or so deployed, some stacked some not. And they work without any problems what so ever. All layer2 though no layer3.

    I know a lot of people who use them as well with zero problems.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,735
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudstr View Post
    We love our dell switches, we have a dozen or so deployed, some stacked some not. And they work without any problems what so ever. All layer2 though no layer3.

    I know a lot of people who use them as well with zero problems.
    i find you offer Colocation,

    can i ask do you use which switch to do port bandwidth limit?


    thanx

  11. #11
    SCM Tigerswitches are excellent and have several different models up to 10GBps
    ZZ Servers - Business Hosting, HIPAA and PCI Compliant Hosting Solutions - http://www.zzservers.com
    Xen Virtual Private Servers | Dedicated Servers | Shared Hosting
    Custom configurations, firewall, VPN, load balancers, private networks and more.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,735
    had anyone have experience with SMC8024L2?

    thanx

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-27-2009, 03:40 PM
  2. CMS:what to chose?
    By maniakaz in forum Web Design and Content
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-27-2006, 03:16 AM
  3. $100USD switch compare $3000USD switch, whats the main difference?
    By WCHost in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-14-2006, 10:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •