Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    Need to pay for a fax number?

    I am thinking about getting a all-in-one printer, fax machine, and copier. I have a phone and dsl with my provider. Do I need to get a fax number or pay an additional fee or just hook it up to my phone line? I am not really sure about how this is done.

  2. #2
    Just ask your phone provider, I believe they will be happy to assist you.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    New Jersey
    You might look into using an Internet based fax service. I don't send or receive many faxes, but I have an account with for when I do need to do so.
    For HTML Help visit: HTML Help Central
    For Graphic Design help visit:
    If you're a GEEK then go where geeks go....

  4. #4
    I could use or if I want to send it for free but I thought about getting physical hardware so that I could print and scan things.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    State of Disbelief
    Interesting advice here.
    Faxes can come in on the same line as phone, and should not cost anything extra nor need special "setup". The only time you'd incur additional cost (AFAIK) is if you wanted a dedicated line for it. Rarely necessary.
    Having problems, or maybe questions about WHT? Head over to the help desk!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Citrus Heights, CA
    I would say use efax for receiving, and then use an actual fax machine on your existing phone line for sending.
    Best Regards,


  7. #7
    Yup, there are many options out there

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    San Francisco
    Just hook it up to your phone line.

  9. #9
    You can use to send no-ad free fax online.
    You can use to get a free fax number and receive fax for free.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Under Your Skin
    For the people recommending the online service for recieving faxes, you will THANK them later... when you NEED a fax and you are not at your telephone location!

    Sending faxes, I scan the pages into my scanner, then send via the internet...

    I don't pay for a service because I don't send a lot of faxes... one or two pages a month, maybe. I receive more than I sent so I use (actually is my toll free number, but it can also accept faxes).

    I don't receive a lot, so kall8 works. There are cheaper services out, but I've been with them since maybe 2000 or 2001... why fix what is not broken. lol
    Windows 10 to Linux and Mac OSX: I'm PARSECs better than you. Eat my dust!!!

  11. #11
    Great stuff. Thanks a million.

Similar Threads

  1. Toll Free number (1-800 phone number) service
    By KuJaX in forum Running a Web Hosting Business
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-03-2006, 08:37 AM
  2. What a safe optimal number for Maximum number of links (persistent + non) in php.ini
    By jalapeno55 in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-10-2005, 10:11 PM
  3. PHP+mySQL... adding a number to an existing number
    By crEA-tEch in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-16-2004, 01:06 PM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-24-2003, 12:46 PM
  5. number of users Vs. number of virtual domains? RaQ3
    By horoscopes2000 in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-07-2002, 03:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts