Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    In the shell...
    Posts
    90

    LCD monitor showing "out of range" while loading Linux.?

    Is there anyone to help me out from this problem. I exchanged the monitors of the system which had Linux OS in my office. Previous one was TFT monitor and I changed it with LCD. But now Linux is not loading and a message like "out of range" message pops up. I know that it could be the reason with the graphics that had configured while installing the OS before for that monitor. I was using "Red Hat Enterprise linux 5" Server edition 32-bit X86. So to solve this issue is there any need for re installation of Linux. Please help me from this.

  2. #2
    No, you do not need to re-install Linux. The problem is that the refresh rate of the system is higher than what the LCD screen supports. You may want to install the old TFT monitor and reduce the refresh rate to 60Hz. Afterward, connect the new monitor.

    As an alternative you can try the key combination Ctrl-Alt-Backspace to kill the X session and get to the command line, then reconfigure the X window server.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    178
    your system running out of memory or problem with your graphics card

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    240
    Quote Originally Posted by eth10 View Post
    your system running out of memory or problem with your graphics card
    what???

    'Out of Range' is a classic sign that your X11 config is wrong for the monitor - this happens when you changed monitors and the old X configuration does not work on it. You can boot up on the console and run SaX, XConfigurator or some sort of X11 configurator (you can even manually edit the conf file) to match your new LCD or CRT

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    469
    Quote Originally Posted by DJMizt73 View Post
    what???

    'Out of Range' is a classic sign that your X11 config is wrong for the monitor - this happens when you changed monitors and the old X configuration does not work on it. You can boot up on the console and run SaX, XConfigurator or some sort of X11 configurator (you can even manually edit the conf file) to match your new LCD or CRT
    +1
    Larry Bly
    Sandbox IT Solutions, LLC.
    www.SandboxITSolutions.com
    Dedicated Servers - Web Hosting - Consulting Services

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    82
    I just had this problem recently.

    Are you using an LCD but connecting it to the PC using a VGA cable?
    If so... switch to a DVI cable and the problem is solved.
    This is exactly what I did... I think the Analog VGA cable screwed with the detection routines.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    660
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr:linux View Post
    Is there anyone to help me out from this problem. I exchanged the monitors of the system which had Linux OS in my office. Previous one was TFT monitor and I changed it with LCD. But now Linux is not loading and a message like "out of range" message pops up.
    When do you start getting this message? There are three times I can see:

    1. Straight away (i.e. at the BIOS screen). If so, oh dear.
    2. When Linux starts loading (kernel messages). If so, look into supplying a 'vga=' parameter at the end of your kernel initialisation string (e.g. in grum)
    3. When the graphical interface begins. If so, follow the advice from other users here. You might also be able to press 'Ctrl-Alt-F1' (or F2-F6) to get a console prompt to edit any appropriate configuration files.

    Hope this helps.
    GigaTux, Value Linux Hosting
    UK, US and Germany based Xen VPS. Reliability is key! Quick support response and 99.9% SLA.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    India
    Posts
    129
    I have seen this error in one monitor when it is connected to normal monitor port actually there was an graphics card present....when i connected to graphics card port this fixed


    if you are connected to graphics card port then try to remove card and check again

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    /usr/bin/perl
    Posts
    971
    Quote Originally Posted by DJMizt73 View Post
    what???

    'Out of Range' is a classic sign that your X11 config is wrong for the monitor - this happens when you changed monitors and the old X configuration does not work on it. You can boot up on the console and run SaX, XConfigurator or some sort of X11 configurator (you can even manually edit the conf file) to match your new LCD or CRT
    This is solid advice, but an even easier option might be for you to just hit the "auto-adjust" button on your monitor if it has one. I have a similar issue sometimes switching a monitor between desktops, and this always works for me.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    In the shell...
    Posts
    90

    It had just made me out of this problem..

    Thanks guys for good replies. It had just made me out of this problem. First I reconnected the old TFT monitor and made the refresh rate to 60 hz and it didnt work out of me. Thanks avelinux for this opinion.Hope it would work in other systems. After all I just configured the x11 and it helped me. LCD is working fine now. Thanks for all the help. Have a great time in WHT.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-18-2007, 06:43 PM
  2. Urgent help needed : "system crashes when loading Grub"
    By Mango in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-17-2006, 08:35 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-04-2005, 07:09 PM
  4. Exim problems "451 Dial-Up/Cable/DSL IP Range - Use your providers SMTP Gateway"
    By RaComNet in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-03-2004, 05:35 AM
  5. A call to Canadians to boycott the film "open range"
    By pokerstore in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 08-15-2003, 06:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •