Hybrid View

Is This Possible?

I am just a web designer/programmer and don't know a whole lot about server management and hosting. So, I can here to ask the pros a question.

I have several clients interested in a shopping cart software I designed. However, I don't want to actually sell it to client for them to upload to their own hosting company - we all know how quickly scripts/software get cracked and released free on forums.

Is this possible: I have a cPanel/WHM server. I want to set it up so when someone signs up through WHMCS it creates their hosting account automatically just like WHMCS normally does. However, when there account is create I want my shopping cart to be automatically on their website and ready for them to use. It does require one MySQL database. Does anyone know how I could set this up?

cPanel has a thing called "Skeleton Directory" which is the directory that gets copied for all new accounts.

You could put the cart software in there - the only thing is creating mysql databases, I'm not sure how you would go about that.

you will also have the issue of the config files that contain the mysql passwords, you would probably want it to generate a new mysql database password for each install.

maybe try a skeleton directory to duplicate most of the files, then some sort of cron that will check for new users and then will create the database with a random password, fill it from an .sql file, and would then upload the config file to the new account.
    iWebFusion.Net - Shared / Reseller / VPS / Bare Metal / Colocation / IP Transit / Networking
    *Simply Hosting - Wholly owned networks, in-house staff, legions of fans!

It surely must be possible. I'd talk with the guys over at say Installatron.com for some pointers. You never know, they might be willing to set this thing up for you for a (hopefully small) fee.